RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


NCNCA gives up(16 posts)

NCNCA gives upshirt
Nov 12, 2002 6:05 PM
I know there are some NCNCA people on this board, and you should check out:

http://www.velonews.com/news/fea/3213.0.html

The party's over, apparently, by a 25 to 24 vote to rejoin USA Cycling. I have very mixed feelings and am mainly concerned that the USCF is going to screw everything up again.

Thoughts???

/shirt
My experience with NCNCA was not goodburdiman
Nov 13, 2002 5:40 AM
Last season I filled out the form and sent in the money for a license and received it in November (sent in early April). The year before I never received the license. I was going to give up on trying to race again.
Hard for me to take your complaint seriouslyshirt
Nov 13, 2002 10:48 AM
If you were actually interested in racing, you wouldn't have waited seven months to get your license; you would have called after a week or two to find out what was up.

Don't get me wrong, NCNCA is not the greatest organization in the world. If you'd gone to any of their events you'd know they have issues with both registration and, uh, porta-potties.

However, my list of grievances against the USCF is even longer. Don't get me Started...

/shirt
Do what you want.....burdiman
Nov 13, 2002 11:28 AM
Take me seriously or not. Just telling you my experience. I raced locally and didn't need the ncnca license anyway. Yes, I did call several times and emailed at least half a dozen times - no response to any of them.

License in hand I may have branched out.
Okay...shirt
Nov 13, 2002 1:32 PM
that's pretty bad, then. I'm surprised you had an experience like that.

Here's hoping they get their sh*t together next year (the NCNCA group will 'become' the USCF administrator in our area)...
hope ACA is nextlonefrontranger
Nov 13, 2002 7:44 AM
They do a good job promoting grassroots here and put on a lot of races, but my insurance experiences with them have been a nightmare. I was actually told by the heads at ACA that I shouldn't be racing without self insurance and they have been extremely grudging and unhelpful in filing the claim or following up. I've resigned myself to making monthly payments on the medical bills for the next several years. I wonder what they think about all those guys in the Pro/1/2 field who race uninsured because they don't have jobs or work part time? And what do they do about the fact that most small businesses in Colorado have stopped offering medical to their employees? For the record I'd been laid off for four months and hadn't fulfilled my 90 day enrollment clause at my new job. I suppose that means I should have sacrificed my entire season.

The Feds have many failings but at least they are prompt and courteous in filing and paying claims.
noway! keep ACAGutterball
Nov 13, 2002 9:57 AM
If insurance is such a big deal then you should look into racing only USCF races. Now you ask yourself, why are their no USCF races on the front range? would you pay $50-$60 to race in a crit? would your competators pay that much to race too? I love that fact that the entry fees to ACA events are cheap. The USCF was killing cycling by entry fees through administration costs. You bring up a good point about people who don't have any insurance, but that doesn't stop them from racing. Try setting $30 aside everytime you race (the diffrence in enrty fees) and you would have enough cash by the end of your season to buy a solid gold collar bone.
I have no insurance -- I also avoid crits
interestinglonefrontranger
Nov 13, 2002 12:27 PM
I pay more per race at ACA events than I ever did for USCF stuff back home in Ohio.

I promoted for years under the Feds. Yes they have their problems, but so do the ACA if you really get down to the nuts and bolts of it. The Feds are a big impersonal corporate operation who mostly let promoters deal with events as they see fit; this can be a problem or a benefit depending on the promoter. The ACA is a small, narrow-minded and technophobic group run by control freaks. Most of these issues with either federation are invisible until you start trying to promote events.

The costs you describe sound suspiciously like greedy promoters, and tho I don't have the history in this area to back that up, TJeanloz has mentioned something about that too.
ACA / USCF, What's the difference?TJeanloz
Nov 18, 2002 3:12 PM
I'm sorry I got to this argument late, but here's my perspective (as mostly an innocent bystander) about what happened re:ACA.

When the USCF announced that it was cutting back on district reps, to go to the 'regional rep' system, all of the district reps were fired, including Yvonne, the Colorado rep. As I understand it, she was offered the regional rep job, but declined, and left the USCF in a huff.

The backbone of the ACA is this sort of cronyistic group that used to be called BRAC, which act as a sort of 'godfather' of Colorado racing. The group was controlled primarily by the people who were responsible for promoting most of Colorado's races. The ACA always seemed, to me, to be a group of people who wanted to advance their own adgenda, which, in my opinion, was too heavily focused on junior development (consequently, many of the ACA powers that be were the parents of the juniors being 'developed'). When I arrived in Colorado, having lived in New England, I was shocked to find non-existant prize lists, high entry fees, and lousy race events. When the ACA took over, nothing changed, except the prize lists got even lower. Frankly, I never saw the advantage of the ACA, except that for the favored few, the rules were bent and power was held in a local braintrust.
$50/$60 for a crit???? Not here under USCFNo_sprint
Nov 14, 2002 10:34 AM
I've got no complaints except for some of the officiating. USCF here in SoCal is great in my experience. The races are typically around $15/$20.
$50/$60 for a crit???? Not here under USCFGutterball
Nov 14, 2002 2:22 PM
alright...maybe that was a bit of an exageration. My experience though is that USCF=poorly run+cost more. while ACA=less expensive + maybe poorly run but more races on the calendar.
I came to Colorado from Oregon (OBRA) and I have seen racing bloom since the reduced role of USCF in Oregon...I can't exactly speak on behalf of Colorado, but it seems like every race I go to there are more and more people at these 'grassroots' races that cater to the weekend warrior types.
I am also really bored and don't know whatelse to do with myself in the off-season except try and start a meaningless debate.
$50/$60 for a crit???? Not here under USCFNo_sprint
Nov 15, 2002 9:15 AM
No problem. I've got no experience with the ACA. One thing is for sure, I can't imagine a fuller calendar than we have. No way I do even half of them really. I pick and choose the locations, times and predicted weather I like best.

Check it out sometime if you'd like, look at the 2002 *results* page. www.socalcycling.com

Good luck with the situation.
no insurance? ouch.peloton
Nov 14, 2002 7:01 AM
You were racing with no insurance at the time of your crash? Man, that sucks.

I've come to believe in supplemental insurance over the years, as I usually make a bi-annual trip to the hospital for something or other. (I ski 150+ days a year) I have a supplemental policy that covers some lost wages, 5G's of health insurance, life insurance, and some other stuff. It only costs me about $90 a quarter. I think it is well worth it, and it's cheap enough that even going through grad school I could afford it. The last time I got hurt they actually paid me for the day of work I lost too. I won't spam the board with a sell for them, but if you are interested I could pass some info on.

At the very least, it's cheap and could save some medical bills in the future. Keep bothering the ACA insurance company though. Insurance companies always try not to pay, but bugging them helps.
I'd be interestedweiwentg
Nov 14, 2002 3:42 PM
email me at weiwentg@hotmail.com. thanks!!
I'll send you an e-mail soon (nm)peloton
Nov 16, 2002 3:13 PM
nm
re: NCNCA gives upallervite
Nov 13, 2002 3:05 PM
USA cycling has really screwed up. I love the low fees and local accountability of the breakaway organizations, but I hate having to buy multiple licenses.

One organization is more efficient and can be done correctly.

I'm hoping with the new guy in charge, USA Cycling will get back on track.