RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


donno 'bot you but I ain't getting Shimano pedals(19 posts)

donno 'bot you but I ain't getting Shimano pedalscyclopathic
Jul 22, 2003 2:04 PM
after Lance crashed his jewels on TT in second crash
I gots a nice set of toe-clips for you ...Humma Hah
Jul 22, 2003 2:08 PM
... with new straps.

To be fair, remember, those pedals had been trying to keep LANCE ARMSTRONG attached to the cranks ALL DAY!

I wonder if the cleats were damaged in the yellow-bag crash.
thanks but thankscyclopathic
Jul 22, 2003 2:17 PM
I've already found pedals I like, and I yet to pull out of them.

I can't see how cleat could have gotten damaged it was right foot and Lance went down to left side.
thanks but thankssnowman3
Jul 22, 2003 3:43 PM
So let us in on the secret and tell us what pedals are you riding that are far superior to Shimano? Where did you buy them? Unitentional Unclipping (UU) has plaqued society for decades. I never thought we would beat UU in my lifetime, but it appears we are on the verge of a breakthrough. If we all do our part, we can eliminate UU by the end of the racing season. Please help us fight this disease!!!
bebopscyclopathic
Jul 23, 2003 5:26 AM
they're very similar to Speedplays check them out at http://www.bebop.com/ You shouldn't have any problems as long as cleats do not get clogged with mud/sand.
bebopsatpjunkie
Jul 23, 2003 2:54 PM
AREN'T BEBOPS DIFFERENT FROM SPEEDPLAYS? Speedplay corp headquarters is right around the corner from my office
shifting error causing slipatpjunkie
Jul 23, 2003 3:00 PM
kinda like Tyler's freewheel breaking free at last years Giro(diif was about 30 mph). I've slammed from chain slipping off a chainring due to wear.
Speedplay sued themcyclopathic
Jul 25, 2003 3:53 AM
but they lost. Design is similar build on same principle.
I don't blame the pedals - that was the user........african
Jul 22, 2003 6:08 PM
I think (let me repeat that - I think) you see his right foot bend too much which caused it to clip out. Not a pedal flaw but a rider mistake, he rode for a short distance from his first wipe out and had been pedaling with no problem until he moved his foot too much of an angle and clipped out. Thats my theory.... anyway I use look pedals and will continue to use them.
I don't blame the pedals - that was the user........atpjunkie
Jul 22, 2003 7:15 PM
maybe he didn't completely engage from the post crash scurry. maybe the shimano's don't have a good solid click. I've pulled out of my Looks on hard upstrokes (climbs or sprints) only when the cleat is worn. I'm sure wear isn't an issue with the pros, I'm sure it was operator error due to haste. I think that's why Chechu gave him that calm down signal when they were re bridging. I'm sure he was frothing.
can't be the pedalsDASS
Jul 22, 2003 9:11 PM
I don't think it could be the pedals. Pedals don't break that easily, in my opinion. I guess we'll won't know unless Lance or his mechanics tell us.
Word is it was the broken chainstay ...Humma Hah
Jul 23, 2003 9:39 AM
... The bike's shifting went awry ... it was jumping out of gear as he was attempting to attack, all due to the noodly back end where the chainstay was cracked about 3/4 of the way thru.
According to the VeloNews tech article today...Trent in WA
Jul 22, 2003 9:29 PM
... the unintentional clip-out was caused by drivetrain alignment problems that were a result of the cracked chainstay:

http://www.velonews.com/tour2003/tech/articles/4647.0.html.

This suggests that, while Shimano pedals might be OK, you might want to avoid stupid-light carbon bikes that can't take flyweight Basque climbers falling on them. I have that problem all the time riding around Seattle.

Trent
another explanationSpoiler
Jul 22, 2003 11:17 PM
http://www.cyclingforum.com/forums/Thread.cfm?CFApp=2&Thread_ID=5719&mc=25

Or at least another discussion about possible explanations. I find it hard to believe that Lance wouldn't notice a cracked and deformed chainstay, a crack bad enough to misalign his pedal stroke.

I'd think it would get worse as he continued to attack, but he never unclipped again. If Lance unclips again this tour, or this season, that pedal is finished.
re: another explanationcyclopathic
Jul 23, 2003 6:03 AM
hard to imagine that chainstay crack could have misaligned pedal stroke enough to unclip. It is either operator error or cleat. But then what is the release angle on those things? 2 degree?
Misaligned enough to make it change gears spontaneously ...Humma Hah
Jul 23, 2003 9:41 AM
... the mis-shifting just as he was accelerating for an attack WOULD explain craziness in the pedals.
so it must be 10sp Shimano nmcyclopathic
Jul 23, 2003 10:34 AM
If it was the drive-side chainstay cracked, theCrankYanker
Jul 23, 2003 12:28 PM
the rear derailleur runs right alongside it. A crack or deformity could change the cable tension causing mis-shifting. You'd think it would reoccur during his ride to the finish, but Armstrong didn't mention this either.
Get it right. He cracked his jewel.... (nm)kjr39
Jul 23, 2003 3:44 AM