RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Hey St. Louis area racers!!(12 posts)

Hey St. Louis area racers!!greg n
Jul 10, 2002 9:58 AM
I'm going to be in the St. Louis area the weekend of Aug 10. I was hoping to do a road race or a crit while there. Does anyone know of anything going on? If so, can you give me a URL for info?

Thanks
may as well post it here, since i'm interested too! nmJS Haiku Shop
Jul 10, 2002 10:58 AM
St. Louis, Tue. night races around a local Race Car Track!Canidraftyou
Jul 10, 2002 10:26 PM
Im at work, ill send you the times and location when I return home. Im taking a vaction day to go up there just to race a local Tue. Crit.

Its a blast!

Peace
St. Louis, Tue. night races around a local Race Car Track!Canidraftyou
Jul 11, 2002 3:00 AM
http://bigshark.com/site/page.cfm?PageID=22
Tue. night crits on the International speedway, gotta try it. Im not going until late july, by way of Arkansas.

Have fun!

Peace
Big Shark is a great shop, great promoterAlex-in-Evanston
Jul 11, 2002 7:42 AM
My girlfriend goes to school at Wash. U and lives a block away from Big Shark. I've done their cross races and they run a tight ship.

Alex
the first AMBC race they sponsored SUCKED!!!greg n
Jul 12, 2002 6:04 AM
10 minutes before the start of the Expert race, they announced it would be detailed for an hour. Then after an hour, they call us to line and hold us there for another hour. Talk about a warm-up and cold start nightmare. I was throughly disappointed in their organization. Especially being a AMBC race which is pretty big as far as competition and points go for the NORBA rankings.
This is Roadbikereview.com not MTBreview.com!Canidraftyou
Jul 12, 2002 6:29 AM
They must of thought you needed the break! Sponsor and Race Promoter, not always the same person or org. I dont ride for Big Shark, but they have always came to our races here in Arkansas and we race in their events. Sharp team if you ask me!

Peace
Some of us do bothgreg n
Jul 12, 2002 8:57 AM
The Big Shark guys were sponsoring and running that particular event. I know they have a strong team. However that AMBC event in particular was VERY poorly run and organized. Which has nothing to do with the quality of riders on the team.
sorry, that's delayed not detailedgreg n
Jul 12, 2002 9:12 AM
I dont correct spelling, everyone is allowed a brain fart!Canidraftyou
Jul 12, 2002 9:33 AM
I dont correct spelling, everyone is allowed a brain fart!

Peace
Go in for Labor Day racespben
Jul 12, 2002 9:07 AM
I now live in Chicago, but when I lived in St. Louis (and raced), this was the big weekend for races. Not sure the status of the races now but definitely worth looking into.
If your refering to the Gateway Cup, they're on!Canidraftyou
Jul 12, 2002 9:37 AM
I think its 4 races or maybe five races in all.

If I peak like I should, maybe ill run into you there.

Peace