RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Are riders that finish outside of the time limit DQ'ed? (nm)(6 posts)

Are riders that finish outside of the time limit DQ'ed? (nm)riney
Jul 24, 2002 12:22 PM
yep...nmmr_spin
Jul 24, 2002 12:40 PM
It actually depends...Wayne
Jul 25, 2002 4:11 AM
if it's a large number of riders than usually no because of the staggering effect it would have on the race. More than 70 riders were outside the time limit yesterday and didn't get DQ'd, while 3 did. Riders form a peloton at the back of the race to ensure a large number come to the line together if they don't make the time cut. Of course, if you can't hang with the group and miss the split then your SOL.
It actually depends...mfuchs1
Jul 25, 2002 5:56 AM
Last year during the 30 minute + break all of the riders, except those in the lead group, would have been DQ'd but since there would have been no tour they all stayed. It's a rule but not set in stone
no it doesn'tmr_spin
Jul 25, 2002 7:32 AM
The rule includes the provision that if more than 20% fall outside the time limit, the time limit is automatically adjusted. It doesn't mean they ignore it. You can still miss the time cut if you come in after that 20%.

Sometimes, they waive the rule, but that is rare.
no it doesn'tCHRoadie
Jul 26, 2002 6:35 AM
As I recall from last year's tour, on one of the mountain stages, a rider never gave up and kept working, but finished outside the time limit. However, the Tour officials have some kind of special exemption they can extend to a rider who shows guts, and they didn't DQ him. The next stage, though, he missed the time limit again and they said adios.