RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Help in SoCal(8 posts)

Help in SoCalOMB
Jun 22, 2003 8:10 AM
Is road racing in SoCal much faster then in other locals or is it just me? Some background. I am 39 and have been riding for 3 years and average about 140 miles a week. My routine is as follows: Tuesday - 75 minutes before work with several hard rolling hills each lasting about 6 to 10 minutes about 90-94% of my max hr; Wednesday - 75 minutes recovery ride; Thursday - 2 1/2 hours with hard hill efforts; Saturday - 2 1/2 to 3 hours usually in a fast group ride; Sunday - Recovery ride. Due to family obligations, more riding time is not really feasible.

I am not a total hack as I did a 109 mile ride/race last year in 4:49 but I can't seem to hold on in real races. I just finished my third road race this year and I can't stay with the Cat 4/Cat 5 for the entire race. I do just fine for 2/3rds of the race but I loose the pack in the during the last surge/attack that typically happens with several miles to go in the race.

I will be doing a few Crits in the next month or so. Any training advice would be appreciated.
re: Help in SoCalTime Trial dot org
Jun 22, 2003 8:16 AM
its tough here, very competitive. did you just race the Omnium? I did the TT and was not too impressed with my time that day, the wind really played tricks on my mind.

http://www.timetrial.org
re: Help in SoCalOMB
Jun 22, 2003 8:55 AM
It was Omnium RR. Everything was going good until the final rollers/hills hit. For the previous rollers/hills, I had no problems and was in the front 1/3 of the pack but when the final rollers/hills hit, my legs just couldn't put any more power down and the pack went right through me. I then reattached but I didn't have enough left to stay in.

My other races were Boulevard and Temecula.
re: Help in SoCalTime Trial dot org
Jun 22, 2003 11:02 AM
I did the 4/5 Temecula, avoided the two crashes, the pace was pretty slow though until the final sprint.
WelcomeNo_sprint
Jun 23, 2003 8:02 AM
to racin' in SoCal. It is indeed one of the tougher places to race. Big fields, lots of really strong riders.
re: Help in SoCalMatt Britter
Jun 23, 2003 10:31 AM
It does not sound like you really have a power issue, but more of an endurance problem. Could be a lack of eating/drinking during the race? Not recovered going to the last surge?

Sounds like you are getting in some hard rides, but what you are doing may need to be changed to over come your late race fitness. Are you doing hill sprints? How about tempo hill rides over geared?

I just started more hilly over geared training, to help my poor climbing on long hills. I have found that non-group rides will allow me to work on training better than the just go hammer into fitness that some group rides turn in too. YMMV
-mb
Training helpNo_sprint
Jun 23, 2003 2:06 PM
Basically, in my opinion, you're training too hard (I've been there too). My coach is USCF Elite and CTS trained. He has told me that anything over 50 to 60 minutes used for recovery is counter productive for two different reasons. So, firstly, I'd shorten up your recovery ride to 50 to 60 mins under 125 HR or so. It's fine to do it on the trainer. Second, you've got a lot of *hard* in there. Second, I'd lighten up the hard efforts. For one climbing day I'd recommend a long sustained tempo climb don't raise your HR above 170 and keep your cadence around 70. Goal is to achieve a quick powerful climbing tempo. Next, if you race every week (for the most part) like me, Sat. is basically a 50 min. recovery ride. Next, I only have one 90 to 95% effort day per week in my routine, if that, other than racing. Most of the rest of your training should be muscle endurance training since it sounds like that's your problem. 1.5 to 2.5 hours under around 155 or so. Long sustained smooth efforts.

Racing is conserving energy, not spending it. Learn to relax out there, find your comfort zone. The more you spend, the quicker your pocket empties.

There you go, my opinions, to begin with. There are many different training methods, as someone posted above. YMMV Good luck.
Each Region has its strengths and weaknesses.Canidraftyou
Jun 23, 2003 6:35 PM
Southern Calif. is a hard place to race for several reasons. Numbers! More riders mean more competition. Every weekend someone is going to be at their peak. Training there is year around because of the wealther, you gotta pick a time frame you want to shine.

Other than your recovery ride on Sunday, your doing about 8 hours and ave. around 17.5 mph, if your logging 140/150 miles. Like another post talked on, your going too hard for the amount of hours your putting in. I dont know your weakness and strengths. So I can say where to start.

Start training more smart, and not in a hurry. If 8 hours is all you got, then split it up. I would rather see you put in more hours, but you gotta work with what you can put in.

Peace out