RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Who cares what Boris Becker thinks?(17 posts)

Who cares what Boris Becker thinks?High Rouleur
Jul 23, 2003 4:40 PM
I agree Jan is a great story, but my vote for 'Hero of the Tour' has to go to a certain American with a broken collarbone. Seriously, since when is Boris Becker an authority on cycling?

http://www.procycling.com/tdfstart_news_main.asp?newsId=482
Boris and the holy trinity of German sports...BergMann
Jul 23, 2003 5:20 PM
You have to realize that alongside Michael Schumacher and Jan Ullrich, Boris is the senior member of the holy trinity of German sports.
I can't decide if Jan's amazing resurrection from the dead qualifies him as God the Son or as the Holy Ghost haunting Armstrong though.
Maybe when he's not hopped up on X or...spyderman
Jul 23, 2003 10:26 PM
crashing his car in a drunken rage...

Don't get me wrong, Ullrich certainly deserves notable mention for the '03 comeback cyclist of the year. As Lance said last year, "The tour is better with him in it"!
Boris Becker is so wrong ..IMOPhatMatt
Jul 23, 2003 6:07 PM
I think that ward would have to go to Tyler Hamilton. Jaun is coming off od hard times and it is good that he turned his life around. People need to lie in the bed they made. But having said that Jan is still one of my favorite riders and I am gald he has straighted his life out. But not eh Hero of the tour.

Matt
agreeatpjunkie
Jul 23, 2003 6:36 PM
Jan's fall was self induced. Tyler is always fighting piss luck. 2 top ten finishes in 2 grand tours both with broken bones. Tougher than a hockey player IMHO. I dig JU as well and understand his fall. Unlike most I don't buy this "natural talent' BS everybody espouses about Ullrich. This kid was snatched up in his single digits by the east german sporting machine and farm raised to be a cyclist. His burnout was as predictable as Todd Marinovich's. (former USC/Raider QB raised by his father to be the uber QB who 'burned out' and would rather paint and smoke pot than play football). Jan had only ridden for his country, even Deutsch Telekom's major owner is the state. He needed the fall and the new team to remind him that he's a great cyclist and that he loves to ride. It's all about the love baby. His comeback is great and I'm stoked but Tyler takes the 'nad award'.
shame on Boris Becker ...Crash
Jul 23, 2003 9:06 PM
for not consulting with you guys before he gave his opinion. It was heartwarming to see Tyler win today, and in my opinion he IS the Iron Man of the Tour, but Boris is just excited for one of his countrymen. What's wrong with that?
Yeah...divve
Jul 24, 2003 3:04 AM
...and he's riding Campy.
shame on Boris Becker ...seyboro
Jul 24, 2003 4:16 AM
My thoughts exactly. BergMann (...Luis Trenker, oder was?), gave insight showing that he has a solid understanding of sports in the Fatherland. Ullrich's comeback to challenge for the top spot will play to a larger audience in Germany, BECAUSE it lacks the 'human interest component' Hamilton's broken collarbone provides. To the general American public, this makes for another great story, promotes the right kind of heroism. To many Germans, it's another Hollywood-ian production with another superhero fighting against even more impossible odds,...and all with a happy ending. Focus on the sporting exploits only, throw in Becker's nationality and you have a perfectly fine argument.
To us, Tyler is the man because we understand what a suicide-breakaway and a stage win mean. We know how improbable it is to hold off the entire peloton. Most people on this board understand cycling. We can locate the finishing town on a map, or the damn country for that matter. Joe Blow Public? Neither!! So, you've got to play up the human aspect, make it 'compelling', ya know...
Many Germans(...and DO include Godefroot in that crowd!) will dismiss all that hoopla as superficial showmanship and hero-worship. Ulle just rides and tries to beat the hero from across the pond.
...that's why Bum-Bum picks him and not the obvious choice.
Very good points...High Rouleur
Jul 24, 2003 5:21 AM
I just hope procycling.com reports John McEnroe's opinions, as well. ;)
Do you think John has any?Mel Erickson
Jul 24, 2003 9:12 AM
Maybe one or two?
Boris' opinionatpjunkie
Jul 24, 2003 12:11 PM
nothing except it's the same German Jingoistic Myopia that got them into 2 world wars. I don't care that Hamilton is a Yank, his performance is what is impressive. Did you guys here the rumor, supposedly IMAX is doing a movie on atheletes and pain and they are using Tyler. Could be a rumor.....
Deutschland, Deutschland, Deutschland Uber ALLES
give me a brake....divve
Jul 24, 2003 12:24 PM
You're way out of line there. Your post is as sickening as the mentality you claim to oppose.
give me a brake....atpjunkie
Jul 24, 2003 1:08 PM
Campy or Shimano? hey it's my opinion, just like Boris' (which people are defending) and I think most Germans still have a superiority complex. Just like Jesse Owens' come uppance to Hitler in 1936. Excuse me for using history from which to draw my opinions. Look at the attitude of the Deutsch National Soccer Club during the Klensman era.
Whoa, easy now, Turbo!!!seyboro
Jul 24, 2003 2:40 PM
Huh? What on earth do an American track star, an Austrian madman, the German soccer federation and a blond world cup winner have to do with an aging tennis player's opinion on an annual sporting event in France? (to the casual reader: If you can't follow, don't worry, it took me half an hour to come up with that one damn sentence ...).
Awwww hale, I'm gonna take my superiority ridden self and go look up the big words from that first post.
P.S.: It's spelled 'Klinsmann'..., and that adjective ending on 'deutsch' - never mind.
Whoa, easy now, Turbo!!! Klinsmann sorryatpjunkie
Jul 24, 2003 2:56 PM
yes realized I mis-spelled after posting but thanx. was just commenting on why one German would pick another for HERO.
wasn't intended as a troll.
Well, if you put it that way...seyboro
Jul 24, 2003 3:13 PM
...I have to most respectfully disagree. I would bet a set of Record carbon shifters that nationalism was the last thing on Becker's mind. No, make that Record carbon CRANKS.
fine to disagreeatpjunkie
Jul 24, 2003 3:43 PM
all I'm saying is historically Germans pull for Germans BIGTIME. Forgive the bombastic verbage. There was a good article on how JU has reignited Germany's interest in cycling. Considering DTelekom's majority owner is the state and Jan's own admission that the feeling he was riding for Germany (leftover from his East German Sport upbringing) was a major cause of his burnout I'd care to guess if he was Dutch, Boris would not have picked him. So it's all conjecture so I can't take your bet and FYI and FWIW I'm mostly German by heritage. I think Boris has an affinity as he had his career falls as well.