RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Most annoying commercial of the tour.(30 posts)

Most annoying commercial of the tour.ericy
Jul 28, 2003 3:10 PM
OK, we all have to go through withdrawal and get back to our normal lives, but before we do, I thought it would be fun to have people vote on the most annoying commercial of the tour :-). Heck, you could also vote on the least annoying commercial (were there any that weren't annoying?).

I don't want to start a flamewar - just have some fun, so please don't take any of what I am about to say too seriously, and I hope that people who respond do so in the same spirit :-)...

To me the most annoying was the one for Land Cruiser where the thing comes across what looks like some sort of religious procession somewhere in Southeast Asia, and the image they are trying to project is that if you are insecure then for some reason buying a boat like this will somehow earn you respect. If I had some skills with Photoshop, I would capture the image where the hand is reaching out and waving the car through, and fix it so that the hand is instead flipping off the SUV.

For least annoying (excluding the Bob Roll promos, as to me they don't really count) were the Camelback commercials where there is the poor sod who managed to get himself dehydrated while the girl is still chipper and full of energy. Even these got to be annoying towards the end..

-Eric
My vote goes to anything by DRPhatMatt
Jul 28, 2003 3:50 PM
Any of those Fricken DR power whatever commercials can go.

Matt
My vote goes to anything by DRericy
Jul 28, 2003 4:48 PM
I was meaning to give them a call and ask if the chipper is the same model that was featured in the movie Fargo.
Now there's a way to cut the competitionhycobob
Jul 29, 2003 3:37 AM
As if Lance doesn't mash the competition into a pulp readily enough...along comes the DR chipper to the rescue. Do they make a rear skewer pulling attachment like the YBOB trailers have so his domestics can tote it up the mountain stages?
My vote goes to anything by DRAlpedhuez55
Jul 29, 2003 5:24 AM
I remember several years ago I was was watching Geraldo do a TV show about a guy who killed his wife and disposed the body in a wood chipper. During a commercial break, they had a commercial for the DR Chipper Shredder!!!

My vote would have to go to the Subway comercial with the twins. It was not as anoying as the Clay Henry comercials they had last year though.

Mike Y.
Fiz:k (sp?).. were not annoying, but lame.Endure
Jul 28, 2003 4:36 PM
They were slapped together at the last minutenewridr
Jul 28, 2003 7:02 PM
and it shows.
re: Most annoying commercial of the tour.lnin0
Jul 28, 2003 5:06 PM
Land Cruiser
Camel Back
Toureg
Mutual Life ??
Subway

hmmm...seems like I'm forgetting a few so they must not have been annoying enough or else I would remember them.

Power Bar and Bob Roll were not so bad. Oh, add those two fishermen doing the ONL promos to the list of annoying ones.
Thems is goodlnin0
Jul 28, 2003 5:07 PM
Land Cruiser
Camel Back
Toureg
Mutual Life ??
Subway

hmmm...seems like I'm forgetting a few so they must not have been annoying enough or else I would remember them.

Power Bar and Bob Roll were not so bad. Oh, add those two fishermen doing the ONL promos to the list of annoying ones.
Those two fisherman...noveread
Jul 28, 2003 5:36 PM
Hey, I thought the two fisherman commercials (Roland Martin and Bill Dance, hey, fishing is another hobby of mine!) were a nice touch by OLN. In essence, "chill out sportsman, the Tour is only three weeks long..."

Noveread
The Empty Wrapper
Those two fisherman...Grand Pooh Bear
Jul 28, 2003 5:52 PM
Agreed. And, seeing two hefty men who obviously can't ride lean into each other like sprinters was comical.
Those two fisherman...(two fisherman???)hycobob
Jul 29, 2003 3:52 AM
The one in the jersey was wearing one from "The Bike Lane" in northern Houston, TX. Too bad its so damned dangerous to ride up there right now, with a jerk_ff policeman getting away scott free when he's responsible for killing a stopped cyclist by refusing to yield in a turn lane.
wrong!JS Haiku Shop
Jul 29, 2003 8:48 AM
bill dance is a huge Tennessee fan, and was/is based in memphis. bike lane is a shop in a memphis suburb. those jerseys (orange as they are--TN college football colors) are *this* shop's kit. they claim it to be a "team kit", though to be on the team one has but to cough up $35 and wear the jerseys at races (mostly mtb races). the "team" is co-sponsored by a local semi-pro cat 1/2- development team; look closer (and slower) at the jersey and you'll see other local sponsors.

overall, i found that commercial embarrassing. sure, probably beneficial to the shop owner, but...

fwiw, that same shop owner was pictured in the issue of cyclesport which reviewed interbike. 15 minutes of fame, indeed.
woops! my bad...nmhycobob
Jul 29, 2003 10:12 AM
The metal detector ones, you know, the "healthy hobby." !!! nmnoveread
Jul 28, 2003 5:34 PM
The metal detector ones, you know, the "healthy hobby." !!! nmseyboro
Jul 28, 2003 6:50 PM
"She's proud of the weight I've lost and REALLY proud of this!" Oh Boy, if MY wife ever found out that I didn't exactly go to the jeweller's store for her engagement ring...
His wife must be pretty shallowhycobob
Jul 29, 2003 4:00 AM
I would never give that ring to my wife, nor would she accept it, until I had at least tried to locate the owner. I'ld post an ad in the newspaper at least...but I've gone back to a store to return $5 to a clerk too. Everytime I see that commercial I picture some lady crying her eyes out over it's loss. Pretty sappy huh?
VW and Tomb RaiderGrand Pooh Bear
Jul 28, 2003 5:51 PM
Most annoying to me was the VW commercials. How many people are really going to cross 22 inches of water, or try to pull a camper trailer with a friggin Beetle? LAME!
My wife's vote goes to the Jeep/Tomb Raider commercials, and I have to agree they ran a close second. Female Indiana Jones wannabe and the chest is fake.
I honestly thought the Bob Roll commercials were funny. At least he can laugh at himself. Come to think of it, why was he not doing the tour last year?
Locally, we had a few bike shop commercials:
The best was Caster's. It was short and really touched the kid in us. The worst was Providence Bicycle. Their mechanics and staff looked psychotic.
By the end of three weeks, they all got on my nerves a little, but we must remember that OLN and the TdF target a very specific group. Do you really want to see feminine products advertised during the tour? I can just see it now: "Lance, do you ever have days when you just don't feel so fresh?"
DISCLAIMER: That was my wife's idea, not mine. Blame her, not me.
chest is not fake, however. ;) nmrufus
Jul 29, 2003 6:59 AM
re: Most annoying commercial of the tour.steve-z
Jul 28, 2003 6:31 PM
Land Rover - but I only had to watch it once. Tivo is made for the TDF.
Definitely that damn Jeep "tomb raider" commercial!jtferraro
Jul 28, 2003 7:02 PM
"They con't catch us now". UGGGHHHHHHHHHHHH, that was painful! Also those damn Subway commercials "They can be go-go dancers now"!

-Jeff
roll_jim_
Jul 28, 2003 7:15 PM
anything with bob roll. his humor appeals to the small minded
VW........worst, Simoni/Cannondale .......bestlanterne rouge
Jul 28, 2003 8:19 PM
I don't ever want to see another Touareg (sp?) commercial again. I wish the water they crossed was 22 FEET deep instead of 22 inches. I really enjoyed the Cannondale commercial with highlights of Simoni in the Giro and riding with the older Italian gentlemen with the Italian music playing in the background and the Italian narrator. I only saw that one a few times.
The SUV commercialdave woof
Jul 28, 2003 8:53 PM
I'm not from India, Pakistan, or wherever it was supposed to be. However, I found the commercial utterly tasteless and offensive. Perhaps it was Indira Ghandi or the Dali Lama.

The idea that sitting in a land yacht gives you special priveledge rankles me. There's a book titled 'High an Mighty' that I recommend on just this sort of thing.

Please think about this commercial and what it means. Perhaps it was meant to be taken lightly, and I'm over-reacting. But please give it some thought about what message the commercial conveys.

Thanks

Dave
The Metal Detector Guyfracisco
Jul 29, 2003 8:16 AM
"I'm proud that I've lost weight with my new hobby, and wife's really proud of this....."
Clif Barmohair_chair
Jul 29, 2003 9:04 AM
Their domestique contest commercial was so annoying to me. First of all, they hired actors to play the part of USPS riders, as if there is no real footage available. But even worse, the line about sacrificing their chance to win the Tour to help their leader was laughable. As strong a team as USPS is, there is no one else on it who can WIN The Tour. Not even Heras. I'll bet none of those guys feel they are sacrificing their chance to win the Tour. Stage wins, maybe, but the whole race, no way.

Best commercial was the USPS commercial displaying the Post Office "motto" over corresponding images of the team. Neither snow, nor rain, nor gloom of night, etc. Understated and elegant, and very poignant in my opinion. Makes me want to go out and buy stamps.
USPS...I had forgotten that one.lanterne rouge
Jul 29, 2003 9:18 AM
Not really what the marketing department wants to hear huh? That was a great commercial. I remember seeing it the first time and wondering what took them so long to do it. The slogan was made for a commercial like that one.
worst - most of them best - USPS and C'dalemoschika
Jul 29, 2003 9:58 AM
most of them were annoying like the sherman and herman spots, DR chipper/mower, etc.

but i liked the USPS commercial and the cannondale commercial with Simoni.

i wonder what awaits us for the vuelta. any new guesses?
re: It's a grill nmcyclopathic
Jul 30, 2003 10:35 AM
Anything played more than once an hourAhwatukee Roadie
Jul 31, 2003 12:31 PM
If the TdF is the most grueling bike race for a rider to complete, then watching all of the commercials over 20 stages must be an equally excruciating exercise. I thought there were some clever commercials and some poor ones, but after you've seen them a couple of times, they all become annoying. It seemed like OLN had just a handful of commercials, so we were subjected to watching the same ones on every stinking commercial break.

Getting TIVO next year!