RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Anyone racing this weekend?(24 posts)

Anyone racing this weekend?allervite
Mar 5, 2003 3:43 PM
I'm going crittin.
I wish....freshly herniated disc!BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 5, 2003 7:43 PM
Ugh, what a way to start the season, Just got back from the doc and they think I have myself a herniated disc in my back...I have to go see another doctor in a week an a half to get an mri and see how serious it actually is. Im bummed, my legs have been going numb and ive just about lost all feeling in my body from the waist down....Im a mess.
lets see what the modern day miracles they can do.
Good Luck
Bummer BLOG, get well soon. nmnoveread
Mar 6, 2003 8:11 AM
aw, man!lonefrontranger
Mar 6, 2003 9:59 AM
bummer, dude. My teammate has been struggling with a herniated L5 since last April. She's gotten better but it's taken awhile.

Get several opinions and get better. Best wishes BLOG!

I may be doing a training crit on Sunday depending on how I recover from this chest cold bug.
Its been a Long Time Coming, But.....BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 6, 2003 12:20 PM
yeah, Ive been pretty bummed...Its not so much the pain thats got me down but the numbness. Its been bothering me since last may but now the numbness is getting the better of me. I actually went for a ride 2 days ago and oddly enough the numbness has dulled out the muscle burning pain when you ride...I was doing some long hill repeats and even thou my hr was up towards 180 bpm and i knew my legs should have been burning I couldnt feel a thing. weird feeling.
Theres a short road race I may do on sunday depending on how my back feels. so well see

thanks for the kind words everyone! =)
yes, hopefullyweiwentg
Mar 5, 2003 8:14 PM
I will be doing a road race and possibly a crit. collegiate cat B, equivalent to cat 3/4. the road race is (sigh) flat (I am a 120lb climber). the crit ... the last time I did a crit, I ended up in the hospital. I may have issues with crits. I suppose I'll find out.
BLOG, sorry to hear about the disc. get well soon, my friend!
Critsallervite
Mar 6, 2003 9:01 AM
I have to admit that they intimidate me a lttle too. The chance of getting caught up in a high speed crash is always there.

Luckily, it does not bother me at all when I am racing, only before. Just gotta remember that as soon as you hear metal on pavement, it's time to jump.
re: Anyone racing this weekend?No_sprint
Mar 6, 2003 8:54 AM
Good luck Allervite. I'll be crittin' as well. Gettin' over the darn flu so I'll just be cruisin'.
Cruising?allervite
Mar 6, 2003 9:05 AM
You must be exagerating. I have never done a crit I could just cruise in, at least not before they pulled me out of the race for being off the back!
Cruising?No_sprint
Mar 6, 2003 11:05 AM
You're probably right. I just won't be pushing hard for anything. Sometimes a pack finish isn't too hard, other times it is. Crapshoot.
I planned to also but have a messed up eardrum!hrv
Mar 6, 2003 9:14 AM
And the mountain got 11" overnight and 5+ feet expected! Can't do it. Pressure change would blow my eardrum big time.

Raced last week with an ear infection and realized how much it can sap you. Was about 40 deg. and when it started raining I had to pull out after the 2nd of 4 laps cause I was getting close to hypothermic as it was. And I was worried about getting to hot!

Otherwise, an awesome race and rolling hills course. Cat 4/5 had a field of 96! I started on the front line and was still in the front 3rd after one lap. Then I looked down at my hrm or speedo for a microsecond and when I looked up the guy whose wheel I was on decided to stop and sit up! I had to slam on the brakes,no room to go around. Luckily no one was close on my wheel but damn I've never been passed by so many riders so fast! It was at the bottom of a hill and I never could catch up. Decided not to kill myself trying since it was early in the season, and all my long rides to date have been low intensity.

Major lesson learned: forget the f&@#$ng hrm in races! Or if I feel for some anal reason I need the numbers, turn it upside down. Same maybe with the speedo. The other lesson I got, also from a time trial I did a week before, is I need to retest for LT. It's at least 10 - 15 beats higher than last year. Thank you, Mr. Friel!

good luck crittin,
hrv
Crit race in Sacramento CA - Land Park Critoutofthesaddle
Mar 6, 2003 9:21 AM
Riding the Sr. 5 - I'll be happy to stay out of the carnage that is bound to happen. Got my fingers crossed.
Crit race in Sacramento CA - Land Park Critallervite
Mar 6, 2003 10:06 AM
See you there. I'll be wearing a blue and white Redding Velo jersey and a blue Bell Ghisallo helmet. I also ride a yellow Giant TCR Team. If that's not enough, just look towards the back of the pack!

Maybe you could get you and your buddies up to Redding and ride with us some Saturday. Check out www.reddingvelo.com

allervite@hotmail.com
Crit race in Sacramento CA - Land Park Critoutofthesaddle
Mar 6, 2003 11:02 AM
I'll keep an eye out - I'll be riding an '03 5900 (Black/Silver) with Ks. Still unattached so don't know what jersey will show up but I'll be wearing a black helmet. I checked out your team's site - some impressive results. See you Sat.
South Easter Race Series Started a week agoCARBON110
Mar 6, 2003 11:25 AM
With A couple of circuit races which were windy as hell. Then last weekend we had a FUN AS HELL climbing circuit race. I have finished top 20 both 2 of the 4 races I went to. This weekend another climbing race followed by something I think another rolling circuit race. Good start, good fields with fun people.
South Easter Race Series Started a week agoflyinbowlofmilk
Mar 6, 2003 9:39 PM
Congradulations,Carbon110. I wish I could have the same sucess. But I am going to be doing my 1st crit this weekend in VA(Snowball Training Crit.) Wish me luck . I know the Cat 4 will blow be away,but I am going to try to finish the crit. I have been getting base mileage in all this winter with some Cross Training (mostly base mileage on the road). If I make it into the top 20 this year I will be happy . Anyway ,training crit here I come.

From

FBM
Resultsallervite
Mar 7, 2003 12:15 PM
Yea, you'd think some of that talent would rubb off while training with these guys. I'll be happy to finish with the pack.
Crit race in Sacramento CA - Land Park CritS-U-B
Mar 6, 2003 3:07 PM
Hey guys, I will be in Sacramento on Saturday as well. I am a Cat 4 now, just moved up, but I'm going to try and sneak into one last 5 race before I do the 4's. My racing license has not arrived in the mail yet, so I think I can get away with it. Dont think my legs will be to strong for the second race. I will be the guy on the GT wearing a delta velo jersey blowing by everybody in the final sprint:) grab my wheel if you can!
Flyn Bowl Of MilkCARBON110
Mar 7, 2003 7:32 AM
Hey anytime you want to come down and race let me know. I race alot of the Tenn and SC as well NC races. I will be at the Sterling Stage race in Tenn, Raccoon MTN in Tenn, Rock Hill is fast and fun and great training in SC in April. Check them out and let me know if you want to meet up someimte or anyone else for that matter.
Crit race in Sacramento CA - Land Park Critallervite
Mar 7, 2003 12:22 PM
GT Delta Velo Jersey, GT Delta Velo Jersey. Ok, I'll be looking for that wheel.

You realize that if you don't win, I'm gonna give you some major SHEEEAWWT!

You've talked, now you gotta walk! ;)
Dude, our web site's not ready yet!!!shirt
Mar 7, 2003 11:31 PM
I told you I'd let you know when it's finished. I'm still trying to find the picture of you with the g-string sticking out of the top of your shorts. Then it will be ready.
Sorry!!!allervite
Mar 10, 2003 2:02 PM
I was just trying to quickly relay ride info. And that's no G String it was the the toilet seat cover from the public bathroom.
Whatever. It was really sexy, whatever it was. (nm)shirt
Mar 10, 2003 2:15 PM
Next weekend in Chicagoland, though I road in the snow today-nmTFerguson
Mar 8, 2003 4:45 PM