RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Racing team problems,need help!(17 posts)

Racing team problems,need help!flyinbowlofmilk
Apr 20, 2003 7:18 PM
Hi! It's the ever nusicance flyinthebowlofmilk,here with a problem. I joined a racing team last year as a Cat 5 racer. Who has a problem with the racing team that I am a member. Last year I went to them for racing knowledge and wisdom. they gave me bit and pieces of road racing knowledge and advice,but I still felt like a outsider. The team let me go to races,and learn from the races. Which I learned a lot last year. I was even nice enough to cheer the team on and congradualate team member who did good at the races. But when it came to me I was very realistic last year and quite negative. The team told me that I was not looking at the postive thing that came from the races. I looked at the Postive thing and then evaluated myself on where I need to get better. So over the winter I went out and brought the Cyclist training bible by Joe friel. So I could start working on getting better. I even pursed a coach that is directly link with the racing team. He told me that I didn't have no goals,and that I need experience. My questions are as follow. What did I do to the racing team for me to fly solo last year and the begining if this year?And is it wrong to look at both the positive side of a race and the side where you need improvement? Why do I always get a rude response from team members? Is it something that I am doing to cause them to react to me in this manner. Need advice and help.

P.S.

FBM
Teams have personalitiestriple shot espresso
Apr 20, 2003 7:43 PM
In a lot of ways teams are like fraternities. Unfortunatelly their is nothin that says teammates need to get along as friends. Do you have other options? Maybe you should just go independent this year and talk to guys you race with and hook up with a team next year with people that you're actually friends with.

Most good coaches will tell you to train your weaknesses. However, at your experience level you need to be patient and take credit for all of the things you do right.

It's impossible to say what you are or aren't doing to bring their attitude without being there.
Nice result at Carter!BipedZed
Apr 20, 2003 8:31 PM
Way to stay with the leaders on the final climb. I gotta learn from you and position myself better at the end of the race. I was surprised how the whole thing pretty much stayed together for the final climb to the finish.
Thanks man.triple shot espresso
Apr 21, 2003 6:10 AM
I was really surprised when we got to the top and everybody was gone, I think I lucked out and got on the right wheel. There was a group of 6 about 20 meters in front of my group of 4, trying to catch that other group was just about the hardest thing I've ever done, we finally caught them right before the sprint. I stood up to sprint and had to immediately sit because my calves were cramping so bad. That was kind of an odd race, the only time it was really hard was on the hill then everybody sat up and it was only fast a couple of times with a tail wind.

It was good to see you recovered from your gear trouble the first time up the hill.
Gear troubleBipedZed
Apr 21, 2003 6:33 AM
My rear derailleur wouldn't stay in anything lower than a 17, which kinda sucked for that hill. Turns out my cable had slipped at the start of the race, kinda embarrassed that I was making such a racket on the climb.

Yeah, I wanted a harder race, especially across the top of the dam. We could have forced more of a selection after the climb but everyone just sat up and coasted the rest of the lap it seemed allowing dropped guys to get back on. I saw how you well you were positioned coming up to that last climb and thought "I should get up there", but didn't. Starting that last climb from 20 guys back I got gapped and then caught the second group right before the finish line. I didn't realize your group was ahead and sat up thinking I had a top 20 and was really disappointed with myself when I ended up 21st. Lesson - never sit up at the finish when BAT is on the line. One of my teammates came around me right at the line and finished 12th. 10-23rd all finished together but I didn't get any BAT points for the team. I'm an idiot.

Rain likely this Wednesday.
Sheeshtriple shot espresso
Apr 21, 2003 6:57 AM
Don't be so hard on yourself, you've identified something you need to work on and you just need to work at it. An idiot would be crying and whining about it instead of learning.
Triple Shot and Biped: Bad! Bad!shirt
Apr 21, 2003 8:12 AM
Come one now! Fly asks wome pertinent questions about how his team ignores him, doesn't help out and makes him feel like an outsider, then you go and have a totally unrelated conversation on his thread! Shame!

Fly: A few things you might like to know. First, you may have noticed that a lot of roadies are generally self-centered a$$holes. I'm glad you didn't bring up the race thing, because I guarantee you that has nothing to do with anything in the roadie world; ego explains almost everything.

I disagree with the one response to your question in that I think at the Cat 3,4 5 level, it DOES matter whether you're friends with your team or not. This is your hobby, right? You don't need more weirdness or stress than you've already got at work/home. I agree that you should find guys you like to ride with and work those relationships. Few things are more satisfying than putting together a plan to lay waste to those who have been rude to you for no apparent reason.

/shirt
Hi There FlyBrokenSpoke
Apr 21, 2003 8:22 AM
If you live near the Parker area, let me know. I am always looking for others to train with and I have a lot f race experience that I am always willing to share.
Sorry FBM, Shirt, I think you are incorrecttriple shot espresso
Apr 21, 2003 8:46 AM
it's not required that your teammates are your friends but it is definitely preferred. There is a certain amount of professionalism that should be developed. Professionalism is what allows you to lead out your sprinter, who is a jerk, or chase down a break to the benefit of the guy on your team that you don't get along with but you do it because you are following the team plan.
I am correctshirt
Apr 21, 2003 10:34 AM
because it is a matter of opinion. Most of us race for the "hobby" aspect. As such, I expect it to be a fulfilling experience. As such, I enjoy hanging with and working for people I like. As such, I refuse to play the politics required in a "serious" bunch, whether professional or hoping to be. Furthermore, my definition of a$$hole is probably much more stringent than yours since I am one myself.

/shirt
I am correcttriple shot espresso
Apr 21, 2003 1:04 PM
From one a-hole to another, your opinion is wrong and your taste in music sucks.

Is it wrong for me to really enjoy telling people that and then listen to their justifications why his/her taste in music doesn't suck.
You are still wrongshirt
Apr 21, 2003 1:06 PM
And Sonic Youth rules the world.
re: Racing team problems,need help!LC
Apr 21, 2003 9:11 AM
I have been on a couple of teams and have ridden on training rides with many, many team. Each team seems to have different way to look at how serious their racing, and there are always subgroups within the teams. I think you have just not found some friends with common goals yet. If you have other teams in your area, then I would look at inviting yourself on some of their training rides and see how you get along on a different team.

BTW, the first thing my team coach told us was to not follow the Bible written by Joe Friel. As you can see there is more than one way to "train"
re: Racing team problems,need help!asgelle
Apr 21, 2003 12:12 PM
> BTW, the first thing my team coach told us was to not follow > the Bible written by Joe Friel. As you can see there is more > than one way to "train"

What did he think was wrong with Training Bible? what was recommended instead?
re: Racing team problems,need help!kenyonCycleist
Apr 21, 2003 2:48 PM
if the team is being rude just ditch em' cat.5 races arnt really about tactics so u dont need a team anyhows..just talk to the more experienced riders if u have any questions...also this site is a great place to do that
re: Racing team problems,need help!P Funk All-Star
Apr 23, 2003 6:26 AM
I dunno. This sounds like it's entirely your issue and based basically on your perceptions. I can see just from the tone of a lot of your posts that you tend to be negative or down on yourself (for instance "Hi! It's the ever nusicance flyinthebowlofmilk"). They did the right thing to try to help you with that.

As for the coach, if you don't have any stated goals again, he was right to say so. It's hard to help or coach anyone that doesn't have goals for themselves.

What do you mean the team let you go to race? A team has no say in that - you register and you race. It's that simple.

What do you expect out of these folks anyway? Do you want constant hand holding and reassurance? I have a feeling that you are making yourself feel like an outsider.

From your description of the "issues", they seem to lie solely with you.
Like rushing a fraternity...peter1
Apr 27, 2003 6:58 PM
I joined a team for the first time last year after meeting a few of the riders and found that for the most part we shared the same philosophy, if not ability. That is, work hard, play hard, and at the end of the day or race, have a few beers and laugh about it.

To be fair, our team is enormous, with more than 100 members (it started as a club, and many people don't race) in every discipline--mtb, road, track and multisport. So there's something for everyone. And there are a few jerks.

I could see that road-only teams might get a bit testy.

My advice would be to join another team. If you're not having fun, screw it.