RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


"Mainstream" Sports TV and Radio Slams Tour and Cycling...(18 posts)

"Mainstream" Sports TV and Radio Slams Tour and Cycling...Fez
Jul 29, 2003 6:36 AM
Lots of Sports TV and Radio reporters/hosts/journalists or whoever gets air time are constantly slamming the Tour and Cycling in general. They also complain it gets too much coverage. How can this be? Its only on ONE channel (OLN). Do people really miss the duck hunting, bass fishing, and buck hunting shows that much?

Some of the things I heard from various sports radio commentators:

1) Too much coverage - Besides 30 sec highlights and blurbs about Lance, I don't think so. Like I said, only on one channel.

2) Dumb guy thinks its not a "real" sport since the last stage is ceremonial and the overall leader was uncontested on the last day.

3) Dumbarse thinks that Lance did not show sportsmanship by slowing down in the ITT for Jan Ullrich (who was 3 minutes ahead of him via staggered start) to get up.

Obviously the guy doesn't really know about Tour rules, timing, team tactics, etc. But I really got the impression that sports reporters really don't have minds of their own... they just say what their demographic wants to hear. And right now that is pretty much about golf (is this really a sport?), baseball, football and basketball.

Cycling seems to be too big a sport for just a cult following, but too small and misunderstood to be accepted into mainstream sports.
Cyclists need to be less sensitive,TJeanloz
Jul 29, 2003 6:51 AM
Media coverage of anything is not going to be all glowing. Reporters in Boston used to make fun of El Guapo [and baseball] all the time because somebody that fat was able to play (and I use that term loosely) on the major league level. Cyclists get all pissed off when somebody makes a wisecrack about the sport. These people are paid to talk, they need to fill airtime, and if it's a sports story, it's fair game.

We need to grow up and not expect everybody to kowtow to Lance Armstrong (a.k.a. God) - he's an athlete, and deserves the same critical look as all other stars.
Not pissed off, just noting the difference...Fez
Jul 29, 2003 7:34 AM
Most sports tv and radio are NOT ignorant. They know the game, the rules, the players, etc. and they express their opinion (like it or not) on things. Fine.

With cycling, these same sports guys commenting don't know much about the sport or the rules, hence the extremely ignorant comments.

For ex, the same guy that wanted Lance to slow down for a fallen Ullrich in the final ITT said that Lance did foul play when he shaved distance trying to avoid Beloki and perhaps that responsible for a part of his 1:01 overall lead. I guess the guy didn't know that Lance was ahead of the chasers in the first place and that they waited for him because it took longer for Lance to get back on his bike after he hopped the ditch.

Frankly, I don't care whether they say good stuff or bad about Lance. I just wish the people who say the stuff to be informed and not ignorant.
It's no different,TJeanloz
Jul 29, 2003 7:38 AM
Every time a batter gets hit in baseball, some talk-radio yahoo goes on-and-on about what the retaliation should be, what the other pitcher's "duty" is, blah, blah. They never have any idea what they're talking about, and often get put in their place by the guest athlete they have on the show.

Most journalists of all types, sports, news, etc. are completely ignorant of the topics they cover.
That's kind of my original point...Fez
Jul 29, 2003 7:51 AM
That sport (baseball) is widely accepted so they have a guest athlete there. The sport gets adequate coverage and the multiple viewpoints get exposed.

Cycling really doesnt get much coverage and what little is mentioned is usually negative (which is fine) or just plain incorrect (not fine). I would be happy with greater and informed coverage of cycling.
It's no different,CrankYanker
Jul 29, 2003 10:57 AM
"Most journalists of all types, sports, news, etc. are completely ignorant of the topics they cover."

You have to admit that this is an exaggeration, based on the fact that the dumbest are the loudest.

You're saying most journalists who cover football, know nothing about football? Most journalists who cover or broadcast baseball, don't know nothing about the game?

The journalists who work for the Wall Street Journal know nothing about financial matters or the stock market?

I think most journalists, when assigned to a regular "beat", local government, education, crime, etc. know a lot about their topic. They have to to cover it. The crime reporter will not have a PhD in Criminal Justice, but he'll know more than the readers.

It's certianly true the general sports journalists are completely ignorant about cycling, it's rules, strategies, etc. and they aren't qualified to write stories aimed at cyclists.
However, when the Tour becomes news, and they decide to cover it, they have a journalistic duty to learn as much about the sport at they can before shooting their mouths off in opinion pieces or columns.
No, I'll stick to my statement,TJeanloz
Jul 29, 2003 11:07 AM
Have you ever read a newspaper article (or heard a radio story, or TV story) of an event which you had intimate knowledge of (i.e. it was about you, or about something you worked very closely on)? It is utterly shocking how wrong they get the story. Every time. Sportswriters, in general, know nothing of the day-to-day realities of athletes. Wall Street Journal reporters know less than you might imagine. It is absolutely amazing how consistently inconsistent the media is.
Carmicheal didn't helpCHRoadie
Jul 29, 2003 7:17 AM
After Lance won, ESPN got Chris Carmicheal on the phone for a live interview. Here's a big opportunity in the mainstream limelight, and Carmicheal answers 2 questions and says "Guys, I gotta go." WTF? A chance to talk to the leaders of mainstream sports television, and he blows them off. What an arrogant ass.
Maybe he had really bad case of diarhea! nmeschelon
Jul 29, 2003 8:43 AM
so what?mohair_chair
Jul 29, 2003 7:25 AM
Next time you are watching sports highlights and you start laughing at camel racing or axe-wielding lumberjacks or that Afghan thing with the headless goat, remember that some people think cycling is stupid, too.
You're right, don't forget Kobayashi and that hot dogFez
Jul 29, 2003 7:38 AM
eating contest. If ESPN covers it, its got to be a sport!
ignore_jim_
Jul 29, 2003 9:22 AM
ignorance is bliss. these guys push your buttons
re: "Mainstream" Sports TV and Radio Slams Tour and Cycling...biggearlover
Jul 29, 2003 10:00 AM
More media coverage means more bucks means LA has the opportunity to focus a complete season on one race, the TdF and build an expensive team to work only for him. Who's complaining?

Maybe I am, cause I love the years when a pro cyclist had to slave through the season, do good in the TdF, and earn his dough in the crits after the TdF (or through well payed 'combines' (anyone remember that word?) in the TdF itself).
Not the huge 198 participant field with all the stupid 'ride as fast as you can' and the falls. more tactics, more breakaways with any sense to them.

Am I being nostalgic?
re: "Mainstream" Sports TV and Radio Slams Tour and Cycyclejim
Jul 29, 2003 12:56 PM
There is a radio show here in Sacramento that pisses me off to no end. The two guys on the show basically state that there are very few true "sports", the true sports include baseball, football, and hockey and the rest of the sports out there pretty much dont qualify because anyone who wants to can just practice enough and become a professional at the "non sports" They piss me off everytime and in a strange way I realize that this is why I listen to them, just because they piss me off. I dont know what that says about me but there you have it!
It's an interesting issue,TJeanloz
Jul 29, 2003 1:07 PM
There is this weird perception in American culture that if you try hard enough, you will be the best. And people look at something like running, and say: "I can run; hence, if I dedicated my life to training, I could win the Olympic marathon". They look at something like baseball, and realize that it takes some inherent skill, that cannot be learned or improved with practice, and that is a sport. They just don't realize that running really fast is the inherent skill that running requires.
It's an interesting issue,McBaine
Jul 29, 2003 3:06 PM
What do some fat guys behind a microphone really know about true sports, sportsmanship, training, or athletics? They only know what they are themselves spoon feed via the media while growing up.
re: "Mainstream" Sports TV and Radio Slams Tour and CyGrand Pooh Bear
Jul 30, 2003 5:15 PM
Many Americans seem to have that notion. Frankly, as hard as it is to hit a baseball (I can't do it), I see it as one of the most boring sports. I'd rather watch moths mate. And there aren't many other "sports" in which "career athletes" can be as fat as baseball players. I love football, but with the money they make, I think they should ditch the pads and play like real men. Kind of Like rugby. For the record, I'm not man enough to play football, even with pads, but I don't get millions a year, either. As for hockey, I shall take a page from George Carlin. Hockey is not a sport. Hockey is three activities rolled into one: skating, playing with a puck and beating the sh*t out of each other. Keep in mind that a puck is what one places in the urinal to keep it from smelling badly. I'm not about to play hockey either.
They can think what they want. I would pay to see them ride 50 miles in one shot, forget a three week tour. I can just see them complaining about their tender a$$es. They can glorify what they want, and bash what they're too narrow to understand. I will think for myself and tune them out.
By definition....CrankE
Jul 31, 2003 10:12 AM
Cycling and a number of other things are sports:

"An activity involving physical exertion and skill that is governed by a set of rules or customs and often undertaken competitively." per dictionary.com.

The fact that the numbskulls on TV who were brought up on all the 'ball' games don't understand them isn't and never will be my problem or concern. Don't wanna call 'em sports? Wow. You said that like someone was actually supposed to care.

The purest sports in my mind? Running, jumping (like high jump), throwing (javelin, shot put etc) & fighting (boxing, etc.)

Everything else is a variation, combination or modification. As in - Cycling. Simply a modification of running. Who's the fastest - on a bike.