RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Will creatine help my sprint?(11 posts)

Will creatine help my sprint?mootsdude
Apr 12, 2002 11:13 AM
Each issue of velonews has a full page ad for "runners creatine" in liquid form. Has anyone out there tried this? What's your opinion of this product? What makes runner's creatine diferent from any other creatine?
re: Will creatine help my sprint?eschelon
Apr 12, 2002 12:10 PM
I used creatine when I did body-building and the benefits claimed from using this crap is false. The premise behind using creatine for enhanced muscular strength was so that you could push another ~15% increase in weights...fair enough. But wait, on any given day, depending a number of factors, anyone can lift an additional 15% in weights. 15% difference...come on, with a number like that, it's all in your mind. Now if creatine claims of 50%+ than I would tend to believe in the value of this crap.

To put this in perspective: If on an average day I am able to bench press 6x 190 lbs...then by using creatine, I should be able to press 218.5...right? Believe me, if I psyche myself up enough I can bench 225 lbs. Once again, the 15% number gain is all in your head. Now if creatine gave me a 50% gain, than I would be benching 285 lbs...now that is a great gain...but this doesn't exist.

Some people swear by it...while many people like me didn't get anything out of it, and many still get bad diarhea, stomach cramps, etc. And also many times, the creatine product usually has more fillers than creatine in it. If you really want natural creatine that research has shown not to be harmful to you or have bad side affects (what I mentioned above) eat meat...especially beef. Beef has tons of creatine in it...it's better than eating that manufactured synthetic crap...god knows what it does to your body and what kind of problems may come up later on in life when consuming that stuff in the past catches up to you in your later years.
Worked well for me.allervite
Apr 12, 2002 12:42 PM
I believe it made a significant difference for me, though I would have a hard time quantifying it. Yes there is a placebo effect, but I have tried a lot of different products and have been impressed by few.

Your experience does not surprise me though. I have tried things that other guys swore by that did nothing for me.

As for helping in a sprint, I doubt it would help much. It would be well used up by the end of a race. I used it for training with Strength Intervals. Most Ergogenic aids are better for training than racing- I think.

The liquid Creatine is supposed to be better absorbed than the powder.
Slow LoadLeGrimper
Apr 12, 2002 2:24 PM
Everyone is different.

I found it effective for strength and the gym, plus I recover from muscel soreness quicker.

The best gain however is to add only 2 or 3 gms to your recovery drink of protein, carbs. (for maybe a 8 week build or power period) The creatine boosts your bodys absorption and causes more glycogen to be shunted into the muscles.

For me this is working.

and guess what?

I'm flying!

Le Grimp.
The problem with supplementspeloton
Apr 15, 2002 1:47 PM
Is the amount of misinformation out there.

Creatine works more likely on it's effects on the leverage system of the body. More water in the muscle, more leverage. This would mean even more if you were wearing a power suit for lifting and it now fits you more tightly, giving you even more leverage. More gylcogen from creatine though? That isn't true.
No? Check for yourselfLeGrimper
Apr 15, 2002 3:35 PM
http://www.esportmed.com/smu/content/viewsumm.cfm?sid=331

http://www.ais.org.au/nutrition/SuppFS06.htm

http://www.jbst.com/factsheets/recovery.html

Dig a bit and find out whats happening now. I have two close friends at the AIS (Australian Institute of Sport) and these guys are on the cutting edge of what works in sport today.

Why do you think a country as small as Australia wins more medals PER CAPITA than the USA?

I dont post this stuff to misinform people. I get a lot of good info from all of you guys and want to return the favour when I can.

Do whatever makes you happy.

Le Grimp.
carbohydratespeloton
Apr 15, 2002 9:10 PM
Creatine is better absorbed by the body when consumed with a carbohydrate at the same time. The information you provide does show that, and it's been known for a while that helps with the absorbtion. I think you may have that confused with the glycogen idea. Creatine isn't going to do anything for your glycogen stores within the musclular tissue. That's all I was saying. No offense intended. There is a LOT of misinformation out there on supplementation and diet. There are also a lot of bad studies that get done.

I'm in the exercise physiology field, and I think I am again remembering why I have been refraining from participating in these conversations lately. FWIW
Retiring GracefullyLeGrimper
Apr 15, 2002 11:22 PM
Hey Peleton.

The little list below is the current post exercise mix supposed to maximise the insulin effect to the full.

57g Malto
57g Glucose
28g Whey Pro Hydro

14g Leucine
14g Phenylalanine
9g Arginine
3g Creatine

Carbs, Proteins and Creatine give a greater effect than Carbs alone. Since making the discovery for myself, recovery is, in most cases, overnight as long as coupled with correct (i.e. sensible) training.

Interested to see what you think here. I agree it is frustrating giving opinions that are not always easy to explain to the full over the forum but it always interesting to get feedback.

Opinions are always valued.

Over and Out
Le Grimp.

Van Loon (2000) Insulin response after ingest of Protein and Carb
Zawadzki (1992) Carb-Pro increases muscel glycogen after exercise.
An AddendumJon Billheimer
Apr 16, 2002 8:35 AM
Recently, in Peak Performance Online, Owen Anderson reports on some research that indicates that creatine is useful in aiding the phosphate shuttle transporting ATP from cell mitochondria to binding sites. Consequently, he believes that creatine supplementation may be useful for endurance athletes.
An Addendumpeloton
Apr 18, 2002 5:56 PM
From what I have read Jon, it makes sense when looking at cellular biochemistry that creatine would help on endurance athletes when looking at the CP energy systems and the phosphate shuttle. I think that this would be especially so when dealing with an aerobic sport that invovles some sprinting or frequent accelerations. I checked out the article you mentioned. Peak Performance seems to contradict themselves though with some of the other articles that they have posted in relation to creatine and cycling in particular. I think it was the creatine 3 article that was about creatine hurting cycling performance.

At my University the general concensus seems to be that creatine looks good at the cellular level for performance, but the weight gain due to water weight effects the power to weight ratio too much to be of benefit. I've done the stuff myself, and I put on 8 lbs amount instantly. Not good when you are shaped like a little block and can't climb super fast to begin with. I suppose it might be useful for a keirin sprinter like Nothstein? My feeling is that any good it might do at the cellular level is more offset by the negative done to power to weight ratio for cycling. With respect to your opinion, what do you think?
re: Will creatine help my sprint?Zaggy
Apr 17, 2002 8:02 PM
As a college athlete our strength and conditioning staff keeps a pretty good finger on the latest trends. I have used a number of creatine products over the years with good results. The thing to be wary of is the latests tests of the liquid creatine products. They have been in most of the muscle mags lately and thier creatine levels have been very low compared to what is advertised. I would stay away from the liquid products. If memory serves you are probably looking at a product such as ATP(don't remeber if that is brand or product name), but they have been one of the guiltiest parties in having low levels of creatine in thier product.

I know the liquid is a convient alternative, but stick to a powder from a reputable manufaturer such as EAS, nature's best, or twinlabs to name a few...good luck