RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Retro - Classic Bikes


Archive Home >> Retro - Classic Bikes


What year is this bike?(16 posts)

What year is this bike?tronracer
May 23, 2002 7:06 PM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/i-1(16).jpg
re: What year is this bike?tronracer
May 23, 2002 7:07 PM
...sorry, here ya go
re: What year is this bike?merckx56
May 24, 2002 7:12 AM
you don't want it! it's not a "real" merckx. before eddy set up shop, falcon made some framesets with his name on them. while they are molteni merckx in appearance, they are merely cheap frames painted up! if you can find an early derosa built frame, buy it!
heheh....i think he's selling his early deRosa frame NmSpirito
May 24, 2002 7:23 AM
Ha...Spirito, I changed my mind about the Derosa...Question.....tronracer
May 25, 2002 1:58 PM
I am keeping the Derosa and forgeting about the 98 Lemond. I fell harder in love and couldn't bear to part with it. The Lemond is in perfect shape no knicks, chips, or any scratches at all, but I think the seller wants too much for it, or maybe it is fair market value, although I doubt they'd get more than $700 for an Ultegra equipped Lemond and they want $800...your thoughts?

Eventually I'll get another, newer bike, but for now I'm concentrating on reequipping the derosa with drilled sr levers, sr seatpost, sr pedals. The sr hubs were relaced to open pro rims. If I take off the open pro stickers, would the rims pass for originals? What rims originally came with the bike?

The hubs have a hole to put lube in I guess. What do I put in there? Motor oil, phil wood bearing grease?

I have sr shifters, would you recomend drilling them to match the drilled sr levers? Or would I ruin them.

Thanks for always answering my questions Spirito, you're the best.

PS-do you have a sr seatpost?
Ha...Spirito, I changed my mind about the Derosa...Question.....Spirito
May 25, 2002 5:10 PM
modern rims is no great shame in my opinion.

stuffing grease in to the holes has always been frustrating and to little effect other than a mess but i like their look. its best to service the whole hub properly if needed but a little heavy gear oil shouldn't be bad to loosen the "juice" in there although you will be cleaning it all the time as it oozes. if its fine ride it....if you are not sure its better to pull the hubs apart and replace with new bearings and grease so not as to damage the races. this is cheaper than replacing a hubset oif you ride it as worn and not properly lubed. if you can do it yourself you save a lot of money in the long run as well as get to show off a bit and add pride to your bike.

dont drill...you might save all of 3 grams if that but risk stuffing them up - keep it the way it came...

no seatpost sorry..they will be pricey if in good or new condition. i did sell some older Nuovo Record ones for crazy money. they are a pain to adjust at best and none will work as well as a new chorus Ti version or look as good IMO ...not authentic but perhaps a smarter option.

remember that its your bike and what you do with it is correct - a modern nice looking part that works better and is far cheaper than the super record equivalent is no great sin. whats important is that its ridden and enjoyed.

i do commend you for keeping it - im sure in time youll appreciate your decision as old bikes are harder to find and not getting cheaper .... whereas new bikes can be bought for 50% of their cost price a year after they were made and will continue to be so....enjoy



ciao, ben
well Spirito....tronracer
May 25, 2002 7:02 PM
I wasn't going to drill for the weight savings. Ha, that would just be plain silly. It might be equally silly that I was going to do it for aesthetic reasons. Just got drilled levers, so I think that the two drilled components would look really cool together.

Can you recommend any good resources for instructions on how to service the hubs? I imagine campy hubs are pretty easy though, should I just dive in w/out ever doing that before? How will I know what size bearings to get and what brand do you recommend...does campy make bearings that will work? Remember I'm a newbie.

ciao
-Marco
too badKenS
May 27, 2002 6:05 AM
I was hoping that you were going to sell it at a *good* price ;-)
re: What year is this bike?nelson
May 24, 2002 11:48 AM
This frame does appear to be a Falcon, made in England during the 70's before Eddy opened his factory.
While nearly all of their bikes were very cheap, they were some very nicely done Reynolds 531 frames with
Nuovo Record, Cinelli, Clement, etc. The catalog I have lists six men's models and two women's models
all in "Merckx Orange" which we all know as Molteni.
Nelson Frazier
Gita Sporting Goods, Ltd.
like this one....Spirito
May 24, 2002 9:47 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2104665700

a beauty it is too...lucky its to beig for me to consider..

ciao
Pretty bikeWalter
May 25, 2002 5:15 AM
Reminds me alot of the one I described below, though I can't recall if the one I saw was an Ernie Clements version or not. If it stays near the $412 that it's at now someone will get a sweet ride for a song.

That is still one of the prettier blues I've seen.
failed to meet reserve at $636......NmSpirito
May 25, 2002 5:12 PM
re: What year is this bike?Walter
May 24, 2002 3:26 PM
I remember seeing one of the 531 Falcon in a very pretty blue. This would have been around 1986 and it was an oldie then. I agree this ain't one of them.

Is that crank cottered? Can't be sure. (I am sure the problem is my monitor, not my eyes ;>). The bike screams "bike-boom" special to me. Maybe late '60s but my guess is mid-70s or so as that's sort of when I remember those brake "safety" levers becoming prevalent on nearly all but high end bikes.
a better pic of the merckxtronracer
May 25, 2002 2:02 PM
a better pic of the merckxWalter
May 25, 2002 4:57 PM
You know (well I guess you wouldn't) but that bike looks an awful lot like a bike I found NOS and put together for my father in law.

That bike was Belgian made and labelled "Del Romi." I found nothing on the internet about this maker and imagine they're gone. Same lugwork, same Simplex changers, same non-labelled steel crank. Is it a high-tensile steel frame? I'd wager it is. 27 inch hoops? Olmo tires (if the originals are still on the bike)? FWIW I paid $60 an amount that included shipping for the Del Romi and it was still boxed. I got rid of the steel crank and gave my fr in law, a complete non-rider, a bike he can get started on if he wants to.

I guessed mine as 1975 or so and the people at OldRoads agreed though none of them knew the brand either. Yours might be a little older as mine had a few features like QR hubs and brazed on rear brake guides yours doesn't. I don't think the bike valuable and it shows some age but if someone was doing a comprehensive Merckx collection this would be something they'd probably want.
i think your right walter.....cotter pins too, fat tires ...NmSpirito
May 25, 2002 5:14 PM