RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Criterium Frame(10 posts)

Criterium Framenexter
Dec 11, 2002 7:22 PM
Typically, Criterium frames have steep seat tube and head tube angles combined with a short wheelbase. I am having trouble accessing the technical specs of the various frames. Does anyone have any recommendations? I know I need to ride the bikes.
re: Criterium FrameMcAndrus
Dec 12, 2002 6:35 AM
If you mean recommendations for brands then I'd say Cannondale or Giant TCR. Cannondale has a good reputation for crits and I own a TCR just for that type of riding.

As to specifications, most manufacturers have websites with full geometry and other specs on those sites.
You're obsessing53T
Dec 12, 2002 11:42 AM
Crits don't last long enough for frame geometry to play a big part. Any racing geometry will do. A crit is raced between the ears.

Get a not-too-expensive Al frame and some not-too-expensive pretty light, fairly aero wheels like D/A with deep V's.
agree, to a pointlonefrontranger
Dec 12, 2002 2:59 PM
All you really need for a crit bike is something reasonably stiff, even if it's only for psychological advantage. A buddy of mine absolutely *hates* his steel Bottecchia for crits because he says it feels like trying to sprint on a waterbed, but then he's 210 lbs. He likes the Bottecchia for everything else, so he merely uses an older Cannondale that he considers a "throwaway" frame.

The one thing that might mechanically affect this logic somewhat is BB height, and that usually depends more on the rider and the pedal system. Now for someone like me using 165 cranks and Speedplays in women's races where you (usually) don't hear a chorus of skipped pedals every turn, then BB height will probably never be a factor no matter what frame I ride. My SO, however, has found that the BB on the Dream can be a tad low for his 6' bod, 175 cranks, aggressive cornering style and Time pedals.

I totally agree that crits are often won and lost in your head. For that reason, if you have the cash and bonus points with the spousal unit to get a crit bike, I'd recommend going with a frame you like, that "feels" snappy to you, but that you don't unnecessarily worry about t-boning a curb with.
re: Criterium FrameNo_sprint
Dec 13, 2002 12:05 PM
Stiffer the better in my opinion, my main crit racer is also 1 cm smaller than my others. I also prefer wheels stiff and light as possible. There is so much accelerating out of each turn in a 4 corner .8 mile crit that having a mushy/heavy wheelset zaps my will from me.
re: Criterium Framenexter
Dec 13, 2002 5:52 PM
No_sprint What wheels are you using?
re: Criterium FrameNo_sprint
Dec 16, 2002 12:19 PM
I've got several sets. For crits, I'm breaking a new set of Am Classic 420s in right now. They are really light. I'm also using a new tire on them. Specialized Turbo Pro Cippollini. I sometimes run Nucleons or RevXs.
Question for you No_Sprint...5ive
Dec 18, 2002 6:31 PM
Can you make some comparisons between your Nucleons and AM420's? I own a set of Nuc's and thinking about purchasing AM420's. I'm mainly interested in how stiff AM420's feel (and your spoke count), but any info would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Question for you No_Sprint...No_sprint
Dec 19, 2002 11:03 AM
I went with the standard build 18/24. I'm 150 and generally not hard on stuff. The 420s are significantly lighter than even my Nucs. The whole front wheel with skewer, tire, tube, everything is about 200 grams lighter than my Nuc with Conti 3000GP. They are nice and stiff and survived a nasty pothole at a high speed on my first race practice training effort with them. I must mention that they do not seem to be bulletproof at all as my feeling is they are built first for lightness with durability seemingly a lower consideration. I could be proven wrong and race them full bore for 4 years. The bearings are tiny. Some of my teammates have pounded them in 30+ races per year and still have good things to say about them. We'll see.
Thanks (nm)5ive
Dec 19, 2002 11:22 AM