RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Drafting rules?…(10 posts)

Drafting rules?…TFerguson
Mar 14, 2003 12:46 PM
Still trying to figure out the rules for road/crit racing. I have heard recently that you may not draft off of someone not in your race. I don't mean combined categories, I mean when two races are going on at the same time. They may have the same start time or may be separated by one minute, etc. Specifically in a race with Master men and Open women they cannot draft off of each other. What are the rules? What if the classes are say Masters 40-49 and Masters 50-59? How would you tell who was not in your category.

Thanks,
TF
the numbers...yeah right
Mar 14, 2003 1:32 PM
should be of a different series.. ie. 100s 200s 300s etc.

if they aren't i'm not sure how you would tell.
who did you start with?DougSloan
Mar 14, 2003 1:32 PM
If you started together, you can draft with that group, even with mixed cats/classes. Check the numbers of those groups. Sometimes there is an announcement at the start as to exactly what number groups you can race with.

If you are off the back, and want to draft with someone else off the back, then it really doesn't matter, unless either of you improve your position enough to matter in the race. May as well make it a "race," versus an ITT.

Doug
Still not clear...Chunky
Mar 14, 2003 5:05 PM
I was in this race and got a flat 6 miles into the race. After 4 miles or so of time trialing in the diabolical weather, I caught a cat 4/5 guy who got dropped from the previous race. All I could think of was drafting behind him to shield myself from the relentless wind...only if he were riding fast enough.

But let's say he was riding fast, am I allowed to draft behind him? Even just for a short while?
Still not clear...S-U-B
Mar 14, 2003 8:42 PM
your not suppose to draft anyone that is not in your class, but the officials wont't say anything if your off the back just trying to get home. What pisses me off is when guys get dropped and then I see them flying by on the flats on the back of higher cats. Happens in every race. One race last year two whole fields where DQ'd when a few riders from one group were caught in a pack with another, cost about 150 riders there weekend. I dont do it no matter what, If I can't make the distance by myself after I get dropped, then I shouldn't be out there racing. Not everyone has morals though.
both off the backDougSloan
Mar 16, 2003 5:28 PM
I wouldn't do it unless both were off and out of the race. I'd never latch on to another group, assuming I could.

Check the series numbers of the groups. Usually, Cats are grouped by 100-199, 200-299, etc. It's not hard, except they don't have any consistency from race to race.
Not that difficult53T
Mar 16, 2003 5:42 PM
If one race catches another (happens all the time) the officials earn their money by nutralizing the field in front so the faster field can pull through. They establish a gap and the race is back on.

Personnaly I've met the nicest people off the back on hilly road races, their long blond pony tails make it obvious that we are not in the same field, but we still work together to salvage the day.
...you rode with a dropped Laurent Fignon? WOW! ;-) nmSpunout
Mar 17, 2003 4:59 AM
was he crying? :-) nmDougSloan
Mar 17, 2003 7:10 AM
re: Drafting rules?…Lactate Junkie
Mar 17, 2003 3:03 PM
It varies and the rules are not always inforced consistantly. In a road race, you can only ride with riders from your category. However if you are dropped and just trying to finish, no one will likely care if you sit on the back of another group as long as you do not get in the way of their race or use them to try to improve your position.

Generally you can tell who is in your race by their number. Different groups will usually have different number groupings i.e. Cat 1 100's Cat 2 200's Master 45+ 800's etc.