RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Are Levi or Tyler at all poised to take over Lance's reign..(8 posts)

Are Levi or Tyler at all poised to take over Lance's reign..MXL02
Jul 26, 2002 11:06 AM
once he retires, of course.
Tyler if he's lucky.Sintesi
Jul 26, 2002 11:26 AM
He's got talent alright but does he have that "extra gear?" I don't think he does. If he comes into a tour with superb form he's always got a chance, but I don't see him as a dominating figure no how.

Levi? Just haven't seen enough of him. The Vuelta could have been a fluke, If Heras wasn't ailing Levi never would have seen the podium and probably would have dropped lower in the GC.

I think the younger riders may have better talent.
Danny Pate anyone?
i doubt it, he's a year older than lance.(nm)rufus
Jul 26, 2002 5:51 PM
keep an eye on floyd as well.(nm)atpjunkie
Jul 26, 2002 6:50 PM
Levi podium a fluke at the Vuelta? I dont think so!cyclejim
Jul 28, 2002 9:21 AM
He just finished 8th in his first TDF. In my humble opinion that certainly confirms that his Vuelta was not a fluke!
Levi not a fluke but won't dominateatpjunkie
Jul 29, 2002 7:10 PM
agree with earlier post. These 2 (Levi/Tyler will be good) but won't dominate. It's too late in their careers. If Tyler trains hard and doesn't ride the Giro he'll be a contender, Levi should be able to move up as well but both are of Lance's generation. Keep and eye on Floyd or some of the young Euros (sevilla if he can calm his nerves is the best bet) to be the future stars.
Levi's an exciting prospect...DeRanger
Jul 27, 2002 8:16 AM
...I don't know if he's the next Lance or not, but he could be one of the best American riders of the next five years.

DeR
Neither,TJeanloz
Jul 28, 2002 8:32 AM
Both Tyler and Levi are excellent bike racers, but they are both of Lance's generation. Levi will be 30 next year, which, while young enough to be a pro bike racer, is too old to really become a star. Is a Grand Tour win for either of them impossible? No. But neither is capable of reigning over the bunch as Lance has.

Dominant riders very rarely emerge late in their careers. Typically, they're superstars from a young age. Ullrich (despite winning only once, his other rides put him in the dominant category), LeMond, Hinault, Merckx, all began winning big races at young ages- Levi didn't ride in his first Tour until after all of the above had already won a Tour.

Ivan Basso, Thor Hushovd, and maybe David Millar, stand to take the reigns as the next dominant performer; but I think it will actually be somebody that nobody's really heard of yet.