RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Racing Frameset Inquiry(13 posts)

Racing Frameset InquiryFranchise
May 31, 2003 7:00 PM
Everyone,

I just applied for my racing license. I have just joined a team as well. Now, I have a very high end road bike, but I want to build up a racer that won't upset me too much if I crash. A good friend of mine once said,"It's not if you're gonna crash...It's when you're gonna crash." That being said, I am in need of a few recommendations for a racing frameset. The team's sponsor carries Giant, Serotta, Trek, and Cannondale. I get a decent discount, but I really would like to save some $$ for incidental expenses like repairs. I would appreciate any recommendations made. Thanks in advance.
C'Dale...biknben
Jun 1, 2003 7:50 AM
I'd recommend getting yourself a C'Dale CADD5. They are great racing frames. These frames handle well for racing, are nice and stiff, and have a high BB which helps when cornering hard.

The CADD5s are a few years old now and they relatively inexpensive, almost cheap. If you're getting discounts you might be able to pick one up for $300-$400.
C'Dale...Franchise
Jun 1, 2003 10:57 AM
Thanks. I'll check it out. I'm being fitted later in the week, so we'll see if the C'dale will fit. Do you think the Canny ride is too harsh?
Giant TCRMcAndrus
Jun 1, 2003 9:45 AM
A Giant TCR is a good value in a racing framset. There are four models: TCRs 2, 1, 0, and Team but I believe the frames are identical. Giant distinguishes among them by the groupset attached on a complete bike.
Giant TCRFranchise
Jun 1, 2003 10:58 AM
Thanks. I've already got a Campy 10spd group collecting dust in my garage, so I'm just looking for a frameset. Do you think the AL version of CF version of the TCR frameset would be better?
AluminumMcAndrus
Jun 2, 2003 8:42 AM
I'm not sure of the pricing of the carbon version but I am sure that the aluminum one is a better value. I hear rave review on the carbon TCR but the price-spread between the carbon and the aluminum is substantial.
anything apart from the Serottaweiwentg
Jun 1, 2003 9:57 AM
Giant, Trek, and Canny make good bikes. I think Giant offers the best value for money, personally, but you will do perfectly well on any of those. you could get a TCR2 and put some faster wheels on it.
of course, there is nothing to stop you from buying a Serotta. if you ride smart, you can avoid crashing (otoh, learning to ride smart in a racing situation probably will involve some crashing).
anything apart from the SerottaFranchise
Jun 1, 2003 11:00 AM
That's actually a great point. The Serotta Fierte Steel version with fork will be approximately $750 with my discount. I've been thinking about that frameset, but I'm kind of worried about its stiffness. Has anyone heard any comments/reviews on this frameset?
Get the Trek cuz of the warranty. nmshirt
Jun 1, 2003 3:09 PM
As long as you are going to be smartMR_GRUMPY
Jun 1, 2003 5:59 PM
and not get a high zoot bike that you are going to stuff quite a few times, I would recomend the Trek 2300 frame. More than good enough to race on, but not good enough to want to kill yourself when you crash it. Our women's team got them last year, and didn't have any complaints against them.
As long as you are going to be smartFranchise
Jun 1, 2003 6:19 PM
I'll look into it. Could you give me the ballpark retail price on the 2300 frameset? Thanks again!
As long as you are going to be smartMR_GRUMPY
Jun 2, 2003 5:07 AM
Sorry, I wasn't involved in the deal with the women's team. Ask your shop.
re: tcr 1 or teamTime Trial dot org
Jun 3, 2003 5:30 AM
go for the Giant TCR 1 and, if you can afford it, go for the Team model.