RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Tour-Giro-Vuelta


Archive Home >> Tour-Giro-Vuelta(1 2 )


It may be up to us, now...(8 posts)

It may be up to us, now...MikeC
Jul 30, 2001 5:49 AM
OLN really stepped up to the plate with this year's TdF coverage, but the commercials they ran (lots of freebees and self-promotion spots) indicates to me that it probably wasn't a financial success for them.
Let's show them our support and appreciation, and hopefully keep them interested in presenting road cycling, which is FAR below MTB in popularity.
If you log onto www.olntv.com there is a "feedback" section. Send OLN a message that you watched the Tour, appreciate their coverage, and told others about it. And let them know that the more they show, the more you'll watch!
PS-Any demographic/income info you feel like sharing with them would also be helpful.
or even better, go buy a Mercury Mountaineer...Bruno S
Jul 30, 2001 7:03 AM
I hope that the ratings of OLN were monitored during the coverage since they probably were very high for a cable channel. That is whats going to decide the future this type of coverage. Sending an e-mail to OLN is nice and could help but for the sponsors its more important to know how many people and what type of people watched their adds.
Logon to give feedback??Old Guy
Jul 30, 2001 7:58 AM
Gimme a break. I have to create another frigging account/password with somebody just to leave positive feedback?

Forget it.
Old Guy you really are a downer!!!Live Steam
Jul 30, 2001 8:40 AM
No need to create an account. Just hit the feedback button and leave your comment. You could have done it in the time it took you to type your silly response here. Jeeez! You think someone was asking for blood or something. :-)
re: It may be up to us, now...ljaspins
Jul 30, 2001 8:00 AM
remember, ads aren't the only source of income for the cable channels, not to mention the type of OLN's nature. They get a substantial percentage of their income from subscriber fees from the cable companies and DirecTV. A portion of that $10 for the sports package on DirecTV goes to OLN each month. Not to mention that the TDF has forced TimeWarner in many locations to pick them up. OLN will not forget that, or at least they shouldn't.
re: It may be up to us, now...ebednarz
Jul 30, 2001 8:17 AM
I was only able to catch one stage on OLN and that is because I was over a friends house who had satillite TV. OLN did do an excellent job covering the tour, however, I live in Northern New Jersey and OLN is not part of any of the cable providers around here. I wish these cable companies get a lot of complaints so that next year hopefully the tour will be on a channel that everyone has.
re: It may be up to us, now...Jay H
Jul 30, 2001 9:36 AM
Which is exactly why I went with DishNetwork rather than cable. I also told OLN exactly that so hopefully, they'll continue to bring us the live feed. My friend who used to tape the tour stages off ESPN2 last year is now up the creek cause he has cable w/o OLN. I have a friend a bit south of me here in NJ, in Roseland who gets it on his cable, but yes, alot of northern NJ's cable (Cablevision?) is OLN-less and I presume Speedvision-Less too.

The final stage was the first stage I watched live (as in while it was broadcasting, not actually as it was happening) so it was the first time I had to sit through all those runawayshoes.com and Mercury ads. I've watched all the stages via the PVR up to yesterday.

Jay
Simple to do, what the heckJohnnyA
Jul 31, 2001 8:37 AM
I am stoked by their cycling coverage this year. Much better than
watching the world's strongest man reruns on ESPN. Give 'em some
feedback eh?