RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


McEwen is a / an ...(9 posts)

McEwen is a / an ...El Guapo
Jul 8, 2003 6:41 AM
Little Robbie is now mad about a supposed FRENCH conspiracy to not chase down french riders in any breaks. He says that no other team was willing to initiate a chase of Finot yesterday. He is steaming mad that Fassa Bortolo were the only team to help in the chase. Does his insanity know any limits. What an arrogant little man. Too bad his incredible talent is being wasted on such a "sore loser." Isn't it ironic that he is angry over a supposed French conspiracy when he in fact has a clear case of "Napolean Syndrome!" Shut up and ride McEwen!
There may be some merit to thatLive Steam
Jul 8, 2003 7:23 AM
We all know that the peloton has a strange edict. It wouldn't surprise me in the least bit. It may even be subliminal in some sense as the French haven't done much in the Tour for many years aside from JaJa.
yeah but still...EpicX
Jul 8, 2003 8:15 AM
it comes back to the fact that everyone is out to get him. If the world would just play fair robbie could be the next eddy merckx. riiiiiiight...

he really needs to watch it, he's gonna get to the point where everyone is sick of his mouth which leads to:

1. No one listens to you.
2. A REAL conspiracy formed against you just out of spite.

he's really starting to remind me of Pantani. Spoiled.

the latest whine from robbie:

Right after the stage yesterday, Robbie McEwen (6th) was silently fuming. When he was first asked for a reaction by the Belgian journalists he barked, "I've got nothing to say." But after the protocol the Australian rider admitted that "I was nowhere in this uncontrolled sprint."

"If Fassa and us didn't ride, then Finot would have won...big joy for the French, who seem to have made a deal not to chase each other. Also FdJeux.com didn't want to help, because they would have lost yellow today: Petacchi or myself would have grabbed yellow. That's while the riders in the lead were threatening the jersey too! And in the end they win the stage with Cooke and hold onto yellow as well!"

"I'll talk about this with [Lotto director Marc] Sergeant, because we can't hold this up as a team. I am still leading in the PMU classification by one point, but that doesn't yet interest me at the moment." Lotto-Domo team director Marc Sergeant is also surprised at the tactics of the peloton. "Everyone who feels like it gets ten minutes. If we didn't chase, what would have happened?"
I am not arguing the point that he is ...Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 1:49 PM
a Prima Donna, but I think his belief that the French teams and riders don't want to chase down a French break is a common theme among the rest of the field. For some strange reason I think Lance is in on the idea of having a Frenchman in the yellow for this anniversary tour. LeBlanc convinced him to wear the Maillot Juane for the Prologue. They must have discussed other tidbits that each found important to their cause, don't you think ;O)? Lance, after all, is the Boss of the Peloton. Sort of like a union boss. He had concerns about security and LeBlanc probably accommodated him with some trade-offs coming from Lance and his influence over the Peloton.
I am not arguing the point that he is ...Spoiler
Jul 8, 2003 5:31 PM
I'm watching taped coverage of stage 3 right now, there's a FRENCH rider from FRENCH Boulangere in a break, three minutes ahead of the field. The only team in the peleton to chase was the FRENCH Jean Delatour.
These are the days for the sprinter. These are the last days for a sprinter to wear yellow. So, if you're a sprinter, you had better be ready to make your team control the race.
Other teams have climbers and GC men on their team to think about. Robbie now has a team dedicated to him. Now he's crying about the team actually having to work? Is he worried about saving them for Alp d'Huez?
He's not just a prima donna, he's lost touch with reality.
Upon further review....spoilerSpoiler
Jul 8, 2003 6:18 PM
I just finished watching it and I might be partially wrong.
The French Jean Delatour team did chase, but only just enough to control the break. Jean Delatour is in the same boat as Lotto, they're working for a sprinter.
It was the Italian Fasso team of Pitacci, another sprinter, who finished off the break.
But still, I don't hear Pitacci or Nazon whining because they had to make their teammates work to close down a break.
classless arse! (nm)Old_school_nik
Jul 8, 2003 9:15 AM
How many TDF stages have you won?Dutchy
Jul 9, 2003 8:30 PM
It doesn't matter if Robbie is a spoilt brat or just loose with his mouth because no one on this site will ever beat him in a sprint! Do you think he cares what a bunch of wanna-be try hards think?

He may be arrogant but at least he can ride. Unlike most at these forums.
Ok dutchy, I'll admit I was wrong cus he had some humilty todayOld_school_nik
Jul 10, 2003 5:08 PM
but I apologize if he is a friend relative or something (I am being sincere) because you seem quite angry at us for criticising the guy...I am entititled to my opinion though. I do disagree with your reasoning : you are saying as long as you win you can say or do whatever you want and everybody else is wrong and yes no one on this site will ever beat him in a sprint...