RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Another "funny" sportswriter with a blank page(16 posts)

Another "funny" sportswriter with a blank pageMR_GRUMPY
Jul 22, 2003 11:18 AM
Whenever a sportswriter can't thing of anything to fill space, he can always trash bike racing. The following article isn't worth getting mad over, it's just kind of funny how people who have trouble doing their job, can haul in some good coin.
http://espn.go.com/page2/s/armstrong/030718.html
Email him (you can find his address at the Denver Post.com site)zero85ZEN
Jul 22, 2003 11:29 AM
Not nasty emails...but I for one want to ask him if he thinks he is being funny, or what? Does he realize how ignorant and zenophobic he makes himself look by writing such a piece of drivel. I can't tell if he is trying to be funny, sort of tongue in cheek, or is somewhat serious. Either way it is a pretty worthless column.
An aside,TJeanloz
Jul 22, 2003 11:39 AM
If you want to call somebody ignorant, make sure you can spell xenophobic correctly.
An aside,zero85ZEN
Jul 22, 2003 11:46 AM
Got me. Doing to many things at once (I'm at work)...never have been very good speller anyways. Should have taken time to check it at Encarta.com.

:-)
Oh quit it already. Be nice. nmamflyer
Jul 22, 2003 9:17 PM
If you email him ...sacheson
Jul 22, 2003 12:02 PM
keep in mind, those guys (those guys == columnists that use a brash writing style) view critical and inflamatory emails as a feather in their cap.

Jim Armstrong is a Denver columnist. I can guarantee you, if this guy lives any where near Denver, he's surrounded by cycling. With that in mind, he most likely wrote the article with every intention of getting under a cyclist's skin. If you have the self control to refrain from emailing him, I suggest doing so ... otherwise he'll feel accomplished, and more articles will follow.
That's why he wrote it.MR_GRUMPY
Jul 22, 2003 12:17 PM
Don't email him. It will just make him happy. His editor will also be happy.
If you email him ...zero85ZEN
Jul 22, 2003 12:20 PM
...don't be nasty. My point was that by emailing him a serious, respectful email and asking him if he realizes that the article isn't really very funny, that perhaps he may see that there are aspects of it that really support, and even celebrate, a very Xenophopic, ignorant, narrow minded, American-centric view of sports and the world. I think he may have been trying to be somewhat ironically funny. But it just doesn't seem to work, in my opinion it is just plain bad writing.
I agree ...sacheson
Jul 22, 2003 12:39 PM
... and I apologize if my post came off wrong, I wasn't implying anything from your comment.
The funny thing is...moneyman
Jul 22, 2003 12:31 PM
He's really a very good writer. He is knowledgeable about what he writes, specifically the stick and ball sports, he can be very funny, and he has a self deprecating sense of humor. He jokes about his love of beer and sausages (he's from Wisconsin, BTW) and his portly build. I have always enjoyed reading his columns in the Denver Post sports pages, and he is a frequent guest on a popular sports talk show in Denver.

The referenced column is not his usual style. It is well known that he does not care for soccer or the WNBA, but he usually deals with those in a line or two. To devote an entire column denigrating cycling is out of line.

$$
The funny thing is...zero85ZEN
Jul 22, 2003 12:40 PM
I've seen him on ESPN's Around The Horn and he is pretty funny and has relatively intelligent things to say.

That's why I think it may not be a total waste of time and effort to email him and simply ask him "What's up with this?"

The right kind of email may get him to reconsider what he just wrote.

Feedback my provide him with something to think about.
His Email AddressBrokenSpoke
Jul 22, 2003 11:58 AM
Here you go:

jmarmstrong@denverpost.com
He Thinks He's Being Funny...Jon Billheimer
Jul 22, 2003 12:15 PM
...AND polemical. Unfortunately, he's neither. Ignore the cretin!
Look at his photo. Doublechins typically dont get cycling (nm)youcancallmejoe
Jul 22, 2003 12:15 PM
From the network that calls the World Series of Poker a sport.270bullet
Jul 22, 2003 1:22 PM
I just emailed the whole thread to Jim Armstrong...Sintesi
Jul 22, 2003 2:20 PM
and invited him to explain his actions to us. It'll be fun to see if (A) he shows up and (B) justifies his silly swipe at something he knows absolutely nothing about.