RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


"Body For Life 12 week program" - Week 4 update(16 posts)

"Body For Life 12 week program" - Week 4 update853
Sep 10, 2002 7:57 AM
Well week 4 is over and here are the stats:

starting weight: 249lbs
4 week weight: 236lbs

starting bdyfat%: 21%
4 week bdyfat%: 18%

I am eating 6 times a day - 2095 calories a day on average
44 grams of fat
174 grams of carbs
227 grams of protein
and am burning about 400-500 calories a day w/exercise.
Weight traing 3 times a week for 1 hour
and doing intense cardio 3 times a week for 25 min.

A lot of people said that I was not getting enough cardio to be able to lose wieght.But so far I've droped 13lbs that's an average of 3.25 Lbs a week. That's way better than what I was expecting - I was expecting an average of 2lbs a week.

http://www.bodyforlife.com/
re: "Body For Life 12 week program" - Week 4 updatejukosho
Sep 11, 2002 6:45 AM
What is your height? Just curious, because I was like 18% body fat at 188 (5' 10"). Trying to get an idea of what my ideal weight would be for about 6% and also how quickly one can lose a given % of body fat. Nice going and keep up the great work!
everybody is diffrent..853
Sep 11, 2002 9:11 AM
I am 5'10" and at 236lbs I am 18%bodyfat.
That just means that I have a lot more mass than most. The last time they did the test they said I have 193lbs of lean mass and 42lbs of fat. Which means I will never be very light even if I had 0% bodyfat. But of course I believe that with dieting and tons of cardio you could lose alot of lean muscle mass(my goal once I drop the bodyfat down below 10%) You can't really figure what your ideal bodyweight would be for a given bodyfat% because your lean mass varies from person to person. But if I could make an educated guess and said that your lean mass would stay the same for your weight. At 188lbs you are carring 34lbs of fat and 154lbs of lean mass, add 6%body fat you would be around 165lbs+/- but of course when you diet you will always lose some lean mass, so you could be even lighter than that.
Lates
Likely mostly water lossKerry
Sep 11, 2002 5:09 PM
If you had really lost this much "real" weight, you would have had to run a 1600 calorie deficit each and every day. That is EXTREMELY unlikely, as you would be ravenously hungry at all times. Also, given that even the best body fat measures are at most accurate to 1%, don't believe the numbers with too much precision/accuracy. This kind of diet forces the body into ketosis, and therefore you have to shed a lot of water to purge the breakdown products of all that protein. This is the trick to any fast weight loss diet. But it is only a trick, and is not a sustainable weight loss. I don't doubt that you are losing weight, but it's extremely unlikely that you have lost that much fat or real weight (fat plus muscle). I know it's great to believe that your program is working so well, but there's a huge amount of research that explains what you're seeing, and it is NOT real weight loss.
Body for life is a pretty decent program thoughColnagoFE
Sep 12, 2002 6:32 AM
Other than pushing the EAS stuff it's a pretty balanced program for losing weight and gaining muscle. Not probably as great for an endurance athlete as it doesn't include long enough cardio sessions, but it will help you lose weight. A lot of people that do this program are those that have sat on the couch for 5 years and are way overweight. Results come pretty quick for the 1st few months for people like this as their bodies are not used to lots of activity. As the body adapts the results are not as fast and sometimes plateau.
Likely mostly water loss853
Sep 12, 2002 7:16 AM
Well, before this diet I was consuming between 3000-3500 calories a day. I was maintaing my weight but not losing anything. Now I am consuming 1800-2000 calories a day and burning off about 400 to 500 calories a day. So that is almost a deficit of 1500 calories a day and as I said I was extremly hungry for the first weeks now I have adjusted to it. I am not much weaker on the bike, I've just lost that extra edge, but at this point it doesn't realy matter, once I get to an ideal Bfat% I will increase my calories and increase the riding and hopefully maintain the weight and get stronger on the bike.
As for the water, I am consuming about a gallon and a half a day.It's what keeps my stomach somewhat full. I take to work a gallon jug and from 7am to 4pm drink this gallon once I get home I am back on the water, with all my meals I am drinking water - no juices - no diet colas! Not only that I am taking a creatine supplement, which makes you retain water.
I am losing inches around my waist,my arms and legs are more vascular,I am looking better in the mirror, Why should I stop now?

"I know it's great to believe that your program is working so well, but there's a huge amount of research that explains what you're seeing, and it is NOT real weight loss."
As I said before I am making huge sacrafices, and have committed myself to this 12 week program, I am not stoping now just because you tell me to. We will see in the end if it was real weight loss or just water. It is all an experiment - what have I got to lose but weight. I am only one third of the way there - so maybe some of it is water weight and maybe it will taper to about 2lbs a week, I don't care as long as I keep losing weight.

Have you experimented with your dieting, and how much were you able to lose? Are you saying there is no hope for us heavy guys?
creatine is often not the best for endurance sportsColnagoFE
Sep 12, 2002 7:43 AM
you might look into l-glutamine supplementation instead. helps prevent muscle catabolization and aids in digestion and muscle recovery. seems to work for me. i say if the program is working for you then stick with it! good luck and let us know how it goes.
Sustainable weight lossKerry
Sep 12, 2002 5:02 PM
While everyone is different both in their metabolism and their ability to tolerate calorie deficits, all of the research points to an athletic diet that is about 60% carbs and about 20% each of protein and fat. Weight loss comes from consuming fewer calories than you use. Anyone can lose weight with this approach, but it does require discipline. What typically happens with super high protein starvation diets (how else could you describe what you are doing?) is that once people come off the diet, they are so starved for food and for carbs that they binge and regain the weight. It's called yo-yo dieting, a widely recognized problem. Will this happen to you? I have no idea. If you have the discipline, you can do anything, it's just that most people can't sustain what you're attempting. Changing your eating habits should be a permanent thing, not a crash attempt at fixing yourself "overnight".

When my kids were born, I weighed 165. For all kinds of reasons, my weight rose to the low 190s over the next 15 years, even though I remained very active physically. After reading about the way racing cyclists lose weight (go to bed hungry) I cut back on my evening snacking and the size of dinners, and have lost about 15 pounds over the last 3-4 years. That's what worked for me, just like any reputable dietician or coach would tell you to do. No magic, no special supplements, just eat less.
Ditto to KerryMcAndrus
Sep 13, 2002 5:21 AM
Over the years (don't ask how many) I've tried many different diets, including Atkins, high carb, etc., etc., etc.

Last year I was reading a lot of material on cycling related fitness: books, magazines, internet, Road Bike Review. One day a light went on in my head. I was eating too many carbs and high glycemic foods. My body was turning the unused carbs into fat and the high glycemic foods were causing increased hunger. A vicious circle, if you will.

So I switched to fewer carbs, more proteins, and more fats. I also try to eat in the low glycemic end of the food spectrum.

Starting last Christmas I started losing about a half-pound a week. By late May I'd lost 10 pounds - dropping from 165 to 155, which is my fighting weight. Since then I've been maintaining in the 155-157 range, and maintaining without much struggle.

I don't try to lose weight in the riding season but I'm going to see if I can get another 5 pounds off this winter.

I'm not advising you to change your plan now. What I'm saying is when you come off this plan, you might want to consider what Kerry's saying as a permanent diet plan.

- Eat low glycemic foods
- Don't worry about too much fat (I don't)
- Go to bed hungry (it forces the body to live off the stored fat overnight)

It seems simple and it is. I wish I'd learned this 30 years ago.
Lifestyle- not diet for sustainable losspeloton
Sep 13, 2002 12:59 AM
You are telling your body that it is starving.

Some factors that I would consider when thinking of this diet in a long term sense-

1) Losing weight at a rate of 3+ lbs a week is generally considered unhealthy by the medical and health/fitness industry. A rate of 1-2 lbs a week is much more healthy for your body. The extreme rate of loss will make sure that you body makes good use of what calories you do take in once you return to your normal diet.

2) Assuming your body composition measurements are accurate-Look at what it is you are losing. 13lbs total, 9 lbs of fat, and 4lbs of lean body mass. Losing the lean body mass is going to lower your metabolic rate.

3) High protein diets require your body to produce more enzymes to break down protein. When the diet is taken back to a normal ratio of carbs/fat/protein these enzymes are still around. The enzymes then catabolize lean body mass. This further lowers your metabolism.

4) This diet seems to sell a lot of supplements. Beware of any diet that wants you to buy anything.

Being on a diet like this is going to make your metabolic rate take a nose dive. Once you go back to a normal diet you will put on weight very easily because your body is in a starvation mode from how quickly you lost weight, and the fashion in which it is being done. The best way to lose weight isn't with a high protein/supplement selling fad diet. It's with a healthy lifestyle staying away from lots of sugars and refined foods. That is the only way for sustainable weight loss. You too will agree in a year.
But he won't changeKerry
Sep 14, 2002 12:44 PM
Do you get the impression, from the initial statements and the lack of response to these points, that he will continue with this diet and all that it implies? I sense a near-religious belief in this diet and the associated supplements, and no amount of logic or data will sway 853 from this course. The same discussion was had when he first proposed this diet several weeks ago, and nothing has changed. I am always amazed at people's willingness to suspend belief in science and pursue these fad and crash diets.
But he won't changepeloton
Sep 14, 2002 1:50 PM
I agree. The problem with diets like this is they don't offer long term results. I'm sure that he will lose some more weight over the next few weeks as he continues. I would also put money on the table that in a year or so he will be right back where he was a few weeks ago. Diets like this just don't work, and all the empirical data in the world points to this. I'm suspicious of diets that try to sell a lot of supplements. If the diet is so great- why does it need to be supplemented? High protein is a wash too. The all protein/fat diet is great for heart patients who need to drop weight and cholesterol. Unfortunately, the body can metabolize cholesterol from these diets when you add some carbs back in the mix like many of these commercialized diets. Not to mention the long term loss of lean body mass, inability to train effectively from empty glycogen stores, and the other negatives that I could write two full replies about. Not heart healthy, not good for athletes, and not sustainable long term.

The problem with diet is too many people out there give out information based on ancedotal evidence without knowing better, or to make their wallets bigger.
True, BUTColnagoFE
Sep 19, 2002 7:42 AM
The Body for Life diet is not all that extreme (at least compared to something like Atkins) and recommends a fairly balanced diet along with aerobic exercise and resistance training. You can forget all the stuff they say about the EAS supplements and substitute some real food in their place. Not really geared for the endurance athlete as it only recommends 20 minutes of cardio/day but if it gets the couch potatoes off their butts and lets them see that it is possible to live healthier and lose weight without starving yourself then I say more power to it. I'd rather have someone follow this diet than something like the Hollywood Juice diet, SlimFast, or Atkins--diet programs that don't include exercise and resistance training as components.
Truepeloton
Sep 19, 2002 11:05 PM
I agree. Anything that gets people off the couch and doing something healthy can't be all bad. Too many people just don't do anything physical, and practice terrible eating habits.

I guess my biggest rant about the subject of diet and the supplement industry is the lack of regulation and the shear amount of BS that gets forced down people's unsuspecting throats. I wish the FDA would step up to the plate and regulate the industry- forcing supplement companies to prove claims and safety like the drug industry, and requiring certification for people who would like to call themselves dieticians or nutritionists. Right now our supplement industry is like getting precription drugs in Mexico, and in many states (only 27 require cert for dieticians) any fool can give out nutritional advice not based in science and reality. The bottom line in much of this industry is money, and a lot of people don't have the consumer's best interest in mind.
Lifestyle- not diet for sustainable lossakjohn
Nov 1, 2002 5:16 PM
I think the results from the Body of Life program are definitely sustainable. I think I am an example of that.
During most of my life I had always been a fit person. Surfing, diving, cycling etc. However, I fell into a sedentary lifestyle for a few years and gained LOTS of weight. After seeing some remarkable results obtained by co-workers, I did the BLF program in the summer of 2001. In 3 months, I dropped 26lbs of weight. Considering the muscle I gained, I am sure I lost more than that in fat.
I continued the program (more or less) through the winter of 2001-2002. I started riding my trainer and Spinning to earn myself a new bike. I increased my hours on the bike, stayed on a solid weight training program and, for the most part, followed the BLF grazing type balanced diet of protein, carbs and veggies/fruits.
The bottom line is this...the BLF was the catalyst for a significant lifestyle change. I dropped about 50lbs of weight since I started BLF. My resting pulse is back down to 42 and I ride faster than I ever have in the past.
I also "earned" a new Look bike. :-)
re: "Body For Life 12 week program" - Week 4 updatebrianmcg
Oct 12, 2002 5:31 AM
Congratulations on your progress so far. Me and my girlfriend both did the body for life. I have one concern though in reading you post is that no where in the book does he talk about counting calories and grams of carbs or protein. I feel that you have given many of the people in this forum the wrong impression of the body for life. It is actually a much more balanced program. The book outlines that you should be consuming at least one portion of protein and one of carbohydrate at each of your six meals, along with some vegies at 2-3 of those meals. I think this would put your protein and carbs more in line.

For those of you who balk at this you should read the book first before making your opinion as it is far diferent from any atkins diet or any type of starvation diet. In fact it is not really a weight loss diet. It is an athletes diet. People who are underweight gain a significant amount of weight on this diet in the form of muscle mass. This is not something that would happen on a starvation diet.