RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Stage 12, the stage of truth. Predictions?(23 posts)

Stage 12, the stage of truth. Predictions?fcebedo
Jul 17, 2003 9:49 AM
Who's the Top 5 for the stage? Time gaps? C'mon give it a shot. Gregg will send roadbikereview.com socks and caps for the best prediction.

The stage is 47 Km. with some climbs and technical descents.
francis
re: Stage 12, the stage of truth. Predictions?rufus
Jul 17, 2003 10:06 AM
1. armstrong
2. millar
3. ulrich
4. hamilton
5. botero
ok...swami says...EpicX
Jul 17, 2003 10:13 AM
oooga oooga wicky wicky

and my prediction is:

1: Vinokourov
2: Armstrong - :30
3: Ulrich - :45
4: Millar - 1:00
5: Hamilton - 1:30

dont really know about the gaps, but i think the order will look like this...
ok...swami says...t-bill
Jul 17, 2003 12:48 PM
EpicX must be on some good performance enhancers... Vino won't even be in the top 10. he isn't that good a TT'er. I'll eat my saddle if he wins!

1. Armstrong - he has benefit of knowing everyone's splits
2. Hamilton - he's not sandbagging, but he's tough
3. Millar - he wants a stage bad, but won't get it
4. Rich - Gerolstiner needs some better results and this is their man
5. Ullrich - He'll try but won't quite be able to pull it off.

At the end of the day Tyler and Ullrich may be able to take the 2nd and 3rd GC spots.
unlikely, i wouldnt be so slow if true!EpicX
Jul 17, 2003 6:53 PM
i think vino is underrated. he's having a phenomenal year. i think he might be inspired tomorrow.

rich is a good pick, i don't think he'll pull off a top 5 but maybe a top 10.
enjoy that saddle. nmrufus
Jul 18, 2003 11:48 AM
you and your f@#$ing socksJS Haiku Shop
Jul 17, 2003 10:19 AM
1 armstrong
2 ullrich
3 hamilton
4 vino

JHC!, i've been asking how to get some f@#$ing RBR socks for about 25 years. finally a chance.
LOL! someone send this man some socks.EpicX
Jul 17, 2003 10:27 AM
surely gregg has a pair of used ones in exchange for all the haiku you have blessed us with.
glad to hear that my haiku are worth a pair of used socks! nmJS Haiku Shop
Jul 17, 2003 10:38 AM
my $.02PaulCL
Jul 17, 2003 10:55 AM
1. Armstrong
2. Ullrich :55
3. Hamilton :59
4. Vinkorov 1:22
5. Millar 1:25

An JS...your Haiku is definitely worth a pair of used socks, how could it not be??? Now the question is whether Gregg throws them in the wash machine or not.....

Paul
I'll even throw in a 15% tip!Mel Erickson
Jul 17, 2003 8:07 PM
But whats 15% of a haiku?
re: Stage 12, the stage of truth. Predictions?James OCLV
Jul 17, 2003 10:47 AM
It'll go ~ like this:

1. Armstrong
2. Ullrich :30
3. Millar 1:00
4. Vino 1:30
5. Hamilton 2:00
Here's my entry...spyderman
Jul 17, 2003 11:03 AM
1. Armstrong
2. Mayo + .25
3. Vino + .55
4. Ullrich + 1.10
5. Hamilton + 2.00

I take a large in cycling socks!
I changed my mind from belowMaRider
Jul 17, 2003 11:54 AM
I said before Lance would win, but I now think Lance will concede 10 sec to Ullrich:

Ullrich 0:00
Lance 0:10
Millar 0:20
Hamilton 1:00
Vinokourov 1:30

Of other notables and GC contenders,
Mayo 2:30
Mancebo 3:00
Botero 1:40
Laiseka 4:00
My unqualified predictions...Slowclimber
Jul 17, 2003 12:21 PM
Armstrong 0'00
Ullrich 0'37
Hamilton 1'23
Millar 2'18
Vinukerov 2'41
2002 TT results here:fcebedo
Jul 17, 2003 1:51 PM
Stage 9 - Monday July 15, 2002: Lanester - Lorient ITT, 52 km
1 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca 1.02.19 (50.08 km/h)
2 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service 0.11
3 Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) Fassa Bortolo 0.18
4 Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 0.19
5 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step 0.25
6 Raimondas Rumsas (Ltu) Lampre Daikin
7 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis 0.50
8 Dario Frigo (Ita) Tacconi Sport 1.34
9 Andrea Peron (Ita) CSC-Tiscali
10 Joseba Beloki (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 1.38

Stage 19 - Saturday July 27: Regnie-Durette-Macon, Individual TT, 50 km
1 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service 1.03.50 (47.0 km/h)
2 Raimondas Rumsas (Ltu) Lampre Daikin 0.52
3 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step 1.06
4 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis 1.14
5 Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 1.42
6 Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) Fassa Bortolo 1.43
7 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) Lampre Daikin 2.09
8 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca 2.10
9 Joseba Beloki (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 2.11
10 Victor Hugo Pena Grisales (Col) US Postal Service 2.29
Bodrogi will feature for sure.Sintesi
Jul 17, 2003 2:28 PM
I'm going this a way:

Armstrong
Ullrich
Bodrogi
Rogers
Millar
Hamilton

I'm of the opinion Botero is a complete bust this Tour. :(
Botero - forgot to take his vitamins.fcebedo
Jul 17, 2003 2:47 PM
His special vitamins!

That guy was so-so before last year. Then beats Lance at the top of his game. This year, he's just an embarassment. What's the story Santiago?

francis
he finished 7th in 2000, 8th in 2001rufus
Jul 17, 2003 3:22 PM
i'd say that's a bit more than so-so. he didn't do well in the alps but he made it through, and i think he might be able to put in a decent effort in the tt.

or, he could stink up the place.
MARider looking pretty good so far!!!!! (nm)funknuggets
Jul 18, 2003 7:11 AM
Did I really win anything?MaRider
Jul 18, 2003 7:50 AM
If the socks and caps offer was real, my email is "idaten at i-run dot com".

Ullrich was unbelievable today. I hope Lance can keep him on the leash in the mountains, but makes you wonder who holds the cards before next ITT. Lance better have a 2 minute lead before final ITT again, or he may lose it.
Yup!gregg
Jul 18, 2003 8:05 AM
Although he mostly comes out during Tour Time, fcebedo (aka francis) is also my boss (darn that $5 Hamilton/Beloki bet!)

You were definitely the closest prediction! (the only one to pick Jan over Lance)

New batch of socks is not yet in stock, but should be coming any day now. I do have the caps in stock. I will be emailing you today.

Congrats!

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com

(hey, JS, we may have a pair of socks in your size, I'll let ya' know!)
;) nmJS Haiku Shop
Jul 21, 2003 6:58 AM