RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


SHELBY CRIT CANCELLED =((12 posts)

SHELBY CRIT CANCELLED =(CARBON110
Jan 25, 2004 10:21 PM
That just sucks! It was one of the best crits around ( east coast )not to mention you get to warm up right next to the pros. Two years ago Eric Wohlburg went over the barriers and landed right next to me. I helped him up and with his bike while he regained his composure =)
re: SHELBY CRIT CANCELLED =(Woof the dog
Jan 26, 2004 5:47 AM
I hope you are not idolizing all these pro riders like you did that super duper crazy fast T-mobile woman that surely feels like a million bucks.

Woof
Woof put your paws up we are taking this out to the road! =PCARBON110
Jan 26, 2004 9:07 AM
Not sure what you have been privy to as far as cycling is concerned and its super stars but like the local SouthEastern or North Eastern series I end up racing against most of the same guys all the time. Pros who do nothing but travel the country to race, well they grew up with eachother and watched eachother cat up too. So there are many good friends especially since alot of them raced on the same team together at one point.

So, when you befriend them and inevitably go for rides with them, it is a hoot to listen to them talk about races or funny moments with cyclings best riders. It would be like being invited onto the field and playing catch with the Yankees or the Boston Red Sox. It is pretty damn cool. I must admit, when you are warming up next to team Rona or T-Mobile or Team Genisis, there is something appealing about looking at a female who can kick your ass on a bike 7 days a week. That on your best day and her worst, she can still beat you to the line =)

Shelby is or was a great fast course and had easy access to speak to the more approachable pros
So anyways, I was showering with the Rona team...Spunout
Jan 26, 2004 10:51 AM
Okay, just kidding. But I have done training races with them.
Woof put your paws up we are taking this out to the road! =PWoof the dog
Jan 27, 2004 2:09 PM
It is always nice when you are on the same page with someone in terms of cycling ability, but for me personally, I choose to befriend people based on their life views that are apart from cycling. There is only so much talk about racing that I can take... only so much, and a jerk will always be a jerk no matter how fast he is or whether you grew up with him two houses down and went to the same school, college or medical school.

That is why I think some people should move out of where I live... because they are just not nice. Period.

woof
Was it you that took down the sign " No Dogs Allowed"?CARBON110
Jan 27, 2004 2:19 PM
I hear ya there buddy. I myself can talk about racing and riding in beautiful places all day. Not quite sure I understand what your saying about Jerks but, there are far to many "not nice people" out there to put it politely...however everyone has their moments and I for one would shutter at some of the stuff that has found its way out of my mouth on occasion LOL!

On Your Left!!! rackn frackn #@$! #$%& Bleep Bleep Bleep

carbon110 <---- A stray dogs best friend
Woof put your paws up we are taking this out to the road! =PSadlebred
Jan 29, 2004 2:51 PM
If you want to train with Team Genesis, come out to the Tuesday night crit here in Atlanta any week during the summer. You will be SURE to get your butt kicked by them! :)
Woof put your paws up we are taking this out to the road! =PWoof the dog
Jan 29, 2004 10:05 PM
Ha! Yeah, sure, I want to train with THE TEAM! THE GENESIS!

Please! Why are you guys in some kind of awe at how fast they are? Jesus, get over it. They are just people, and probably failures, or at most mediocre salesmen. That is the reality, so stop lying to yourselves.

wooooof.
Someone take woofy to the Vet and get him Vaccinated!CARBON110
Jan 31, 2004 6:32 PM
Woof, not sure if you have fleas or not since your last post really seems, well stupid.

""""Please! Why are you guys in some kind of awe at how fast they are? Jesus, get over it. They are just people, and probably failures, or at most mediocre salesmen. That is the reality, so stop lying to yourselves.""""

ahhhh what the hell are you talking about here? My favorite part is- "" They are just people, and probably failures, or at most mediocre salesmen. That is the reality ""

No really Woofy, is that reality? Elaborate, puuhhlease!

No no I think I see the source of your anger. In an attempt to acquire more information about the human nature of dogs, you were kidnapped by space proctologists. How ever your brief sojurn is more like a rejection and your reminded of them everytime you look to the heavens =)

hahah hahahohoho hoho hho hehe eh hehehe whooooooooo

carbon110 <--- A stray dogs best friend
Someone take woofy to the Vet and get him Vaccinated!Woof the dog
Feb 1, 2004 11:27 PM
hehe,

all I am saying is that I find nothing special about being a domestic pro or high cat cyclist, and I fail to see how you could possibly care about treating them differently from any other person on the road or in a local supermarket or before a training crit. Why do you care so much? Why do you want to talk to them? Whats the big deal? Who cares how fast people are? Who cares if they got good results at nationals, worlds, whatever? Answer these for me.

There, I elaborated.

Woof the god... err, i mean dog.

p.s. I will vaccinate YOU!
ARRROoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!CARBON110
Feb 2, 2004 6:46 AM
Woofy you ARE a good sport! =)

Nah buddy, it isn't about treating them differently, it's merely about talking to someone who has accomplished something you would like to achieve. Finding out how they approached it or what you can learn from them. It's about exploring and interviewing others to save your self time and unnecessary hardships. It isn't about social status or giving someone a "free hand"" based on thier endeavors. In order for these relationships to be developed there must be an exchange of trust beforehand anyway. So there for it IS based on who they are in your sense of riding with people or exchanging conversation with people based on who they are not what they are

However that being said, I will be more inclined to speak to someone who has demonstrated charechteristics that are in line with social conscienciousness. Would'nt you say the same? So if I have read interviews or backrounds in my cycling mags about riders who are in fact normal and generous people I am certainly interested to see if that rings true in life. But you can't like people in slices amigo, and everyone has days they would like to forget =)

Thanks for elaborating my dingo amigo

carbon110 <---- a stray dogs best friend
:-OWoof the dog
Feb 2, 2004 1:32 PM
would you like to be a pro one day?
whats wrong with you?

woof, a silly human's worst nightmare

P.s. hehehe