RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


What ? (spoiler)(7 posts)

What ? (spoiler)Len J
Jul 24, 2002 5:35 AM
From TDF Coverage.

"15H38 - Boogerd Takes A Drink In Final 100m of Climb...
Boogerd was looking strong for the entire climb, but then - for some silly reason - he took a drink with about 100m to go before the summit. (The radio announced the rules earlier in the stage: no feeding in the last kilometer of the climbs today.)"

Whay is there such a rule?
What is the penalty?

Len
Standard rule...Wayne
Jul 24, 2002 6:04 AM
probably to prevent team cars interferring with the race for the points for the KOM. Penalty will probably be fine or time deduction.
Standard rule...Len J
Jul 24, 2002 6:14 AM
I can understand the issue with team cars but I read it to mean he "took a drink", as in raised his bottle to his lips, may be wrong though.

Thanks

Len
I think it means...Wayne
Jul 24, 2002 6:26 AM
took a bottle from the team car.
You gotta be right.....Len J
Jul 24, 2002 6:32 AM
its the only thing that makes sense. D'oh, my first read of it confused the hell out of me, must need more coffee.

Thanks

Len
Didn't see or hearWalter
Jul 24, 2002 2:11 PM
anything on TV coverage and I'm pretty sure they tracked his last 100m though maybe not b/c LA and Sastre were coming on hard. Late coverage didn't mention any violations. I noticed that he kept a bottle in the cage during most of the climb.

LA's dominance is so complete it's almost boring. I was cheering for Boogerd to hold the lead, as LA said, the guy deserved it.
It was the penultimate climb not the finish (nm)Wayne
Jul 25, 2002 4:18 AM