RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Losing races on the calendar b/c of stupid racers?(17 posts)

Losing races on the calendar b/c of stupid racers?skip work to ride
Feb 26, 2003 7:40 PM
I wanted to see if other areas of the country are losing races b/c there are issues with local governments and residents.

We (Seattle) just lost one of our better races because some racers were stupid and pissed in the bushes, were rude to residents the course passed by and other unacceptable behavior.

We now have our first three races of the season running under probation b/c of the same thing (different locale). If we f'ed next week, we will lose the next 2 races held in the same spot the next consecutive weeks. And thus the season openers are gone.

I wanted to see if other areas have faced this and what rules and codes of conudct were inacted to help stop the loss of races!
Did the promoter facilitate needs of the racers? nmSpunout
Feb 27, 2003 4:50 AM
re: Losing races on the calendar b/c of stupid racers?MR_GRUMPY
Feb 27, 2003 10:55 AM
Some people just don't want to wait two minutes in line. I'm sure that these same people use their kitchen sink when their bathroon is busy at home......
TWO MINUTES??????????????shirt
Feb 27, 2003 5:38 PM
Dude, there were 20 minute lines at the portapots at multiple races I went to last year. Furthermore, most of us are hydrating before we get to the course and are pretty much ready to void the excess by the time we get to the site.

I've pissed in neighbors bushes because the alternative was even worse.
What's worse.MR_GRUMPY
Feb 27, 2003 7:03 PM
What's worse, pissing your shorts, or being arrested and getting labeled as a "sex offender."
Peeing in a bush = sex offender? Are you a lawyer?shirt
Feb 28, 2003 9:00 AM
Are you a lawyer? ........... No, but I play one.MR_GRUMPY
Feb 28, 2003 11:09 AM
Public urination after Cub's games got so bad that the Chicago cops started to arrest people for exposing themselves. If kids are involved, what do you think might happen if the kids parents are bigshots.
Go ahead and take your chances.
oh, yeslonefrontranger
Feb 27, 2003 12:02 PM
There were at least 3 or 4 race venues I know of in Cincinnati over the years lost this way.

The specific incident that I am unfortunately very familiar with was under our promotion and beyond our control; we had ample facilities close to the parking area with no line but some of our racers were quite simply rednecks who chose to pee in public in front of someone's kids. The racers in question were not only DQ'ed from the race, they were also disinvited to any and all events under our promotion afterwards. However, the ramifications of this seemingly isolated incident were quite broad. Because of these individual's lack of manners, the '98 Elite Nationals lost the interest of that township in holding the race (losing volunteer base, promotion, sponsorship in the process) and their favored venue for the TT course.

Moral: your 2 second lack of judgement may have further consequences than you could ever imagine.
For sureB123
Feb 27, 2003 1:02 PM
We've lost races in CA, mostly for center-line violations.

What takes the cake though...In May at a road race everone parked at a small school. Some guy decided to take a dump in the 1st graders vegetable garden. Needless to say the school administrators were pissed.
hahhah thas disgusting!CARBON110
Feb 28, 2003 6:49 AM
Well, out of the 25 + races I went to last year the lines are (90% of the time )very long. Now I like to think we all have an abiding sense of integrity and common sense but theres always a few of us that don't. We all have arrived late at a race before and sometimes there just isnt time. Most of the time you can find a good private place away from everyone unless its a down town crit or something. Also, most places let you warm up on the course going the opposite direction and there for you can find an appropriate place. This however usually will take longer then just standing in line. I have seen alot of people DQ for peeing at the start line and I just cant figure out why they would do that there. On the other hand, every race I go to thats not in a city/town has people peeing somewhere other then the portos. But, never could I imagin the above senario or peeing on or nxt to someones house. I would have a problem with that if I stepped outside and some guy in tights was pissing next to my car, my garden or anywhere my kids (if I had kids ) might play. I never have trouble finding a spot on those 4-6 hour training rides. Losing a race seems a little extreem though kinda like punishing the bunch due to the one bad apple. Most of the time people don't like having bike races in their town due to hastle noise on SAt and SUN mornings of cars, horns,crods, and trainers. I have beeen warming up my trainer many times when a local says something like " I pay taxes here and I don't appreciate you people leaving your stuff on the side walk and making all this noise " I usually retort to a statement like that wth " and we appreciate your tax money sir for without it we could not race here " only I keep this to myself in my head and chuckle. HAHA
One thing to remember in all this...brider
Feb 28, 2003 1:29 PM
is that any and all actions of ONE rider will be seen as an act by ALL riders. To the non-riding/racing public, we are one unit -- "those damn bikers."

Given what public opinion is, I would think that EVERY one would be on their utmost good behavior, just for the sake of preservation of our sport.
AMEN!!! (nm)GeekRoadie
Feb 28, 2003 8:14 PM
No One Ever Goes On The Bike Anymore?BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 1, 2003 6:26 AM
What about drifting to the back of the pack and then whizzing out the side of yoru shorts? Then your not in one place for too long and you cant get caught and chances are no one will even know what your doing...cept other racers and the caravan behind you =)
Yes53T
Mar 1, 2003 5:04 PM
It has been happening here in New England for about 30 years. We lost the Duathalon Nationals for good two years ago. It's not just pee that is loosing our venues, it's the yellow line violators (the one in the middle of the road). Locals get terrified when a group of stupids jumps out around the peleton in front of the selectman's mother while she is driving to the supermarket.
You don't need stupid people when there is enough...Wayne
Mar 3, 2003 9:59 AM
animosity already. At a road race last year that took in a fairly large loop along the Appalachian ridges in western Maryland, very rural, with almost no thru traffic (if you didn't live on the roads, not much reason to use them). There were no less than three households (spread out over the course) that had taken the time to make large signs, saying "Bikers Go Home, we don't want you here". It was very odd. I can't imagine how it impacted these people in much of anyway and yet they took the time to make these signs.
no excuse, but promoters could helpDougSloan
Mar 3, 2003 10:23 AM
I've been at races where the port-o-potty lines were 20 minutes long. There's no excuse for it, but it's no wonder some guys would pee in bushes. So, the promoter does have a responsibility to ensure there are sufficient facilities.

Center line violations really piss people off (justifiably) around here, especially when racers are descend at 45 mph and cutting corners, nearly forcing oncoming traffic off the road. Not good. It pisses me off, too, as the violators are essentially cheating, and making better time because of it.

Bike racers on whole, but certainly not all, are sort of anti-social, ego-centric, selfish little babies anyway. No wonder these problems come up. Threaten to demote them to Cat 5 again. Maybe that will get their attention.

Doug
How about this?lread
Mar 5, 2003 12:17 PM
Bring an empty gallon milk jug with you to the races so you can pee in the privacy of your vehicle if necessary.