RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Help--Supplements/Drinks(16 posts)

Help--Supplements/DrinksVoodoo
Jan 14, 2004 9:46 AM
Coming back after early Dec knee surgery and trying to get serious again for the 2004 season. I'm pretty set for training but am wondering what anyone's using for diet/energy supplements and recovery (legal of course). I've been a Cytomax pre and during ride guy but have been junk about recovery food/drinks. My only supplement is a multi vitamin (Centrum performance).

I'm a Cat 4 master coming off 2 mediocre seasons (part injury, part new son (the son is a good thing)). I am trying to back some form and am looking for any suggestions on what's worked for some of you. I'm 5' 10", about 150 currently and 145 in season. Kind of a delicate stomach, especially on race day.

Any suggestions/ideas welcome.
You mean something you can't get from food?Kerry Irons
Jan 14, 2004 9:16 PM
No such thing in legal supplements. They're just an alternative to food. Maybe more convenient and definitely more expensive. Nothing special in the ingredients that gives them an advantage over food.
You mean something you can't get from food?Woof the dog
Jan 14, 2004 11:32 PM
I wish I had money to buy all this wonderful stuff that comes in a can. All I'd eat is frozen dinners and shakes. So tired of cooking.

Fukking shoot me now please

woof.
You mean something you can't get from food?Voodoo
Jan 15, 2004 1:55 PM
Something in addition to food. I'm wondering what you drink on the ride/race, what you drink/eat after, any legal/cool diet supplements that serve a special purpose. For example, I have a friend who swears by royal jelly pre-ride. Another girl I know likes blue algae as an overall energy booster. I'm looking for some stuff that maybe I haven't thought of but might give me a boost in general and on race day, excluding EPO and hormones :-)
Energy boostersPing_Pong
Jan 16, 2004 4:56 AM
It sounds like you are looking for a novelty. Why not wear a mystical energy pendant.

If you have more time on your hands why not get religion, the documentation is far more inspiring than anything you will read on a creatine advert.

Failing that you could worship the holy trinity of pasta,tuna and training.
Energy boostersVoodoo
Jan 17, 2004 11:05 AM
As Mondo and CritLover were kind enough to point out, there are some other ideas in the way of energy/nutrition.

Ding_Dong, as for your response, kiss my a$$ you slow, weak wannabe.
Energy boostersPing_Pong
Jan 19, 2004 4:20 AM
Hey Doodoo - you found some aggression there, maybe use that next time you get spat out the back !
You mean something you can't get from food?collegiateryder
Jan 18, 2004 9:32 PM
whey protein shakes do wonders for soreness. endurox is great too.caffeine tabs shud give u a boost pre-ride but be warned that given the right conditions it could cause heart problems. anything that affects heart rate could damage you permanently because cycling involves so much output from the heart.

i personally use endurox post-ride and drink a protein shake on a daily basis. i also use gnc vitamins and on occaision i use powergel by powerbar but thats only when i really feel hungry during a ride.
Espresso pre; Omelettes and beer post ride. No probs, nm.Spunout
Jan 19, 2004 5:28 AM
re: Help--Supplements/Drinksmondo
Jan 16, 2004 4:01 PM
First, Centrum is crap! You need a good vitamins. The best
out there is Universal Animal Paks. It has been the number 1 rated vitamin for 25 years now. Also, Green Tea gives
you energy and will help burn unwanted fat. Garlic will keep
your blood sugar levels normal and help fight cholestrol.

Optygen will lower your heart rate while doing hard efforts
and lower the latic acid in your body.

Mondo Team GNC
re: Help--Supplements/Drinksmondo
Jan 16, 2004 4:21 PM
There are many, amny more things out there that will help
your speed and recovery. You can get them at any vitamin
store. You just have to your homework to know what too take
and what works for cyclist.
re: Help--Supplements/DrinksCritLover
Jan 16, 2004 8:21 PM
I have heard a lot of good things about e-caps from two friends of mine. I'm not sure of the exact products, but one was for extending endurance (my friend also has a delicate stomach).

Me, I've tried tons of drinks and bars (my team pays for them-sweet!), but couldn't really say one is significantly better than another. It's mostly taste that I find important. If it tastes good, I drink more, stay more hydrated/fueled. I'm using Accelerade(during) and Endurox(after hard workouts/races) right now and really enjoy them over some others I've used(Revenge,Ultima,Cytomax,Gatorade powder). I also use Myoplex protein shakes after strength/power workouts. I think it's delicious, others find it too thick but obviously it can be watered down.

I'm not sure if this is what you are looking for. Hope it helps.
Testimonials, but no scienceKerry Irons
Jan 18, 2004 8:11 PM
There's precious little quality research to support any of this stuff, but if your friends say they like it, then by all means . . . (sarcasm off).
uh, he didn't ask for scienceCritLover
Jan 18, 2004 10:05 PM
he asked for opinions or suggetions. And that's what I gave him. Even if there was scientific data, I'd be skeptical. It's way too easy to play with numbers... I've seen it done at school and I don't give much weight to statistics.

Just another opinion :)
re: Help--Supplements/DrinksVoodoo
Jan 19, 2004 6:24 AM
Thanks everyone for the suggestions. I'm not trying to bypass the work, just seeing if there some alt's to the normal stuff you always hear about.

As a result, I might try a different multi to start and definitely add Endurox for post rides (in addition to beer, of course). Who knows, maybe I'll try a mystical energy pendant too.
I always used beer -bimini
Jan 22, 2004 6:47 AM
But, I'm trying to loose 10 pounds so I don't get my behind kicked in the hills so have given up beer.

I know several of the folks I race with swear by Endurox, I may be giving this a try myself after interval sessions and races. And not do anything special after easy sessions.