RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Retro - Classic Bikes


Archive Home >> Retro - Classic Bikes


Opinions on San Marco Regal and Rolls saddles(10 posts)

Opinions on San Marco Regal and Rolls saddlesbianchi boy
Apr 26, 2002 4:33 PM
I've been considering buying either a Regal or Rolls saddle with the ti rails. Although I hear great things about these saddles, I keep wondering: If they're so good, why don't many shops or catalogs sell them? And why don't more cyclists ride them?

I don't think it's the weight issue because at 280-300 grams they are both about as light as many of the more popular Selle Italia and San Marco saddles. They also are sharp looking saddles, to me, and just look like they would be comfortable. Finally, sdeals has the Regal saddles for about $40 US, which is the cheapest price I've found. Has anyone ordered one of these saddles from sdeals and do you know if they are the ti version?
for Spirito ...bianchi boy
Apr 26, 2002 4:35 PM
I've seen your white Regals for sale, but I just don't want a white saddle. All the ones I've seen look dirty after a while and I prefer black anyway.
hehe...the best source for all your info is on...Spirito
Apr 26, 2002 8:40 PM
the branford bike site.

http://www.branfordbike.com/saddles/saddle1.html

remember that there is a difference between the rolls and the rolls due (the latter being narrower an slightly smaller).

i received a rolls due today and will be trying it out. im pretty lucky ass wise and can ride most saddles - i just like em to look pretty. im even going to experiment with an older regal and see what ways i can stain and paint them - yes im crazy but ive always wanted to try.

of the two you mentioned i would say toss a coin, they both look good and are comfortable for most people.

in answer to your question above - they sell themselves (repeat users and such) and most saddle sales are to pople trying 3 or 4 over a few months trying to find the right one.

best of luck.
re: Opinions on San Marco Regal and Rolls saddlescolker
Apr 26, 2002 4:43 PM
i'm riding a regal. old stock. very comfortable. san marcos are more padded than selle italias. while selle italia uses gel, san marcos have high density padding. the regal is the equivalent of the turbo: both saddles for riders who sit in one or two positions. flites and other flat models are made for riders who need to move, going to the nose, then the back . i prefer the regal.
why others don't use? don't know..that makes the regal and the rolls more desirable imo. the regal is beautifull.
sdeals model doesn't have ti rails.
that could explain the low price ...bianchi boy
Apr 26, 2002 5:04 PM
$40 isn't such a great price if the regal isn't the ti version. excelsports has the ti regal for about $65 and the rolls for $55. they're one of the few places that carry these saddles any more

thanks for the feedback on comfort. my selle italia (max flite gel and transam max) just don't have as much padding as I prefer, and the terry fly has too much. one of my local bike shops has a regal gerardia version in black with copper rivets and rails, and it is one of the nicest looking saddles i've ever seen, but he won't sell it. i'd rather have the ti version anyway, though
that could explain the low price ...flying
Apr 26, 2002 9:17 PM
This is a nice Regal in Black eh?

I rode a Rolls for over 10 years & love it.
But I think if you feel the Max Flite Gels & Transam Max's are not padded enough for you. The Rolls & the Regal is probably even less padded.
re: Opinions on San Marco Regal and Rolls saddlescurlybike
Apr 28, 2002 8:23 PM
I have had several Regals, 2 steel and 1 TI. The steel railed ones aways seemed more comfy for my sitter. I can't explain the diff.
re: Opinions on San Marco Regal and Rolls saddlesJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2002 5:45 AM
yep, i ordered the san marco regal ($40 shipped) from sdeals.com, and was pleased with the overall transaction. it replaced a specialized bg comp, and i'd also been using a san marco squadra on one of the other bikes. the saddle took just over 2 weeks to arrive--i expected it a bit sooner, but wasn't really in a rush. funny thing, i was sick with flu when it got here, so it was ~2 weeks on the bike before i could ride it. after around 500 miles, it's still feeling good.

though it's leather, it's on a synthetic-molded base, and i'm not so sure it breaks-in like a suspended saddle (brooks). over the first few miles (<30), it can be a little uncomfortable yet (for me), but after 50 it disappears. problem i had with the spec bg comp was that it worked ok for 30-40 miles, became uncomfy after that, and worsened between 80 and 100 miles. compared to the regal, the bg comp is like a big, cushy couch.

get the regal--at least to try it! the price can't be beat. i'm having the new bike built with the Ti version...it'll be here soon.
your new bike is a merckx, right?tarwheel
Apr 29, 2002 6:22 AM
See my other post below, as I just bought a used Merckx frame. What model is yours? I can't wait to get mine built up but I'm having to wait on a few parts.

So the Regal saddle sold by sdeals is the steel rail version? I'm not a weight weenie, but I'm inclined to order the ti version from excel for $25 more. I've been using a Selle Italia TransAm Max for 1-1/2 years with good results, but it's started bothering me for some reason over the past month or so. Got a small saddle sore from it last week and decided that was it, time for a new saddle. Currently I'm using a Lepper leather saddle that I bought used from someone on RBR. Wasn't sure what I thought about it at first, but it gets more comfortable each time I use it.
My opinion on Rollsvitusdude
Apr 29, 2002 6:51 AM
I have not ridden the Regal, but by all reports it is a wonderful saddle. I have been riding the Rolls Ti on my Vitus 992 for several years and thousands upon thousands of miles. A wonderful saddle. My guess as to why more people don't ride them is the weight: At 280 or so grams it is a bit heavy for our fanatically weight conscious world. I ride the San Marco Strada Ti, another classic, on my commuter bike. This is a somewhat more minimalist saddle than the Rolls and works better with the seatpost on that bike. Also a nice comfortable saddle.