RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


did Ullrich really finish 3rd?(8 posts)

did Ullrich really finish 3rd?cyclodawg
Jul 21, 2003 8:19 AM
The online updates initially had him placing fourth, but he's third in the final race standings (gaining an 8 sec bonus). For anyone who was watching live, was it a close finish that might warrant review?

Those 8 seconds could be very significant...
re: did Ullrich really finish 3rd?snowman3
Jul 21, 2003 8:26 AM
It was pretty close. I was watching Ullrich and thought he got 3rd, but Phil announced 4th. Later Phil said that the photo review gave Ullrich 3rd place.

I agree on the 8 sec. I was hoping they could beat Ullrich to the line, but he was able to come back in the last few meters.
The live feed did not show a side view. Difficult to tell.noupi
Jul 21, 2003 8:50 AM
They should have given him 2ndCrash
Jul 21, 2003 9:28 AM
I saw the live feed this morning, very close but it looked like Jan did get 3rd. The way he dragged Mayo and Zubeldia and Moreau and Basso up that last mountain (NO one else led) they should have let him take second. Jan and Tyler were also the guys that kept the lead group from attacking when Lance went down and then was having problems with his pedals.
If Jan is going to win it, he needs to earn it.....Stinky Hippie
Jul 21, 2003 9:39 AM
.....There's no reason for Euskatel to give him a pass. If he's so concerned with seconds he should have ( if possible) pushed harder. Just as they didn't want Lance to walk away without a fight, they didn't want Jan to do so, either.

Feel the gin
So your saying they're just working for second place???Crash
Jul 21, 2003 10:23 AM
The point I'm trying to make is that if the chase group would have worked together they ALL could have closed the gap. If everyone's working together up the hill then whoever has the gas left at the finish line should get the bonus. When you've got one guy dragging 5 guys up the hill it's kind of gutless to then sprint for the line. I think what they're thinking is they have no way of catching Lance, so they are trying to keep Jan in check.
Yes, that's exacly what they were doing.fractured
Jul 21, 2003 11:39 PM
Team Euskatel had no reason to go after Lance, and they looked pretty cooked, besides. Most likely they were going for team points, as they might have a shot at the team victory in Paris, which pays nicely. It was Jan who needed that time badly, and it was Jan who was going to have to do the work. He couldn't care less about the place, he just wanted limit his time losses to Lance.
It was d*%n close.KG 361
Jul 21, 2003 10:02 AM
It looked to me like he gave up and was pissed that Mayo (?) finished ahead of him. I never saw the review, but initially, I thought, he was 4th. It was a little later when they reoprted that the photo-finish had him 3rd.