|Cipollini May Have Won Stage 5 If...||Indurain 03|
May 14, 2003 2:59 PM
|Cipollini may have won this stage if his leadout man had swung off just a moment sooner. This would have allowed Patacchii to have helped Cipo even more than he already was and possibly expend the amount of energy that would allow Cipo to take the stage.
What are your opinions?
|Sprinter's Rule Book:||Qubeley|
May 14, 2003 7:16 PM
|"A sprinter must come from behind..."
Sitting behind your opponent already put you at a great advantage. If you can't swing pass him, then you have nobody to blame but the legs.
Leadoutmen's job is to make it easier for the designated sprinter to win. But he still need to decide when to jump himselves. I feel with all the "armchair ride" Cipo's getting over the year, he lost a bit of the killer instinct needed by sprinters.
|Sprinter's Rule Book:||atpjunkie|
May 14, 2003 7:36 PM
|it looked to me Cippo passed Petacchi and then got pipped by a better reach or faded a tiny bit. He was in front about a meter before the line, methinks it was his legs, not his leadout|
|think petacchi just timed the bike throw better||rufus|
May 15, 2003 8:10 AM
|cipo looked like he threw his just a hair early, and petacchi pipped him as a result.|| |