RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


Whats the deal with Erik Zabel?(9 posts)

Whats the deal with Erik Zabel?flashgj
Jul 12, 2002 10:24 PM
Did anyone else notice Zabel's reactions after todays stage? Every camera within his reach was grabbed or pushed out of his face. This reaction kind of bothered me. Is there something that I am missing or does he just have a bad attitude towards the press?
Yeah, what the h*ll was that??bigdave
Jul 13, 2002 4:37 AM
My wife and I noticed that too... she was the first to spot it and chime in.

That was *really* bad form. What the h*ll? And Zabel didn't just nudge the cameras... he shoved them down forcefully from the horizontal to the vertical.

I can't understand that at all... he just *won* the stage! He acted like a spoiled little boy who just *lost* the stage.

I mean, he's at the end of a stage of the biggest bike race in the world... what does he expect? There will be no media? And I don't think those cameras were out of line... there were tons of people there and the cameras were not pushing through... they were stationary and Zabel came past them, not the other way around.

All I can say, is I don't think that Cipo the showman would've done the same. Bask in the glory for a few seconds... blow a kiss to the camera or something... have fun with it.

But Zabel... I am at a loss for that... I respect his speed, but my respect for him beyond that took a big dump. I hope McEwen wrestles that green jersey from him by the end of the Tour.

--Dave
My sentiments also!!flashgj
Jul 13, 2002 7:42 AM
I have to agree with you bigdave, I have always cheered for Zabel (he does ride a Pinnarello, my favorite bike). But with actions like that, I wish Chipo was in the Tour. So now I will find myself hoping that McEwen ends up with the green on his shoulders.
wowmr_spin
Jul 15, 2002 7:19 AM
You've never done anything stupid in your life?
re: Whats the deal with Erik Zabel?jromack
Jul 13, 2002 4:39 AM
I think it started when the old geezer got in his way when he was coming to a stop after his finish.

Take a look at his face right after that happened.

What childish behavior!
Look At It From A Racers Standpoint and youll understand!BigLeadOutGuy
Jul 13, 2002 7:53 AM
Well imagine you just rode the fastest 200km of your life....1000 meters to go and you are already well above your lactate threshold and you jump to a sprint finish...by the time you cross the line your at your max heart rate...your dizzy...your seeing stars...your thirsty...and the only thing on your mind is trying to slow down and get to the nearest cold drink...than some sap with a huge camera jumps in your way and you have to swerve to avoid hitting him.
He probably didnt react the best to that but can you blame him? I am sure he was totally wiped out from the stage and just needed some time to recup. Winning is a great feeling but if youve just spent all the engery you possible have tryign to win...the happiness doesnt set in till after you stop seeing stars.
Cut the guy some slack..90 out of 100 times he doesnt react like that....any racer would understand what hes going through after a finish like that.
Mitigating Circumstances...GreenFan
Jul 14, 2002 3:27 PM
In addition to the recent efforts of the sprint you might also want to take into account some additional pressures that Erik has been facing recently....
This hasn't been his best season so far, he's had a real uphill battle just trying to come into god form after last year's extended season. Consequently the German press is undoubtedly hounding him, especially after being voted "Sportsman of the Year" in Germany last year.
Robbie McEwen has put an awful lot of pressure on him this week...always being in the sprint at the end and almost always beating Erik to the line.
And finally, although I don't know the details, Deutsche Telekom's stock has recently taken a real nosedive...some sort of financial trouble (possibly like Enron ?), the CEO is the target of a witchhunt and the German Chancellor has withdrawn personal support from the company...very bad considering that the German government is Telekom's biggest client. I'm quite certain that the press is asking Erik about all of that mess as well...
So...as you can see, Herr Zabel is under more pressure from more sides than we can imagine...cut him a break this time...ok?
Finally, a response that I can accept...flashgj
Jul 14, 2002 4:56 PM
Thanks GreenFan, if the press has been hounding Zabel about all the things that you have talked about, then I can certainly cut him some slack. We all now how the media can get very annoying and if that is in fact the case, then one can hardly blame him for loosing his cool at times. I quess I will have to reconsider my stand and maybe start cheering him on again. (Like I said before, he does ride a Pinarello : ) )
I'm not sure I accept it :-)bigdave
Jul 15, 2002 5:31 AM
I still think it was bad form on Zabel's part. I totally understand about being "gassed" at the end of a stage like that. But if he were that gassed, he wouldn't have had the energy to shove them around.

The thing that bugged me the most about it was that he came past them... it's not like the camera guys came rushing into his face. They were stationary, taking pictures, and the throng of onlookers sort of funneled Zabel toward them.

Just bad form on Zabel's part. I don't hate the guy, just a little put off by it.

I do have to say though, for some reason that episode will have me watching the points competition much closer. :-)

--Dave