RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Retro - Classic Bikes


Archive Home >> Retro - Classic Bikes


Pinarello Track bike(12 posts)

Pinarello Track bikeDave Hickey
May 9, 2002 7:38 AM
This was just posted on Ebay. Nice bike. I'll bet it will go for a lot more the the $200 opening bid.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1827897986
sexy.colker
May 9, 2002 7:43 AM
i've never seen pinareello written on this lettering.
nice little bike.....Spirito
May 9, 2002 8:59 AM
i have a friend that has bought from the seller and he has had a good experience and gave him 2 thumbs thumbs up.

i actually like the worn decals

i also know of people that have made bikes such as these without derailleur hangers work with gears and clamp on shifters. if you look around you can still find well made claws or hangers and they are cheapish as well. they can be versatile bikes.

could go for a fair price.
PinarelloNessism
May 9, 2002 12:40 PM
Not to bash or anything but I always thought of Pinarello as a definite notch below the likes of Colnago and Derosa. Some years back, Chairman Bill (Torelli guy - can't remember his name, McGan?), did a story for Road Bike Action where he gave his opinion of many of the Italian builders. Bill has much experience with matters such as this as he sources his frames over there and has performed many a factory tour. One thing that stuck in my mind is that he seperated the builders as being Milan builders and Tuscany builders. The Tuscany guys (like Pinarello) were said the be more workmanlike compared to the Milanees builders who were more artistic in thier approach.

I don't know what this has to do with the price of tea in China but thought I would share.

Ed
tommasini is tuscan..colker
May 9, 2002 1:15 PM
what about that?
i had a talk at the pinarello dealer the other day with the shop owner. he is italian and has a past full of bikes. he separates builders as those who build in house and those who contract. on the first were pinarello and colnago, on the second were all the others. he said both, pinarello and colnago, have their production all sold while the others try to survive. talk is cheap and the guy wears pinarello on his heart. there's nothing like pinarello for him but colnago comes in close second.
he is selling a model called stelvio, lugged frames with replica painting of team telekom and banesto. finish is first rate.
And nice frames they areNessism
May 9, 2002 5:47 PM
I don't mean to disrespect Pinarello per say only that their frames used to follow standard build kit standard whereas Colnago and Derosa specified more propriatary tubing and lugs. The Milan/Tuscany comment was not mine...but of course I did share so for that I'm responsible.

Also, Pinarello has grown as a company over the last several years. They have had great sucess on the racing circuit and it shows in their retail product.

Ed
And nice frames they areCT1 Guy
May 12, 2002 11:06 AM
I've heard from somebody who's actually been to Pinarellos shop that he only has about 5-10 guys working there - much of the manufacture is contracted out. Most of the base-line frames from the Italian builders tend to come from other sources, including Taiwan and finished in Italy. If you want the true artisan, his name is Ugo DeRosa - not surprisingly, you can wait for 9 months for a frame.
i would love to have a neoprimato.colker
May 12, 2002 3:33 PM
are they tig or lugged frames?

funny, i was told the exact opposite of pinarello and colnago; they would have all their frames built in house and they would be the only ones doing it in italy.
it seems though that pegoretti built a lot of bikes for indurain, ulrich and olano.
oh well. as long as it looks good, rides well and fits me...
NeoprimatoNessism
May 13, 2002 7:02 PM
Saw a photo for the first time today and was very disappointed. No chrome and a unicrown fork? The Neoprimato is only a shell of the Primato of old. In fact, the Primato was top shelf among lugged framesets in my opinion: box crown fork, chrome lugs, winged bottom bracket shell, diamond shaped chainstays, ect. Right up there with a Colnago MasterLight.

And it's my understanding that Derosa is phasing out lugs entirely due to poor sales. Sad day indead.

Ed
italian lugscolker
May 14, 2002 7:12 AM
apart from colnago, who is stil doing it? i see lugged frames as bottom line on the cahinfood in traditional italian houses. moser still has a top of the line lugged, mondonico... who else?
here's a few ...bianchi boy
May 15, 2002 5:34 PM
Sadly, you are right. There are a few others though -- Tommasini, Gios. The Tommasini Techno is one of the most beautiful bikes I have seen. If I ever go to Italy, this is the one bike factory I would go out of my way to see.
re: Pinarello Track bikebianchi boy
May 15, 2002 5:36 PM
A bike shop where I live, in Raleigh NC, has a Pinarello track frame almost identical to this. Same color and the white decals are also cracking and peeling. It's a larger frame, though, I think.