RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Retro - Classic Bikes


Archive Home >> Retro - Classic Bikes


Fellow grouchs, your opinions are crucial here...I have(8 posts)

Fellow grouchs, your opinions are crucial here...I haveDjudd
May 21, 2002 4:37 PM
purchased from First Flight Bikes a late 70's Schwinn World Voyaguer frame (chromed lugs, Molteni orange, long dropouts etc) What I want to do is turn it into a fixie, rainy day 42 (or 44 old school)x18-20 spinner. I want to put Superbe Pro on it for no other reason than I always had a soft spot for Superbe Pro. My questions are: what do you think of the frame (I'm no Schwinn expert and can't find anything on the web on this frame, there is a picture of the frame on the website www.firstflightbikes.com under "lightweight parts" then "frames and forks" it is frame "Lframe36") and does anyone have a source for Superbe Pro stuff.

any help and opinions are greatly appreciated
I'm sorry, here is the address to view the frameDjudd
May 21, 2002 4:48 PM
http://www.firstflightbikes.com/Lframe36.jpg I'm still learning (from my son) how to post a link.
superbe pro stuffmerckx56
May 21, 2002 5:11 PM
ebay is a good resource for superbe pro stuff. there's a 28 hole high flange track hub on there right now. it's $40 canadian, which is about the price of a stamp in american money!:) if you don't want to bolt on a hub, i've got a nos rear freewheel hub (qr) that i'll sell you. it's never been laced and the bearing are smooooooth! it has a (very little) bit of shop wear and the skewer is long gone, but it is still in great shape! $50 including shipping?
btw-the schwinn frame is very choice!
re :superbe pro stuffDjudd
May 21, 2002 5:24 PM
thanks for the hub offer, let me think about it. Let me tell you my friend that bike of yours is beautiful, the paint job, the decals. A few weeks ago you posted a picture and I loved it then -- a beautiful bike is a work of art
re: Fellow grouchs, your opinions are crucial here...I haveWalter
May 21, 2002 6:11 PM
Schwinn made and/or imported a number of frames to fill the void between the Panasonic made LeTours and the top of the line hand made Paramounts. Volare, SuperSport (cottered crank versions) are some of the examples. Your frame fits into this niche. High-quality just not hand brazed like the Paramounts. Schwinn.com might still have its collectors board up and OldRoads.com has a vintage lightweight board where several Schwinnophiles hang out. They can probably tell you the original MSRP and any other detail if you want to go over there and ask.

Real nice frame and will make a nice fixie.

SunTour Superbe Pro was as good as it got and I understand their track gruppo is still sought after by racers. Unfortunately, this bumps the price up though you're still running Campy Pista quality at a bargain price. That frame deserves a nice group.

My advice is to do a track specific rear hub. If you find a flip-flop you can have your cake and eat it.
sounds cool, looks niceSpirito
May 21, 2002 10:24 PM
but just a couple of things to think of

- that frame looks earlier than superbe pro era. no biggie but its always good to mate similar unless you plan to keep it for a while.

- where possible try not to overcapitalise a frame. a nice superbe kit isnt gonna be cheap and all those little things add up when you try to match the quality.

- as its a road frame i might steer clear of track specific components. by all means build it as a fixie but use road cranks and hubs as that way it gives you more options and perhaps a longer life in different forms. it can be done but needs a little planning. a respoke of a hub is cheaper than a whole specific wheel.

NOS superbe road hubs will be the hardest to find at reasonable coin (and yes it could be said that they may be finest of their type). the rest is readily there. standard phil wood bottom brackets with a campy taper (110.5) are a dead match for suntour cranks. i haven't seen a new set of cranks shorter than 172.5mm (@$100) for a little while so it might mean a bit of a search. i also know where to get complete brakesets new in box from $80 - $100 - short reach being cheaper than long reach (and yes with lovely gum colored hoods) but will keep tight lipped to others until you are all set. new superbe derailleur sets pop up on ebay and there are plenty of good used ones if you want them for a road version later on.

and you gotta trust me on this one - there are tons of suntour freewheels out there - its just that they aren't fetching big dollars yet so not many are digging their wharehouses and basements looking for them. once they start selling for above $50 regularly old stock will appear as it always does.

it sounds cool and i doubt youll have problems. ya just gotta ask and collectively we can all help out. my personal tip and preference is for the earlier suntour superbe pro that never had the words "pro". its slightly more ornate (some would say fussy) but is very cool gear. it all works great and is cheaper than campy of similar vintage. one day people will switch on more than now and youll have yourself a valuable little groupset and a nice orange ride too.

good luck. dont go overboard on ebay - set your price (by all means snipe) and take your time as stuff always pops up again. the best thing i can say is plan a budget and stick to it - costing each part and factoring in build, shipping costs from various sources and assembly as well.

ciao
Thank you ...all comments and opinions are...Djudd
May 21, 2002 10:59 PM
helpful and thoughtful.I am anxiously waiting for the frame and will keep you posted on the progress.
I bow courteously to the knowledge of my peers
thats cool.....Spirito
May 21, 2002 11:30 PM
looks like between you and maybe bianchi boys hankering for that tommasini we could have the first builds of these pages.

in my books then this forum is a success.

if you need help ask - we live for this stuff.