RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Rides and Clubs


Archive Home >> Rides and Clubs


Twin Cities Road Bike Review Ride - Sept 29th, 2002(23 posts)

Twin Cities Road Bike Review Ride - Sept 29th, 2002Scot_Gore
Sep 17, 2002 8:35 AM
From my post over on the General board, it looks like we have enough interest. As of now:
Scot_Gore yes
Shad yes
Off Roadie maybe
filtersweep maybe
Aliensporebomb maybe
bnlkid maybe
PMC, Quack whatta you thinking?
If just a couple maybes convert to yes that's 4, let's RIDE.
Post over here for further questions, RSVPs, or other stuff.
Ride Details:
Date & Time: Sunday, September 29th 7:00am
Start Point: Visitors Center – Main Street – St. Anthony Main , Minneapolis
Time Mile Instruction
7:00 AM 0.0 Depart 245 Main St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 on Main St SE (West)
7:02 AM 0.3 Continue (North) on CR-23 [NE Main St]
7:10 AM 1.4 Turn West River Pkwy
7:15 AM 2.2 Turn LEFT (South-West) onto N 4th Ave [4th Ave N]
7:16 AM 2.4 Turn LEFT (South-East) onto N 1st St [1st St N]
7:17 AM 2.5 Turn RIGHT (South-West) onto N 3rd Ave [3rd Ave N]
7:21 AM 3.3 At 88 Glenwood Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403, stay on CR-40 [Glenwood Ave] (East)
7:22 AM 3.4 Turn RIGHT (South) onto Cedar Lake Trail
7:23 AM 3.5 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Hawthorne Ave
7:24 AM 3.6 Turn LEFT (South) onto N 12th St [12th St N]
7:25 AM 3.7 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Hennepin Ave
7:27 AM 4.1 Bear RIGHT (West) onto Dunwoody Blvd [Wayzata Blvd]
7:29 AM 4.3 Turn LEFT (South) onto S Emerson Ave [Emerson Ave S]
7:31 AM 4.6 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Kenwood Pkwy
7:34 AM 5.3 At 1616 Kenwood Pkwy, Minneapolis, MN 55405, stay on Kenwood Pkwy (West)
7:38 AM 5.9 Turn LEFT onto Kenilworth Trail
7:43 AM 6.9 Turn RIGHT (East) onto Midtwon Greenway
7:43 AM 6.9 At E Calhoun Pkwy, Minneapolis, MN 55408, stay on E Calhoun Pkwy (South)
7:44 AM 7.1 Turn LEFT (south) onto 5th Ave
7:53 AM 8.9 Turn RIGHT (South) onto CR-35 [Portland Ave S]
8:10 AM 12.3 Turn LEFT (South-East) onto E 58th St [58th St E]
8:12 AM 12.8 Turn RIGHT (South) onto 12th Ave S
8:14 AM 13.0 Turn LEFT (East) onto E 60th St [60th St E]
8:15 AM 13.2 Continue (East) on Cedar Ave S
8:15 AM 13.2 Turn RIGHT (South) onto Crosstown Rd
8:17 AM 13.5 Bear LEFT (South) onto Bloomington Ave S
8:19 AM 13.8 Turn RIGHT (West) onto E 64th St
8:20 AM 14.0 Turn LEFT (South) onto 12th Ave S
8:29 AM 15.9 Turn LEFT (East) onto E 79th St
8:34 AM 16.9 Turn RIGHT (South) onto CR-1 [24th Ave S]
8:35 AM 17.0 Turn LEFT (East) onto E 80th St
8:39 AM 18.3 Turn LEFT onto 494 Bike Bridge
8:53 AM 22.1 Turn LEFT (North) onto CR-31 [Pilot Knob Rd]
8:55 AM 22.5 Turn LEFT (West) onto Mendota Heights Rd
8:56 AM 22.7 Bear Right (West) onto Big Rivers Bike Trail
9:12 AM 26.3 Turn LEFT (East) onto CR-45 [Lilydale Rd]
9:19 AM 27.8 Continue (North-East) on Water St W
9:27 AM 29.3 Bear LEFT (North) onto Harbor Road Raise
9:28 AM 29.5 Turn RIGHT (East) onto Plato Blvd W
9:29 AM 29.6 Turn LEFT (North) onto Water St W
9:32 AM 30.0 Turn LEFT (North) onto Wabasha St S
9:34 AM 30.4 Turn RIGHT (East) onto Kellogg Blvd E
9:37 AM 30.9 Turn LEFT (North-West) onto Wall St
9:39 AM 31.1 Turn RIGHT (North-East) onto SR-5 [7th St E]
Turn RIGHT (south) onto Bruce Vento Trail
Turn LEFT (West) onto Gateway Trail
10:30 AM 40.3 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Cayuga St
10:32 AM 40.6 Turn LEFT (South) onto CR-55 [Jackson St]
10:36 AM 41.3 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Valley St
10:37 AM 41.3 Turn LEFT (South) onto Capitol Heights
10:38 AM 41.3 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Charles Ave
10:38 AM 41.4 Turn LEFT (South) onto Cedar St
10:40 AM 41.7 Turn RIGHT (West) onto Aurora Ave
10:42 AM 42.0 Turn RIGHT (North) onto Park Street
10:43 AM 42.2 Turn LEFT (West) onto Como Ave
10:46 AM 42.8 Bear LEFT (West) onto Minnehaha Ave W
10:50 AM 43.4 Bear RIGHT (West) onto Local road(s)
10:51 AM 43.5 Bear RIGHT (North) onto Pierce Butler Route
10:55 AM 44.2 Turn LEFT (South) U of M Transit Way
11:27 AM 50.1 Stay on SE 5th St (West)
11:28 AM 50.2 Turn LEFT (South) onto SE 18th Ave
11:36 AM 51.5 Turn LEFT (South-West) onto 3rd Ave SE
Yesfiltersweep
Sep 17, 2002 9:07 AM
What exactly is the Visitor's Center at St. Anthony Main?
Visitors Center is 125 Main Street SEScot_Gore
Sep 17, 2002 10:56 AM
St Anthony Falls Historic District Visitors Center
125 Main St SE
Minneapolis, MN 55414
(612) 627-5433
st.anthonyfalls@mnhs.org
re: Twin Cities Road Bike Review Ride - Sept 29th, 2002PMC
Sep 17, 2002 9:39 AM
I'm a definite maybe.

Sounds fun
PMC
Twin Cities Marathon on same date 9/29.NelZ
Sep 17, 2002 10:50 AM
Keep in mind that the Twin Cities Marathon is happening on the same date starting at the Metrodome and finishing at the state capitol. It looks like the bike route intersects with some of the closed race course. Even so, put me down as another maybe.
I Know, thanksScot_Gore
Sep 17, 2002 11:02 AM
If you saw the first message on Saturday, I re-did the original route since I was on top of the marathon and did'nt know it. I think this route will be fine. We cross the route twice, but don't share any roads.

If we go fast (or shorten a leg) we can see the winner at the capital.

Hope you can make it.

Scot
Twin Cities Marathon on same date 9/29.JBergland
Sep 17, 2002 11:20 AM
Having volunteered and run the TCM for the last couple years, I would second NelZ concerns. Just about every road close to the marathon route (don't forget about the 10 mile race!!) will be closed. I don't know if it's enough of a concern to NOT ride, just something to be aware of. I'd be very interested in joining in, but a combination of commitments with the marathon itself along with a couple other things will have me tied up the that weekend.

Another ride that might be of interest to those of you from the Twin Cities will be taking place on the following weekend, Oct. 5th-6th. Silver Cycling (www.silvercycling.org) is in the process of organizing a fairly sizable group ride south of the cities possibly starting in Faribault. Clubs/people from Northfield, Austin, and Rochester will all be in attendance. Nothing has been finalized yet, but thought I would share this incase there is some interest.

Take Care!!
Thanks JScot_Gore
Sep 17, 2002 11:32 AM
The opportunity to spectate on the run at couple of times is part of the appeal. My plan is to use the bike route off the Stone Arch Bridge to avoid the 10 mile route along the River at the start. We'll bike up river and come back through the warehouse district to get to the Cedar Lake Trail. We're on bike trail from that point all the way to Portland and Lake. From there it's south down Portland to Bloomington. We'll cross the route at Minnehaha Pwy. I think we'll still be out ahead of the runners at this point, but if not, it would be fun to see them.

I planned the arrival at the capital in order to see some early finishers.

Any good advice with the above in mind.

thanks
Scot
Ah....I see what I didScot_Gore
Sep 17, 2002 11:53 AM
I forgot to cut out all the "car" directions my routing program generated between Turn onto Cedar Lake Trail and the turn onto Midtown Greenway. Sorry about that.

Scot
Sounds great!Shad
Sep 17, 2002 11:42 AM
Sounds like a fun time. I'll stay posted if the plans change. It's always fun to put faces to the names. Hope everyone can make it.
Count me ings6769
Sep 18, 2002 3:54 AM
Sounds like a good one! 7:00 on the "pave" of S.E. Main.
Daylightfiltersweep
Sep 25, 2002 7:12 AM
It was quite dark this morning at 7am- FWIW...
Should we move it to 7:15am ?Scot_Gore
Sep 25, 2002 8:34 AM
I was out yesterday at 7:00am and I thought it was plenty light to be riding.
Here's text off weather.com:
High:
59°F
Partly Cloudy
Wind:
From the South Southwest at 11 mph
Precip: 10 %
Max. Humidity: 65 %
Sunrise: 7:08 AM
Sunset: 6:57 PM

Opinions welcome
Scot
Are we on rain or shine?Shad
Sep 25, 2002 2:25 PM
Scot, just wondering if you plan to post here by early Sunday if we have questionable weather or there are any other changes? I don't mind cold, I don't mind rain, but I'm not fond of freezing rain. (Feel free to call me a wimp!) I'll post if anything unexpected comes up for me, otherwise I plan to be there. I'm also planning to bring a friend.

Any of you "maybes" ready to commit yet, or just waiting to see how late you're out Saturday night?

Hope to see you all (and me) there Sunday! Shad
Yes, but read this message.Scot_Gore
Sep 25, 2002 3:07 PM
I plan on being there Sunday at 7:00. My preference is to ride, but if mother nature has some serious plans for the day then I'm for making the RBR ride an RBR breakfast at some northside diner. We can make that call on Sunday AM with whoever shows.

Hows that sound?

I'm just one of us, if I go into a coma Saturday I hope others will ride regardless of what I say Sunday AM, but if you think a Sunday AM post would be helpful I'm happy to do it.

BTW: If anybody needs it, my direct e-mail is sgore@minn.net and I'm in the phonebook under Scot Gore (some creative handle huh?)

The forecast so far is looking good. Sunny, high of 61, wind SSW at 10mph, chance of precip 0%.

Scot
Yes, but read this message.filtersweep
Sep 25, 2002 3:18 PM
If it is enough light for you... it is not like there is that much traffic in the AM- and it is like the sun never came up at all this morning. I'll be there unless it is raining- I don't mind the cold (this is NOTHING... yet). I don't want to spend an hour cleaning my bike AGAIN after being caught in last night's rain.

Are there a few spots to refill water or take a nature call along the route?

filtersweep@rocketmail.com (not in the phonebook under filtersweep ;) )
Water Stops Along RouteScot_Gore
Sep 25, 2002 6:42 PM
My map program shows me gas stations. Here's likely canidates for loading and unloading of water:
1) SuperAmerica at 24th & 79th by Mall of America @mile 15
2) SuperAmerica at Wall & 7th near downtown St. Paul @mile 29
3) SuperAmerica Lexington & Energy Park near Bandana Sqr. @mile 42

If we stop to see the marathon finish I imagine we'll have other opportunities at that point as well.

See you there.
Scot
Sounds good, however to be honest...Shad
Sep 26, 2002 7:25 AM
...the only reason I would ever wake up so early is to ride my bike. There isn't another sport, a woman, a food, a religion or a job that could do that! ;-)

Hopefully the weather turns out to be as predicted - it always does doesn't it? I'll check this site if the weather seems at all questionable. Try not to go into a coma Saturday, I'm bad at reading a map and riding. I'll drop you an e-mail with my info in the event you need to get in touch with me.

Thanks, Shad
Come and Ride!!!!Scot_Gore
Sep 28, 2002 2:55 PM
Forecast says the rain stops at Midnight. Forecast also makes Sunday sound like a great day to ride a bike. Hope everyone can make it, see you in 13 hours.

Scot
Change of plans..gs6769
Sep 28, 2002 3:33 PM
Sorry guys, I've gotta bag out on the ride. Hope you have a blast!
What to wearfiltersweep
Sep 28, 2002 5:52 PM
I'm guessing tomorrow will start cold and warm up quite a bit... I always seem to overdress or underdress, but can never get it quite right...
I'm still in - see you in 8 hours! nmShad
Sep 28, 2002 7:54 PM
Good Morning T- 60 minutes. Weather Looks Good, Pavements DryScot_Gore
Sep 29, 2002 2:57 AM
I'm up, dressed, I'll be heading out the door shortly.
Hope to see you there.

Reminder: Meet point is 125 SE Main - St. Anthony Falls Visitors Center. It won't be open yet, but I'm sure you knew that.

Scot