RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Bike Weight(22 posts)

Bike Weight372
Jun 3, 2002 8:56 PM
I'm looking to drop some lbs. I have a '00-5200: Rolf comp's, Era saddle, Thompson post, Deda Newton bar & stem, Ultegra group & Look pedals. My LBS digital scale read 19.08lbs. This was a little heavier than I expected. What do you think & where can I drop weight?

I've been told DA will give me a 1/2lb and I'm looking for some race wheels, any suggestions?
re: Bike Weightgonzo77
Jun 3, 2002 9:41 PM
WHEELS, WHEELS WHEELS. Nothing will effect the way your bike actually rides like reducing weight on wheels. Get something nice, light, and stiff and you'll feel like you took 5 pounds off your bike. Good luck
scratch DAweiwentg
Jun 4, 2002 3:18 AM
I don't know if it'll give you half a pound. but the wheels are prime candidates for lightening. I think the Vector Comps weigh something like 1700-1800 grams. get a set of the new Ks and you'll almost get that half pound. also the pedals: you could change to Speedplays, or Pro-fits if you don't like the float. also, changing tires & tubes can make quite a difference.
19 lbs is quite heavy for a '00 5200. this weight was measured with pedals, bottle and saddlebag on?
re: Bike WeightDougSloan
Jun 4, 2002 6:31 AM
DA will knock off about 1/2 pound, with a 1/4 pound more with compete SRP bolt set. Get Cane Creek 200 SL braker calipers for more weight off, and cheaper than DA with SRP's.

*Selle Italia SLR saddle - huge savings
*USE Alien carbon seat post - same thing
*Zipp 303 carbon/alum clincher wheels - very light ($$$ though)
*Easton carbon handlebars
*ITM "The Stem" - 100 grams
*Speedplay X1 pedals

You'd knock off about 3 pounds or so, but you'd spend several thousand dollars and essentially have a different bike.
Echo the Cane Creek brakesbrider
Jun 4, 2002 7:57 AM
I've used Brews for years. Very light. Ultegras are absolute boat anchors in comparisson. Any one who whines about their lack of stopping power just doesn't get it. How many times do you actually STOP in a race? The brakes are there for speed modulation only. Clean your rims regularly, and take the glaze off the pads, and you're set.
Echo the Cane Creek brakesKen_IF
Jun 5, 2002 2:09 PM
I've got the Cane Creek brakes and love 'em, but one gripe I had with them were the pads they came with. Light green colored things that took metal off my rims. While it's true that you don't actually need to stop in a race, I didn't feel all that comfortable on steep descents. Eventually replaced them with Kool Stop pads and all is well!

BTW, I got the brakes years ago, so I'm not sure if they're still shipping with the same compound.
padsDougSloan
Jun 6, 2002 6:55 AM
When I got Cane Creeks a year or so ago they came with the green pads. This spring when I built up my Cervelo with the Cane Creeks they came with what looks exactly like Dura Ace or Record (can't recall which) pads and pad holders. I don't do much braking on the Cervelo, though, and it's hard to compare rim braking surfaces, with some aluminum, some plain carbon, and some carbon with a surface treatment.
Echo the Cane Creek brakesbrider
Jun 6, 2002 8:19 AM
When I got the Brews, they came without pads. I've always used fairly cheap Shimano pads with no problems.
My friends easton bar just snapped off on SatPack Meat
Jun 4, 2002 11:39 AM
We were racing and it just broke, no crash, just heavy sprinting.

FSA Team Carbon crank and FSA BB.

Any weight you save in wheels is multiplied by 4. So if you take off 50 grams it's like taking off 200. Did i need to explain that?
re: Bike Weightweiwentg
Jun 4, 2002 12:49 PM
ditto the SLR. but the Ti Alien is 10 grams lighter, and tougher than the CF Alien. now that you mention it, the saddle is quite a worthwhile upgrade in terms of $$ per gram. if the SLR sounds too iron-butt for you, then the Flite TT is 165 grams.
A Few Parts...Alot Of WeightBigLeadOutGuy
Jun 4, 2002 6:59 AM
Most of the weight saveings between dura ace and ultegra comes from the bottom bracket...crankset...and the levers. change those 3 things and you will save around 200 grams or .4 pounds. the only problem with changing those parts is that it may not be much cheaper than changing the whole groupset. Like everyone says...wheels are the way to go...get some flyweight wheels...continental supersonic tires and some lunarlight tubes and you will have a wheelset that is as light as any carbon tubular set out there...and it will be a lot less expensive. even if you dont want to get the new wheels get some lunarlight tubes and the supersonic tires...they will save you around 100-200 grams depending on what kind of tires and tubes are on your bike now....and the weight will be saved from the outside of the wheel so there will be less weight to spin up thus making your bike feel ALOT faster.
good luck
what size frame? (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2002 7:52 AM
Think Body Fat% Then Rotational WeightEurowannabe
Jun 4, 2002 10:27 AM
Wheels! Of couse you can go with all ridiculously light ti and carbon components, but you will sacrifice when it comes to durability. A lot also depends on the type of rider you are. If you are a bigger rider (180+), then wear and tear on lightweight wheels and parts can be excessive. You still can't beat a set of Mavic Open Pro/DA wheels for training on. Some superlight wheelsets are also crap for big sprints.
comment from bisikletbisiklet
Jun 4, 2002 11:49 AM
well.. all the people made very good comments of bike weight. I just want to make another comment. the vehicle weight equals (bike weight+your weight). Try to reduce body fat if your body fat is two digits. That will help alot.
re: Bike Weight372
Jun 4, 2002 3:05 PM
Thanks for the help. Answers to questions:
I weigh in at 146-152 depending on the day
@ 5'10". My % body fat is around 7-9
The frame size is 56cm
Action HSD tires w/Salsa ultra light tubes
The bike was weighed with cages, pedals and computer mount.

I'll be going with Mavic Ksyrium SCC wheel set and
lighter pedals
I'm not a big fan of Speedplay's
What are Pro-fits?
re: Bike Weightweiwentg
Jun 4, 2002 5:08 PM
Pro-fits are Campy pedals. similar to Looks in terms of platform area (I think) and cleat shape. they are lighter, especially if you get the Record version with its titanium axles. I've not tried them, but they are reportedly pretty good - could someone who has actually rode them chime in here? the cleats are not compatible. check out the reviews of the Pro-fits in the reviews section and decide for yourself. what pedals are you using right now?
re: Bike Weight372
Jun 4, 2002 7:15 PM
Look boat anchors. I like the platform and the float, but not the weight.
They come in at 420g.
How do the Pro-fits look on a scale?
I forget the weights....McAndrus
Jun 5, 2002 6:09 AM
which are available from either Campagnolo directly at www.campagnolo.com or other sources. I rode Pro-Fits for a couple of years and was very happy with them. Very comfortable and light. Kind of a medium between Looks (because of similar cleat) and Speedplay because of weight and float.

I ride Speedplay now because of a knee problem. But for that, I'd still be with the Pro-Fits.
Record Pro fits: 266gweiwentg
Jun 5, 2002 10:31 AM
chorus 316, centaur 325. cleat weight unknown (presumably less than speedplay). they look very classy :)
Keywin CRMsdownunderracer
Jun 6, 2002 9:05 PM
About the same weight as Pro-fits but probably cheaper. Look downright ugly, but if you're after performance over appearance have a look at www.keywin.com.
You can still get reasonable weight w/ Ultegra853
Jun 5, 2002 6:46 AM
My new Cannondale is @ 17lbs even w/ ultegra. I know Cannondale frame and fork is not ultra light (it wieghed in at 4.4lbs w/int.headset).
Anyways I got the wieght down using lighter components.
here are the parts I used -
ITM Milleniun bar and stem
Easton CT2 post
SLR saddle
Ksyriums (the old version)
Michelin axial pro lights w/ light tubes
Speedplays
Everything else is Ultegra!
Get a second opinion.GregJ
Jun 8, 2002 9:40 PM
How often does your bike shop have this scale calibrated?