RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Sprint Nick gets a result !!!(48 posts)

Sprint Nick gets a result !!!climbo
May 1, 2003 12:02 PM
Oceania Track Titles in Sydney
Event 20: Men Flying 200m Final

Avs.

1 Mark French (Vic) 10.515 (68.47)
2 Ryan Bayley (WA) 10.541 (68.30)
3 Ben Kersten (NSW) 10.842 (66.41)
4 Shaun Hopkins (NSW) 10.867 (66.26)
5 Greg McFarlane (ITA) 10.887 (66.13)
6 Wade Cosgrove (Qld) 10.893 (66.10)
7 Anthanasios Mantzouranis (Gre) 10.971 (65.63)
8 Lazaros Skoumpas (Gre) 10.974 (65.61)
9 Jason Niblett (Vic) 10.991 (65.51)
10 Lampros Vasilopoulos (Gre) 11.089 (64.93)
11 Damien Keirl (Vic) 11.158 (64.53)
12 Wade Bootes (Qld) 11.187 (64.36)
13 Jono Hamlin (NZl) 11.190 (64.34)
14 Daniel Vogels (WA) 11.395 (63.19)
15 Sean Dwight (NSW) 11.431 (62.99)
16 Daniel Beatson (NZl) 11.482 (62.71)
17 Carlo Barendilla (WA) 11.509 (62.56)
18 Gavin White (SA) 11.777 (61.14)
19 Daniel Rynne (Qld) 12.015 (59.93)
20 Paul Dimitri (NC) 12.265 (58.70)
21 Nick Corcoran (Can) 12.315 (58.47)
re: Sprint Nick gets a result !!!Rich_Racer
May 1, 2003 12:22 PM
Well he does appear to be the highest placed Canadian! But since when was Canada in Oceania?!
We all know he's achieved a lot.........................nmchopper
May 1, 2003 12:29 PM
just a reminder...DougSloan
May 1, 2003 12:33 PM
"RoadbikeREVIEW.com Message Board Posting Guidelines"

Our mission is to help cycling enthusiasts and foster a healthy community. The message boards are the core of our community. As a result, we would appreciate it if people read and abide by these guidelines.

The RoadbikeREVIEW staff monitors the message boards, removing inappropriate content. The purpose of these guidelines is to explain what kind of messages are "inappropriate," and therefore will be deleted. We are explaining these guidelines beforehand, so if a message is removed everyone will understand why it was removed. In general, we err on the side of leaving messages up. The entire site is premised on sharing product information, so as one might imagine we are strong proponents of free speech. That being said, here are some specific reasons why we remove certain messages:

The message insults or degrades another member of the community.
The message contains profanity, offensive language, or racial epithets.
The message is an advertisement or spam.
The message contains obscene or pornographic images/photos/text/videos.
The message promotes illegal activity (at our discretion).
In addition to #3 above, please do not post Classified Ads/Want Ads/Trade Ads in the message board forum. Please post these in our Classifieds Section.

****

Unfortunately we must reserve the right to remove messages. However, we truly love this community, so we will only remove any given message if we judge that it's in the best interest of the community. Please feel free to ask questions or direct comments to us.

Doug
Insulting?Niemand
May 2, 2003 4:19 AM
All the original post said was that Sprint-Nick got a result. He did..20th. Hard to see how this could be construed as insulting or degrading. Any insult inferred is more likely to be as a result of the preconceptions of those reading.

Also Doug, could you set up another screen name, say, Moderator, for those occasions when you do step in and moderate? It would help to keep things clear, especially if someone is unaware of your position of responsibility.
maybeDougSloan
May 2, 2003 6:35 AM
I think we all know the intent of the post, and it would be unfortunate if it got out of hand; I didn't delete or edit it, so I was simply hoping to avoid what has partially come to pass, that is, a feeding frenzy upon a fellow member's persona.

The alternate screen name log-in is just too cumbersome. When I'm "officially" posting, it's usually pretty clear. I can state "Moderator" in the topic, which I have frequently done.

Doug
**WARNING -- Spoiler contained in initial post** nmRJF
May 1, 2003 12:36 PM
can't believe I missed that, sorry nmDougSloan
May 1, 2003 12:51 PM
Sorry to bust your balls. ;) nmRJF
May 1, 2003 1:11 PM
I don't think you can say balls on the board anymoreKristin
May 1, 2003 1:33 PM
Now where is that moderator when you need him?
I sure he meant "bearings" nmDougSloan
May 1, 2003 1:43 PM
Hey doug!the bull
May 1, 2003 4:36 PM
Maybe they should make kristen the vice moderator shes got a real knack for censorship!
Its almost scary!
You just did.... ;-) nmrussw19
May 1, 2003 9:31 PM
Please post (Spoiler) in subject line, this might be on CBC.nmchopper
May 1, 2003 12:38 PM
Can't believe Anthanasios Mantzouranis the Greek beat Nick nmafrican
May 1, 2003 12:49 PM
Last place huh? Oh well, better luck next time! nmNo_sprint
May 1, 2003 12:52 PM
Better last of the best than best of the local rubes. .. nmMR_GRUMPY
May 1, 2003 12:59 PM
Indeed....No_sprint
May 1, 2003 1:21 PM
The locals around here are the likes of Tony Cruz, Thurlow Rogers, Butch Stinton, etc.
Since people like to compare results.MR_GRUMPY
May 1, 2003 6:31 PM
Nick's time in the flying 200 this April would have got him 20th place at Senior Nationals last year. Not world class, but wasn't he a junior last year?
Why dont you post some of your results!the bull
May 1, 2003 1:32 PM
Oh thats right-NO_sprint I get it might as well be"I give up!"
I cant belive the nerve of some people to poke at someone for doing something!I give Nick a pat on the back and a thumbs up! GOOD JOB!
Too many to post. nm.No_sprint
May 1, 2003 2:04 PM
He's racing in Sydney, what about YOU?tz
May 1, 2003 1:43 PM
Best place on the planet, SoCal. nm.No_sprint
May 1, 2003 2:03 PM
Home of the artifical cool!nmthe bull
May 1, 2003 5:23 PM
Please do not come visit, ever. nmNo_sprint
May 2, 2003 6:43 AM
Sorry,I was wrong!!!!!!There is intellegent life in SoCal!the bull
May 3, 2003 2:17 AM
YA ever been to Sea World!Its amazing the tricks those mammals can do.Say Hi to Shammoo!
get a life...YoungRcR
May 1, 2003 4:06 PM
Its pretty pathetic that you probably went and looked for results then scoured looking for his name. Get a life and go ride or race your own freakin bike, then come tell us some of your success stories.

Just so you know and dont get on my case, my most recent race was athens, got 2nd in the cat. 3 qualifier and 4th in the big finals race. So get on your bike and leave nick alone, he's prolly faster than you anyway, not like that matters at all.
get a life...climbo
May 1, 2003 5:15 PM
well actually no. I am Australian and these races happen to be on in my backyard and so I was checking the results from the whole weekend and I happened to see his name. I'm not that in love with Nick that I have to "scour" the internet looking for his results. So get your own life. Dude, if Nick can't handle a gentle ribbing after posting on here every 2 minutes about himself then bad luck. And can you please tell me how great you are also and what results you got again?
Why do you need to get off by posting race results that are notthe bull
May 1, 2003 5:34 PM
yours!I Know I do some jakazz stuff to make some peoples fur here stand up but I would never stoop that low!
Its like the guy who came up to me after a race with a over 50 people in it and asked me how I did.I told him I got 11th
and he said,"hey at least ya finished!"
This guy did not even race and he works in a bike shop selling people the stuff he thinks works best!
He is a poser!
Were there othe people after nick and then you only posted up to him to make him look last because if you did that then you are really sick!

TELL IT LIKE IT IS!!!!!!
People who don't race, just don't understand.MR_GRUMPY
May 1, 2003 6:08 PM
It's pretty funny to see the look on peoples faces when you tell them that you came in 12th or 14th or whatever. They have such a mindset that they think that if you can't win, why are you racing? Nick may be kind of a pain in the rear, but I wonder how many people here, have been sponsored to travel halfway around the world to compete. Not me......Ha. I'd be happy to get travel expenses to Madison.
hey bullclimbo
May 1, 2003 6:40 PM
lighten up a little will ya?

FYI - it's posted on cyclingnews.com, go read it for yourself. I copied in the whole thing.
So, OK, I told it like it is. It's not the end of the world and I'm sure Nick would agree with me.

What do you want to know? Have I come last at anything, sure, have I won anything, yes. Do I act like a cry baby when someone has a little fun with me about it, NO!!
hey look bull placed!the bull
May 1, 2003 6:49 PM
Saturday, 03/08/03Cat. 4 ResultsNameTeamNumPlcFromSpring Training Series 2003Greenville SC8371EliteWinterville, NCLucas Livermon4882John Lake8363Ben Ellenburger4864John Teal8225Boneshakers Cycling TeamAskew Mitchell8166Darroch Whitaker8207Spin Cycle RacingRaleigh, NCDaryl Tulimieri8388Peter Joski8359Cycle CenterColombia, SCJim Brodine49010Zac Lake41611Reality BikesDacula, GABrad Bowman81512Southeast veloDan Askren41813Easton-Clif BarLexington, NCTom Esposito83414Jason Crosby40115William Kish82116Eric May42317ClifbarAtlanta, GAChris Chotas43218Craig Martin47519Sycamore CyclesBlake Sagar40820Cycle Works AtlantaAtlanta, GABryan Holloway81821Marietta, GAWesley Garland44622Easton Cliff BarJerry Steele84423Charles Rossignol80224Sebastion White83125Chance Regina83226John Fillyaw83027Terry Mathison82628Curtis Johnson82329Gabe Salinas82930Brad Harper81931Bicycle OutfittersConyers, GABrian Lord82832HcbaRalph Mackenzie47433CSHThomas GabelePrinted:1Monday, 03/17/03 01:30 PM
The feild was more than 50 I think!the bull
May 1, 2003 6:59 PM
So why am I last.Well I was pulling pretty hard in the last laps.I was tired but there was a wreck in the middle of the sprint.I finshed tired greasy and bloody - but I had a good race because I did not go down.A red Crackandfail bounced up and hit me in the arm.The chain ring went into my elbow.Even though I came to a complete stop I was able to get accross the finish line soon after the feild went through.

"BUT AT LEAST I FINISHED!"
get a life...The Human G-Nome
May 1, 2003 5:49 PM
anyone on here defending the ribbing nick got is either completely ignorant, completely clueless or just plain dense. if you knew the entire history, you'd either stay out of it completely or else join in the fun. trust me, i know. i defended him on this board once before i realized the error of my ways. i'm big enough to admit that i made a mistake. i'm not saying Nick's a bad guy, only that he more then asks for any thing he gets on these boards.

carry on.
EXACTLY!!!!No_sprint
May 2, 2003 6:42 AM
I should have put a happy face or something in that silly rib posting that a couple of f$#ks here got their panties all wound up about.
Could be worse: He could be getting drunk in Cancun with...Bruno S
May 1, 2003 5:10 PM
most other US and Canadian people of his age.

On the other hand, I sure hope he is not only counting on professional cycling as means to earn a living.
hey fatty! yeah you loser!Frith
May 1, 2003 5:54 PM
children can be so cruel.
That really is pretty fast..Qubeley
May 1, 2003 6:04 PM
first place: 68.47kph-->42.79mph
nick: 58.47-->36.54mph

42mph for 200 meter is pretty fast! 36.54? That at least I can try..
wish I know the age of these riders as well.
ageclimbo
May 2, 2003 5:08 AM
Mark French is 19.
Put your biases aside...MrDan
May 1, 2003 6:36 PM
We would all be so lucky to place in this type of competition... we all have our flaws. The original poster
had a genuine interest. Why does eveyone have to "read into" everything. For all the hammering on this guy, --- I'd love to be racing and free and easy again... live and let live...
who is this nick guy, why is he so unpopular?ol
May 1, 2003 7:48 PM
Just curious.
you must be newcollinsc
May 1, 2003 9:33 PM
Nick is a long time poster here. He has a bit of a reputation. Search for Sprint-Nick and PODIUMBOUNCdotCA to see his history.
Ill not join in the mudslinging here, you can see for yourself.
Somebody erase this already!!! nm853
May 1, 2003 8:10 PM
Nick takes a breatherclimbo
May 2, 2003 7:00 AM
http://www.cyclingnews.com/track.php?id=photos/2003/apr03/austracknats03/day2/IMGP0016
What's his hand doing down there? nmTower
May 2, 2003 9:19 AM
First and last, hero and zero, hubris and humility...Dale Brigham
May 2, 2003 11:42 AM
...Stick around long enough in this sport, and you'll experience it all. In the 30 years since I started racing, I have been first (in a I-II-Pro event), last (finisher, at least), and DNF'ed (crashes, hypothermia, mechanicals, etc.).

Nick seems to me to be a good enough kid, and I commend his ambition and dedication. He is making a go of it in the big leagues (something I never did), which has it's setbacks time to time.

Wasn't Lance Armstrong the last finisher in Classica San Sebastion, his first ever pro race, right after the '92 Olympics?

Dale
L.A.DougSloan
May 2, 2003 12:46 PM
Either last or actually quit, I can't recall. If last, that may have been the one he rolled in well after everyone was gone.

Doug
Last, after the roads were opened up to traffic.............nmMR_GRUMPY
May 2, 2003 5:27 PM