RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


I am NEVER going to buy a Mercury Mountaineer!!!(13 posts)

I am NEVER going to buy a Mercury Mountaineer!!!Only300
Jul 12, 2001 11:12 AM
I am so sick of seeing and hearing that commercial every time on OLN's coverage of the TDF!!! The USPS "Runawayshoes.com" is also getting on my nerves!

Anyone else feel the same?
re: I am NEVER going to buy a Mercury Mountaineer!!!MikeC
Jul 12, 2001 11:22 AM
I know what you mean, but I've gotta hand it to Mercury for making it possible for OLN to bring us the tour, and spending money to advertise to a very specific and limited audience. And I'm sure that one of the reasons we're seeing so much Mercury and USPS is because there were very few OTHER advertisers willing to take a pull.
(Mercury must REALLY be aggravated that their team was screwed out of a tour slot, as I expect that their advertising plans were made when most of us thought there'd be two US squads).
What about Team Saturnsidley
Jul 12, 2001 12:36 PM
First, agreed about THE Mercury commercial - that sappy dramatic score makes it sound like you will find the cure for cancer in the glove compartment.

Second, while it seems that Mercury Viatel has vaulted itself into a world class team (the scandel arising out of their exclusion from the TDF as evidence), are there any other American teams worthy of note, such as Team Saturn?

Is Mercury's sponsorship an aberration or the beginning of a trend?
Be thankful though its a small price to pay for live coverage...Spyder Ryder
Jul 12, 2001 2:08 PM
Dont you think?? I agree that Mercury Viatel got screwed big time by Le Societie du Tour. They choose to add one more team than last year but not the 5th ranked team in the world.

I wonder what the ratings on the Tour are this year in America?? Hopefully this will help launch cycling in to the US mainstream, cause you gotta figure that when LeMond was going nuts over there there wasn't even ESPN (uhg) coverage there. LeMond opened the door and Lance opened it wide, but the real thing will be TV. OLN will blow the doors off cycling in the US IF IF IF Lance wins. Lance winning is the important part because he is the catylist, the 3rd time is the charm and with live TV coverage peple are watching. Even if they just wander in just to take a look around Phil and Paul are the greatest doormen anyone could ever sak for, don't you think??

Now dont get me wrong although I am an equal oppertunity cheerer for the US, if Julich wins, he doesnt have the popularity of Lance right now and people will be saying "Bobby who??" while Lance has a book and a great story, so for as much as I would love to see Bobby win, if he does he wont have as much of an impact as Lance would if he won. Hopefully Bobby will get a place on the podium so the people can see who he is and then next year have USPS and Mercury Viatel in the tour, a first with 2 US teams. Then in the 2003 tour USPS, M-V, and then pull in the Saturn team as well.

It can only go up from here guys so hold on and grab a wheel, trust me.
OLN coverage...TJeanloz
Jul 12, 2001 4:15 PM
OLN coverage has been a disaster to mainstream cycling acceptance in the United States. Yes, they show a lot of bike racing. Yes, it's cool for those of us interested to watch. But the facts of viewership are such that ESPN is the most subscribed to cable channel in the United States. I'd say that certainly less than half of American cable viewers get OLN, or if they do get it, know that it exists. With ESPN, it forced a good portion of the country to watch bike racing for 1/2 hour- because it is in America's collective channel surfing ideology to flip to ESPN, at least during commercials on other stations. Nobody, bike racers and fishing afficianados aside, surfs through OLN. Why do we see so many Mercury ads? Keep in mind, that Lincoln (sort of the same company) annoyed us with Navigator ads for at least 2 years, and they didn't even sponsor a team. But ratings for the TdF are SO low that ad time is practically free. Last year, when it was on ESPN, we (our bike shop) ran a (local) ad during every Tour show, and the total cost, including production, was around $750. Cheap.

As for Saturn ever getting a ride in the tour, it's possible only if they're sold to Renault. The most recent UCI rankings I have ranks Saturn as the 30th team in D2- the 52nd team overall. It would take a lot of frenchmen for Jean-Marie LeBlanc to overlook that ranking.
OLN coverage...Spyder Ryder
Jul 12, 2001 5:30 PM
Point taken but having a half-hour shown at like 10 at night or having it on for 6 hours on OLN?? So half the viewership but 6 times the coverage. Also remember that CBS has some coverage too and CBS is pretty big too. They'll hop from CBS to OLN. Plus, in 99 nobody had any idea that Lance would win, then he did and the Lance story came out and everybody came out and said thats a cool story and then the novelty blew off. In 2000 Lance proved that he wasn't a novelty, won it again and had a NY Times bestseller book too, so now millions of people know who he is because they have his book right? Now people will tune in to see him race.

The first time is luck, the second time is coincidence, and the third time is skill. Actually I'm gonna check with OLN and see just how the ratings are, I would be willing to bet they are at least 3 times last years tour.
re: I agree to a pointTaylor_A
Jul 12, 2001 11:46 AM
But I think that we should be thankful that a major US company is getting so involved in cycling. Although itwould be nice if they would give us a little variety in the commercials.

This may be the start of more major teams in the US. Maybe we will even have a tour in this country someday.

I'm just thankful that they are not showing that Powerbar commercial this year. That was really annoying!!!!!
re: I agree to a pointMikeC
Jul 12, 2001 2:50 PM
As an ex-ad man, I'd be surprised if Mercury contracted for all those spots. They probably bought a much lighter schedule, but OLN bonused them either because they couldn't sell their inventory (which I suspect), or in order to maximize their chances of delivering the rating points they pre-sold.
We had a tour,TJeanloz
Jul 12, 2001 4:16 PM
Actually two of them; the Coors Classic, and the Tour DuPont. Fan support was pretty decent, but big tours cost a lot of money to stage, and the sponsors just couldn't support it.
yes BUTColnagoFE
Jul 12, 2001 2:40 PM
someone's gotta pay the bills for all that coverage. we should probably be THANKING Mercury for supporting cycling.
I fail to see your point in this matter....Francis
Jul 12, 2001 3:46 PM
RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!

RUNAWAYSHOES.COM!!!!!!!!!
tidbit...quinroo
Jul 13, 2001 6:21 PM
runawayshoes.com actually goes to the usps small business site. handy way to check on how effective your advertising is... or to make sure that no one snaps up that adress and sticks a porn site there.
www.tourdefrance.com.......ALLEN
Jul 15, 2001 6:09 PM
......Actually goes to a porn site. I was really surprized.
(don't really know why I posted this).