RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Racing bikes(13 posts)

Racing bikesjfuria
Dec 14, 2002 7:16 AM
Seeking advice...Prince Pinarello vrs Trek 5900 for racing. I'm a 143 pound racer presently riding a Giant TCR1. Most of our races in PA are hilly road races, but I also do some crits and TTs. I realize that bike selection is in part a matter of preference, however, I would like to make an informed decision with consideration of weight, performance, acceleration, and member's experience with each of these bikes. Any suggestions appreciated. jfuria@ptd.net
Hard to tell the differenceKerry
Dec 14, 2002 1:13 PM
You're talking about two excellent bikes. At this level, you might as well make your choice based on how you like the paint job/graphics or where you can find a deal.
My experience5ive
Dec 14, 2002 8:02 PM
I own Prince and TCR Carbon. Also, I've test ridden 5900 numerous times (friends bikes). I think they are both excellent bikes but they are measurably different in my opinion. Prince is an exceptional bike for flat/rolling terrain. It's one of those bikes that just feels fast. 5900 really shines on the hills. For some reason, the way 5900 climbs felt very different to me than any other bike I've ridden. Are you a sprinter? I fancy myself one, and for this application, Prince was without a doubt the best frame I've pushed. In my size (52cm), there's zero flex when you jump and you just accelerate! Prince, IMO, is not as comfortable as 5900. Also, it will come out a bit heavier than 5900 with the same equip+wheels. Lastly, I felt that Prince steering was 'almost' too quick for my liking whereas 5900 felt very stable around a corner. If I had both bikes, I would strap a Prince to the top of my car before headng off to a crit race. Hope this helps.
re: Racing bikesda cyclist
Dec 16, 2002 6:07 AM
This doesn't really answer your question, but I would urge you to think really hard about buying a bike like you're talking about and then racing in crits. IMO, unless you're riding a team bike, you shouldn't be riding a frame that you can't afford to replace the next day. Crashes happen and you can destroy a brand new bike the same as a 3 year old bike. But then again maybe you can spring for a new 5900 frame on a whim.
I agreeLC
Dec 16, 2002 3:27 PM
A teammate from last year had a very nice bike...for 3 days! Could not affort to replace the frame, fancy wheels and Record shifters that got eaten in crash and does not even race anymore because of it. You might be the best bike handler in the world, but the JA's that you race with in that tight pack may not be. The crashes happen very quick and without any regard for your nice bike.

I have some very nice bikes, some are even CF and Ti, but they are not any faster than my race bike...a 4 y.o. Cannondale that I had actually retired for awhile because I did not think it was good enough. If you got a half way decient bike that shifts properly, then it is not the bike that is holding you back in that cat 4/5 crit.
I also agree!RockyMountainRacer
Dec 17, 2002 5:48 AM
I just got a beautifull new Italian steel Torelli. I can guarantee you that thing will never see a crit course! It will be my training bike only. Like you, I have a '98 Cannondale CAAD4 with what used to be a full 105 grupo on it, now it's got a smattering of D/A and Ultegra on it from stuff that broke. That will be my race bike. I think cheap aluminums are actually great for crits because they are so light and stiff. And you won't cry such bitter tears if it gets destroyed when some jackass takes the wrong line through a curve and falls down in front of you.
re: Racing bikesNo_sprint
Dec 17, 2002 9:54 AM
I agree as well. My main crit racer is a $700 Italian aluminum frame, $400 wheels, DA. I don't race my QPro w/Record that much.
Another voice of agreementMr Good
Dec 17, 2002 6:34 PM
Like the previous posters, I ride "inexpensive" aluminum built up with mid-range parts and conventional hand built wheels. I can race hard on the bike and not worry about babying it.

I've found that my other "good" bike never sees the light of day, because I want to train on the same bike that I race. That way the bike's handling, shifting, and everything else is predictable. So I think the way to go is a decent quality Al frame with Ultegra, or whatever you can afford, and some nice ($400) wheels with good tires. Put your time and energy into getting a good fit!

BTW, I've noticed that the local cat 1/2's who don't have a sweet sponsorship deal usually ride on the equivalant of a battered CAAD3 with a mix of old components.
I disagreeSherpa23
Dec 18, 2002 6:32 AM
Well, since I have a "sweet sponsorship deal," take this as you want but I really believe that you cannot race at a truly efficient level unless you train and race on identical bikes. This has little to do with the feel of the bike or the shifting and everything to do with biomechanical adaption. I have seen tests that show that you can lose as many as 11 VO2max points going from your bike that you always ride to a position altered even slightly. I train and race on the same bike.
Right on, buy two 5900's ! (nm)53T
Dec 18, 2002 11:57 AM
I'm with sherp!BigLeadOutGuy
Dec 18, 2002 4:17 PM
Buy yourself a nice bike. Race on it, train on it....live on it. If your in a race worried about the "what ifs" than your not really concentrating on racing your hardest. Check your fear of crashing at the start line and race hard. Whats the sense of having a nice bike if it just sits in the garage collecting dust?
I'm not!shirt
Dec 19, 2002 1:06 PM
Woe to he who disagrees with the Sherp, but I've found that if I do all my miles on the same bike with the same positioning, I tend to get pretty stiff and crampy in a lot of places. Since I rotate through three bikes (and a spinning bike), I move ALL of my muscles slightly differently with each ride. I'm also staring 40 in the face, so that may explain my need to do more 'peripheral' exercises.

However, I do all my hard rides on the same bike I race on.

/shirt
I'm not sure what you disagree withMr Good
Dec 19, 2002 8:46 PM
You state that one should race and train on identical bikes, and that's what I proposed in my post as well. Perhaps you misread? What is it that you disagree with, Sherpa23?