RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Retro - Classic Bikes


Archive Home >> Retro - Classic Bikes


Rescued an old Peugeot from the trash tonight ...(8 posts)

Rescued an old Peugeot from the trash tonight ...Humma Hah
Dec 22, 2002 7:44 PM
I guess somebody is either cleaning up for the holidays or is getting a new bike for Xmas. I spotted an old roadbike in the trash tonight, figured it might provide the seatpost clamp bolt and a couple of other bits I need, and picked it up. If anybody in the area (Northern Virginia)would like it, let me know.

This is a 60 cm (center to center, top tube to bottom bracket) frame, a little tall for me. The seat is all the way down on it, so it was probably too tall for the last rider. Weeds up to the seat show how long it has been neglected. Still, its a fairly handsome bike, with pretty good silver paint and good decals, one rusty bracket on the headset, a rusty chain and front der, and two flat tires. Peugeot 2x5 der and Peugeot brakes. The hubs are nice-looking retro high-flange. You guys think downtube friction shifters are retro, but this sucker's got 'em on the stem. The brake levers are "suicide levers" (you can brake from the tops of the bars). Lugged steel frame, decal on the top tube declares it to be a "Sport".

I'd place this as '70s vintage, a tolerable mid-level bike from the cycling boom. Has horizontal dropouts, and might make a nice retro fixie or singlespeed conversion.
re: Rescued an old Peugeot from the trash tonight ...curlybike
Dec 23, 2002 6:09 PM
I fear that you might be over rating that frame a little. I am in the Oxon Hill area, so we are close. Did you find all the Campy parts you were looking for? I have a small stash of older stuff, if you need something.
Still looking ...Humma Hah
Dec 24, 2002 6:38 AM
Didn't find much Campy stuff, and certainly won't on that Peugeot. I've got enough gear to get the Paramount rolling, but almost everything that moves is a candidate for an upgrade. It has a 27" Campy front wheel, Campy headset, and I have a Mirage BB that will fit it. I'd very much like a set of vintage Campy side-pulls for it, and I've been searching high and low for Pista track cranks.

Over-rating the Peugeot? Well, you'll notice I'm figuring to give it away, and am not interested in keeping it. I'd rate it as a step up from a Varsity or Free Spirit, a good campus bike in its time, probably sold for about $200 new at a time when the Paramount was priced around $500.

I'd rate it as a good candidate for a first-class beater fixie. It would also be ideal for someone who used to own one just like it and really misses it.
Still looking ...curlybike
Dec 25, 2002 7:11 AM
I have noticed a HF ft hub N.Record in the box. But I have nothing elso on your list.
Do you have any idea what "Tube Special 103" is?Humma Hah
Dec 25, 2002 6:17 PM
I noticed what looked like a Reynolds tubing stickie under a pump bracket, and moved the bracket for a closer look. Hah, it's obviously intended to LOOK important. The bike is made of Peugeot Tube Special 103. I can't find that discussed on the internet. I somehow doubt it competes with Reynolds 531.

Looking over the bike, I suspect it can be made into a working fixie for about $35. Probably can screw off the rusty corncob, screw on a fixed-gear cog, new chain, replace the tubes, and make it go. Then maybe I could sell it for ... um ... I'd guess about $35. That would give me a little practice at converting a 2-ring crank to single and working out chain alignment, before doing the Paramount. Not that it should take much practice.
Do you have any idea what "Tube Special 103" is?Walter
Dec 27, 2002 9:14 AM
I'm pretty sure it's the same as the "1040" steel Motobecane used onm their lower line bikes. Heavy hi-tensile "gaspipe" in other words.

I don't believe there are "worthless" bicycles, just some are better or even much better than others. I always preferred Moto to Peugeot but that Peugeot will make, as you've noted, a fine beater or SS conversion. If you're going to resell I'd sell it as a conversion. They seem to almost always get a C note or better on eBay. Another option is saving the BB, if it's good. French threaded BBs are rare if you don't want to spend Phil Wood money and that might be a life-saver for a future project of yours or a friends.

Happy Holidays
I don't believe in worthless bikes either ...Humma Hah
Jan 2, 2003 2:58 PM
... excepting maybe worn-out department store junk with a broken frame and every bearing rusted solid. It breaks my heart to see folks tossing out perfectly good bikes like this one that could be returned to service with very little effort.

Wrong with this bike: rust from neglect, and not very much of that. Chain's shot, tires flat, both der cables siezed, rusty crown nut on the headset, and the front der is pretty rusty. All of these parts except the crown nut are expendables.

What's still good: frame is solid, paint very good, wheels are true, all the bearings turn freely and don't crunch, tires still have plenty of wear, brakes and brake cables work, bar tape looks almost new ... its actually a fairly good-looking, even classy-looking oldie that is about 95% as good as most modern roadbikes in all of the really important things, if the few problems were fixed up. This bike could be making somebody healthy and happy, and saving gas and easing road congestion, instead of someone tossing it on the trash heap.

I happen to like bikes from the 70's, when my interest in riding was very high. That also happens to be a period in which the bikes are still considered "just old bikes", and few are sought-after high-dollar collectables. So what if they only bring $100 on e-bay and they give 'em away at Salvation Army? What's that got to do with worth? A nice old ride, especially one that could one day start to go up in desirability (might take 20 years), deserves better than to be buried with garbage.

But I'm preaching to the choir, here.
Surprise!curlybike
Dec 28, 2002 1:13 PM
All peugeot frames are warrantied for life. If that frame breaks, Procycle in Canada will replace it. They will also upgrade it (the broken one) to a top line frame for minimal $$. This was done by a friend and he ended up with a really good frame.