RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Crit Strategy Question(18 posts)

Crit Strategy Questioncipolini2b
Mar 17, 2003 1:30 PM
Hypothetical: I've got a 6 man team. A teammate and myself get off the front on a very short course (.5 mile oval), and begin to come close to gap the field, and seal the race. However, we're twenty meters away from the back of the field, and just don't have anything left to give.

Question: Can a couple of my teamates go a bit off the back in order to help pull us into the field, thus completing the lapping of the mainfield? Or am I goin to hell for thinking this can be legal? Thanks for any help.
re: Crit Strategy QuestionLactate Junkie
Mar 17, 2003 2:57 PM
According to crit rules--legal. However I have seen officials ban it at some races.
re: Crit Strategy QuestionSherpa23
Mar 17, 2003 2:58 PM
That's illegal.
re: Crit Strategy Questionbrider
Mar 17, 2003 3:16 PM
The question would be why? You've got the race sewn up. Until you make contact with the field, you're ahead and don't have to sprint out the finish. If I'm remembering my rules right, once you lap the field, you're all on the same lap again (maybe I'm confusing this with points races on the track). In any case, I'd have to ask why you'd want to screw up the chances of your team mates blowing and missing out on a third place.
RTFM53T
Mar 18, 2003 8:41 AM
You guys need to read the rule book. The act of dropping back to help a teammate lap the field is specifically against the rules. It right in the book.

As far as being on the same lap, that's not the case. Everyone else is one lap down. You will have to sprint for primes, but not for the win.
Thanksbrider
Mar 18, 2003 11:41 AM
I knew there was a "same lap" thing in there somewhere. Only had it happen one time, and we dropped the pack as we rejoined to dual away (2-up break) for the win.
Re: RTFMcipolini2b
Mar 18, 2003 12:48 PM
okay, why should that be illegal, but blocking at the front (to help them catch the main field) be legal? Both are equally useful in helping the breakaway riders. Also, say you've got that nice large 12 person team, and coincidentally a couple are off the back "struggling" right when the breakaways roll by, and they somehow find their legs? I agree that it shouldn't be allowed, but it's a difficult move to officiate.
Here's why it should be illegal...Dwayne Barry
Mar 19, 2003 6:45 AM
How about this scenario? Instead of 2 of you being about to lap the field, how about 1 of you attacks the bunch and gets a 100 meter gap, the other 5 drop off the back of the bunch and wait for you to "catch" them. Now there are 6 of you 100 meters off the front and ready to TTT away from the field. Is that fair? Only one of you "earned" that 100 meter gap. Now, what do you think will happen when everyone else figures out this strategy? Will they chase you down? NO, they'll start having their 1 or 2 guys attack while everyone else on their team voluntarily gets lapped and then joins their attackers off the "front". It would turn into a bunch of TTT with only the team leaders on the lead lap. So beyond it being simply unethical for a guy to contribute to a break that he didn't get into based on hard work, it's impractical.
..then the comissaire should kick the whole team out! nmSpunout
Mar 20, 2003 10:53 AM
here's the ruleDougSloan
Mar 20, 2003 11:43 AM
3C3. A lapped rider or one who has fallen too far behind and is considered to be out of contention may be
called off the course by the Chief Referee. Riders on different laps may not give or receive pace from one
another. A lapped rider must not interfere in any prime sprint or finishing sprint and must ride sufficient laps
at the end so as to cover the entire distance in order to qualify for a prize.

http://www.usacycling.org/rulebooks/uscf_rulebook_section3-4.pdf
Try again53T
Mar 20, 2003 11:51 AM
That's the road race rule. Crits are in section D.
What am I, a lawyer?DougSloan
Mar 20, 2003 1:09 PM
Oops:

3D3. The following are alternative methods for handling lapped riders in criteriums (i.e. riders who have been caught by the lead rider(s) in the race). The method chosen by the organizer with the Chief Referee must be clearly explained to the riders prior to the start of the race.
(a) A rider who falls so far behind as to be considered out of contention may be removed from the race by the Chief Referee.
(b) Alternatively, lapped riders may be permitted to remain in the race and all will finish on the same lap as the leaders. At the finish, these riders will be placed according to the number of the laps they are down and then their position in the finish.
3D4. Riders on different laps may work with each other except that no rider may drop back to assist a rider who has broken away from the field [disqualification for accepting such assistance].
I read the book, I didn't write it (nm)53T
Mar 19, 2003 9:58 AM
Who says blocking is legal?No_sprint
Mar 20, 2003 11:23 AM
Rules state that no rider shall make a motion to impede the forward progress of another.

It's pretty well agreed in my area that a overtly obvious blocking maneuver will get you DQ'd from a race.
kinds of blockingDougSloan
Mar 20, 2003 11:41 AM
There is overtly getting in someone's way, and then there is slowing the pace a bit, let's say "controlling" it, while on the front. That's perfectly legal.

Doug

Disclaimer: Since this is an internet forum posting, and statements here are frequently viewed other than how intended, this author disclaims any intent to be rude, offensive, or insensitive; this author frequently uses sarcasm and other forms of intended humor to make points, and those measures are also commonly misinterpreted. Therefore, please take no offense unless the intent to offend is expresly stated. Thank you.
of courseNo_sprint
Mar 20, 2003 12:06 PM
agreed, and I don't consider *controlling* the pace to be blocking.
"Blocking" has a certain meaningDwayne Barry
Mar 21, 2003 4:27 AM
in cycling jargon. It's not taken to mean physically impeding another's progress. It's usually used in the context of disrupting a chase by disturbing the rhythm of the rotation of the riders at the front, even covering attacks trying to get across to a break is sometimes called "blocking". Controlling the pace (i.e. "setting tempo") is usually not considered blocking.
That's extremely offensive and you're wrong.shirt
Mar 21, 2003 4:16 PM
Furthermore, allervite and I are hurt and offended that you're not going to McLane Pacific.

/shirt