RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Flame away people(14 posts)

Flame away peopleRockyMountainRacer
Jul 23, 2003 12:32 PM
Shirt, you're in the Bay Area, would you please hunt this bastard down and rid the gene pool of his influence? His editor was also foolish enough to include the author's e-mail address, so somebody please be sure to flame out their server.

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/gate/archive/2003/07/22/fool227.DTL
In a way, he's right.jesse1
Jul 24, 2003 2:31 AM
He just doesn't know it, as his attempt to be like Andy Rooney is dismal at best.
I had seen this article yesterday, and after thinking about it, how can you compare the highest event in cycling (the TDF) with the same in regards to let's say baseball (the World Series). What the typical TDF participant does in a single day, is so much harder than what the hardest working member of a baseball team, the pitcher would be able to do. How many calories does the pitcher expend in a game? Maybe 10% of a rider in a single stage?
Sure the pitcher needs some talent to get the ball where it needs to go, but that can be compared to the talent needed to handle a bike on a narrow down hill at 55-60 mph.
And guts! What does the pitcher do that can compare with being involved with that run-a-way frieght train called the "pack" in a sprint to the finish line?
Yeah, maybe there should be another term in reference to cycling - like "the god event above all sports"!
But, someone like that writer would never be able to remeber it anyway.
I e-mailed the dude. I said:bill
Jul 24, 2003 6:02 AM
You know, you're right. Cycling is not a sport the way that, say, baseball is. It's much harder.
I can't tell how far your tongue is in your cheek, or wherever you're keeping it these days, but the comparison between professional cycling and your cycling recreation, hell, the comparison between my cycling recreation and your cycling recreation, is about as far apart as professional baseball is to the beer-infused company picnic pick-up game, the one where everyone is snickering at the way the boss waddles to first. The idea that in a couple of years you and a cool bike could be a decent cyclist at the international level is, um, wrong. And I'll tell you how I know this. I'm not a lame athlete -- I'm not great, but I'm passable fair -- and I've had a couple of years and a number of cool bikes, and I'm still very much a novice piker biker. In local novice races, too, not on any grand scale. Although I'll still kick your a**.
But I'll never convince you of this. If you were interested in the surprising variety and difficulty of techniques and strategies and particular physical abilities cycling uses, I'd tell you, but, you know, why? So, be glad you write for a living. A lot of your readers I'm sure agree with you, and who am I to say that you don't deserve each other?
Have a good day.
Bill Cusmano
Arlington, Virginia
Pretty good response!jesse1
Jul 24, 2003 3:06 PM
I doubt you'll get a reply, but if you do, please let us know.
And if he accepts your challenge - can I be your agent? I'm sure we could get it on OLN!
why do you even bother?Qubeley
Jul 24, 2003 6:30 AM
The guy's name is "betting fool", he's paid to just talk cr@p. Arguing with him is no different from feeding a troll.
Yeah, he's an aS$hoLe, too bad this specie can not be eliminated by nature or human intervention..
Oh, you're certainly right, although he did respond to my e-mailbill
Jul 24, 2003 1:34 PM
He said, you don't know me how do you know that you'd kick my ass. I said, on the bike, I know. Off the bike, it would depend on how many of his friends would he think necessary to beat up a cyclist.
All in good fun.
Oh, you're certainly right, although he did respond to my e-mailPinarelloparis
Jul 25, 2003 9:09 AM
well, we all know your better than him. don't let youself fall to his level. ride on!
re: Flame away peoplecaniaitalia
Jul 24, 2003 8:45 AM
Well, I read his column and I strongly disagree. Given the image to ordinary people not blessed with the open-mindedness that you (hopefully)have to have to ride, of cycling, we do look like a bunch of elitist, liberal, dorky snobs. You know what? I may be elitist, I am a democrat, and hell, I am a dork. But at least don't go trashing things I don't know about. The things he commented on in his "article" were mostly off-base and inaccurate. The typical American (I am one) generally is too narrow-minded to understand that cycling is a sport. I suppose if it doesn't involve huge paychecks, badass, tatooed jerkoffs fighting or stomping the hell out of their opponents, then it's not a sport? Golf? well, I like golf but it's a GAME. geez. oh, and I won't even bother writing to this guy either because he obviously doesn't have the intellect to understand much beyond "F@ck you".

btw, anyone noticed the extremely GOOD sportsmanship that's been displayed recently by some riders in the Tour? Not likely you're gonna see that in football anytime soon.

I'd still like to give him a swift kick in the balls though.:)
Yeah...RockyMountainRacer
Jul 24, 2003 9:05 AM
I know it's almost tiring to read this crap, but I figured I'd post it just to let the community in on things like this.

Clearly, nobody is going to change this guy's opinion. I doubt he's smart enough to even comprehend a point-by-point contradiction to what he wrote. The main thing I wanted people to notice is how ignorant the statements he makes are. He obviously doesn't know a thing about the sport except that he doesn't like it for whatever reason (probably 'cause we wear spandex), but his editor still allows him to rant about it.

I suppose that we're all entitled to our own opinions, but my opinion still happens to be that I would like to do the author some physical violence.
The spandex argument?niteschaos
Jul 24, 2003 10:12 PM
Don't football players where spandex and don't baseball players where pants tighter than they should? No body made fun of me when I ran track, and my shorts barely covered my ass! Why? cause track is cool! LOL!
The spandex argument?caniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 6:39 AM
actually no, track sucks (j.k.) but ur right. its just that those guys all weigh more than they should and play into the macho image that american society says men should have.

maybe cos baseball players spit a lot? idk haha
Don't Flame away peopleryder1
Jul 25, 2003 3:35 AM
They want you to write back. The more e-mail this guy gets, the better he looks to his boss. The boss does'nt care if it's negative e-mail - it's great to him that someone is actually reading their crappy little Bay area rag and he must just be "controversial".
I tried to get worked up, but I just couldn't.shirt
Jul 26, 2003 10:29 AM
The guy was SO far off base, my anger dissolved into indifference about halfway through the article. If you follow his logic, any purely athletic racing event isn't a sport (Track & Field, Swimming, X-C Skiing, Speed Skating, etc.) The stick and ball set may not get our sports, but do you really care about convincing them of anything? Weren't these the guys we despised in high school, anyway?

Basically, we've already won the war. What is on the front page of today's online NY Times? MSNBC? The TOUR baby. A foreign sport in a foreign land has landed front and center in the U.S. consciousness. I have friends and colleagues who've never stepped into a clipless pedal in their lives asking me if I think Ulrich can take a full minute out of Lance in the final TT. People know who Tyler is.

Think about that for a minute!

Regarding the sad little beer belly in SF: forget him.

/shirt
By this guy's logic...russw19
Jul 28, 2003 7:42 PM
In 4 years time, if I go out and buy a mitt and a ball, I will be Barry Bonds.... if I get a football and throw it around some, I will be Brett Farve, if I just run around the block a few times with it, I will be Barry Sanders. If I drive my car enough and only turn left, I can be Mario Andretti... It I go to the driving range and buy some really nice clubs, I am the next Tiger Woods, and if I just stand around in the paint, I can be Shaq (god knows I don't have to shoot freethrows to practice to be him...)if I take enough slap shots in my backyard, I can be Al McInnis. And if I write enough stupid posts on message boards, Hell, I could be him! Imagine that!

It's what the elite athlete does so well that makes it look like you and I could actually do it too.. that's why they are the greatest of the great. I would juggle a soccer ball for 2 hours a day, but I never could be as good as Pele was, or Johan Cryuff, or Beckenbauer... but the thing is that because they are all so insanely good at what they do, it looks easy, and that plays right into the fantasy that many people have that leads them to believe they could be pro sports stars too.

Keep making it look easy Lance, some other kid is going to actually work his butt off to become the next star of cycling.. and this guy will never have a clue just how hard that kid really worked or how naturally talented that kid would have to be.

Russ