RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Masters or Cat 5(9 posts)

Masters or Cat 5Aerow
Jul 23, 2002 11:19 AM
I am a 36 year old male. I would like to get into road racing and time trialing. Should I begin in Cat 5 races or in the masters races?

Shouldn't the Masters races also be broken down into categories?

Thanks!

Steve in Nashville
Cat 5---the masters will kill youColnagoFE
Jul 23, 2002 11:32 AM
most of the masters could race pretty well against the pro 1-2s.
gulp!Aerow
Jul 23, 2002 11:48 AM
good thing I asked!

Thanks!!!
re: Masters or Cat 5brider
Jul 23, 2002 12:24 PM
In the Northwest region, Masters are broken down to A and B caterogries. Basically, Bs are cat 4/5 masters in the lower age ranks, and possibly 3s in the higher age ranks. The As are the Cat 1/2/3s. Check around, it may be the same where you race.
do the 5DougSloan
Jul 23, 2002 12:59 PM
Unless there is a Masters 4/5 group, just do the 5's.

I made this mistake several years ago in my first re-entry to racing after a long time. I figured the old guys would be much slower. I got dropped in the first 2 miles and lapped on a 10 mile circuit. I've come to learn that they are a bunch of retired pros and Cat 1's.

Usually when they just say "Masters," it means the Masters 1, 2, and 3's together.

Doug
Come do Masters and we'llshirt
Jul 25, 2002 10:21 AM
have you for lunch. :-)

/shirt

(try Senior-5 first...)
So, what kind of results do you have?JS
Jul 28, 2002 1:10 PM
Did you race Nationals? Talk is cheap, lets see some results? I raced masters as a 5 last year and hung( finishing with state and national champs) in the front group in RR in So. Cal. last year. I was converting from MTB racing where I was a top national expert. It's all relative. I upgraded to 3's at the start of this year and these races are harder in my opinion because you have more fast guys as the fields are usually 3 times larger than masters.
Talk is cheap.allervite
Jul 29, 2002 9:26 PM
If you are telling the truth (and I have no reason to believe you are not), than you are plenty fast. I have ridden in LA with the La Grange Group and a few other clubs. But mostly I have raced and ridden in Nor Cal. Up here the bigger races attract some really fast masters. In my opinion, if it is a decent size race, the masters field may not be as large, but it is much deeper in talent. If it is a small race, than there may only be a handfull of local masters and the seniors would be a tougher CAT.

AS for Shirt, he is a natural sprinter, but right now he is climbing really well, and at a recent training race after several vicious attacks he rode away from our group with a CAT 2. Those of us that were dropped included a 24 year old that has been dominating the senior 4,5's up here and also won the overall at the Humbug, a large MTB race in far northern Cal near the Oregon border. After 20 miles of lung searing leg ripping hell, the five of us that were left, rode another 35 miles in a rotating paceline averaging 25 mph.
Thanks, Mike.shirt
Aug 1, 2002 11:39 AM
I'll have your ten bucks at Sue's on Saturday.

/shirt