RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


How Did Everyone Do?(17 posts)

How Did Everyone Do?BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 31, 2002 3:36 PM
Anyone race this weekend?
I did...saturday and sunday...2 crits...I sucked...now my legs feel like cement and im exhuasted
*yawn*

how did everyone else fair?
race cancelled due to flooding on course :\weiwentg
Mar 31, 2002 5:20 PM
anyway, I was ill.
c'est la vie, there are always other races. like the one next week, at Purdue.
I was the dope on a ropelonefrontranger
Mar 31, 2002 6:43 PM
Women's 3/4 crit in Ft. Collins, 35 minutes + 3 laps. 8 riders showed up. 6 were Cat 3's (one is basically a 2 who just won't upgrade) and 5 were all riding on the same team (not mine). That left the only other 4 in the field (who'd never done a bike race before), a free agent 3 who wouldn't cooperate, and yours truly.

I got worked like a rented mule, which isn't a bad thing seeing as this is a throwaway prep for the Roubaix next weekend.

The first 5 laps are sort of lost in a haze of pain, as they were spent with the team of 5 trying to establish a break. They succeeded in getting 2 girls away in lap 6, and I spent the next 3 laps in anaerobic hell trying to bridge across a gap that never seemed to widen much beyond about 7 seconds (frustrating, exceedingly frustrating). Anytime I'd try to bridge, attack or whatever, I'd get strangled by the remaining 3 teammates.

I spent the next few laps fuming, sitting on, and watching that damn gap inexorably widen. The thing that hurt the worst was knowing they'd never have allowed me or the other free agent to go with the break, so regardless I'd probably never have been on "the right side" of the gaps.

When they gave us 5 to go, I said to myself "ah, what the heck, I'm not in this to win it", and started a furious chase with the rest of the field happily sitting on my wheel. My only goal at that point was to shut down the gap before the finish, out of sheer principle. I didn't have enough jump to establish my own gap (not with 3 riders chasing me down anyways), and just didn't have the horsepower to go away. In 3 laps I regained 10 seconds of the 18 they'd gained, which is a lot considering I'm not a strong bridge rider (sprinter and consumnate wheelsuck is my typical MO). The free agent 3 briefly came to life to assist when it appeared we'd succeed - but she didn't have enough horsepower to even pull as fast as I was. Crap. So I put my head down on the final 2 laps and went like a friggin Pack Diesel. We bridged with about 350 meters to go and I got dead last in the sprint, natch. 7th of 8, how's that for glory, eh?

I sat there on the curb for about ten minutes afterward wishing the next person to come along would just put a bullet in my head. My legs feel like somebody ripped 'em off and beat me with 'em.
I was the dope on a ropeflyinbowlofmilk
Mar 31, 2002 7:20 PM
I can only wish and pray that one day this 31 going on 32yr old Afro_american/Native CatV can be as good as you. Although I am a Male I can only dream of that day. I like reading about your crit. Racing. My 1st one is coming up in April. Please pray that my 1st crit race isn't a combination of Cat5 and 4's. Other than that the guys from the racing team that I joined this year have seen some improvement in my riding with the pack. (they can't drop me as fast as they use too.) Good luck next time LFR. And keep them coming.

flyinbowlofmilk
hang in there, FBMweiwentg
Mar 31, 2002 8:52 PM
it's never too late to start. I'm impressed that even at 31 (NOT implying that you're old) you want to race. that kind of spirit is rare.
Don't want to hear it, FBM!hrv
Apr 1, 2002 8:21 AM
31 going on 32? I'm planning to race at 46 (first one next week) with no aerobic activity history, like mtb. I can tell you about difficult! I have to really rest 'hard' on my rest days and not do too much interval stuff or I'm out of it for awhile. Plus, I have to lift weights during the season to continually be able to push hard on the pedals.

Not that I feel old: yesterday went snowboarding then windsurfing in the afternoon, jumping and crashing with the best of them! My mind says I'm 20 something; I wish my body wouldn't disagree so much!

Hang in there, and make sure to tell us how your race went.
hrv

btw, I give your 'handle' , Fly in Bowl of Milk, the award
for the most creative one here!
don't...merckx56
Apr 1, 2002 10:09 AM
don't be afraid of it! if you go in with a defeatist attitude, you're done! the best races i've ever had were ones that i just didn't care how i finished and/or told myself i wasn't going to work unless absolutely necessary!
I know pro wrestling is fake and cheesy, but the rock has a saying, "just bring it!" think about that when you are suffering. no one, other than you(and maybe your mom!) cares how you feel! they just want you to bring it! everyone else in the race is suffering too! kickass and take names.
M56
you'll do finelonefrontranger
Apr 1, 2002 10:59 PM
Remember, you have to do a couple dozen races (or more) before you can even begin to say you've learned anything.

Make a point of using some races as complete throwaways. Decide this before you even line up that day so that you have no expectations and the freedom to experiment. You need to learn what you're good at and not good at.

Yes, a good goal is to try to finish with the field, but no, don't worry about it if you don't.

If you find you don't have the stamina at the beginning to finish with the field, even racing smart, then work on speed endurance type stuff for the next 4-6 weeks. Keep racing though, and here's where you try something different. At the very next race, because you most likely still won't have your endurance built up to get to the end - don't! Instead, make the first 25 to 30 minutes of a crit (or however long you can hang) absolute merry hell for everyone else. Do everything you're not supposed to do. Go off the front from the gun, and stay out there as long as you can. Chase down all the attacks. Be a Pack Diesel. Attack everyone else. Go nuts up the hill. Once you fall off (and you will), work on cornering and technique, and don't quit unless you get pulled. If you do occasional races like this, along with the proper specific and periodized training, you'll suddenly discover that you're out there making merry hell for 40-45 minutes, and that you're still there at the end. This is when you need to start depending on smarts and tactics, because now you've got the horsepower to win, so you just need to put all the other components together.

It takes 5 years to make a bike racer. One of the gals I used to race with started at the tender age of 40, and won Masters' Nats at 44. Age has nothing to do with it. Sheer bloodymindedness (some call it mental fortitude, some call it being pigheaded) goes a very long way.
I call it "being ornery". :) (nm)Mike-Wisc
Apr 2, 2002 10:54 AM
.
I enjoy these postsTravis
Apr 1, 2002 5:57 AM
They are very vivid and allow you to picture the race clearly in your mind's eye. I tend to describe my own race experences like this: Raced, hung for as long as I could, got dropped, mucho suffering, too stubborn to quit, didn't finish last, learned something. I definitely prefer LFR's posts, which allow me learn vicariously from her suffering. Next best thing to doing it yourself. Please keep them coming. My last race was a 30 lap, 50KM circuit race in Japan, with a short, steep uphill followed by a short, twisty downhill where you hit 30+ mph before make a hard 90 degree left turn. The downhill was covered with some kind of red sandpaper-like surface that you knew would skin you alive if you crashed. between the uphill and downhill we rode into a stiff headwind. 30 riders started in an open field, some probably the equivalent of Cat 2's. The average Japanese rider seemed to be about 5'6" and weighing 130lbs with less than 5% bf. The pace was brutal from the get-go and people starting dropping after the 2d lap. Based on advice I have read on RBR, I vowed to finish or die. At one point I was lapped by a 2 man break-away and I picked up the pace and rode with them for 3 laps. To make a long story short I was lapped twice by the 4 riders who made the uphill sprint together to the finish. I ended up in 10th place (the other 20 riders behind me all dropped out). I was totally thrashed, but satisfied.
Thanks LFRallervite
Apr 2, 2002 8:48 AM
I love your posts. You are always full of encouragement and helpful advice, but it is really nice to hear about a pure sprinter getting worked over.

Sorry
surelonefrontranger
Apr 2, 2002 9:25 AM
At least I didn't sit on and wait for the sprint, which is what the other free agent did, and it turned out entirely to her benefit. She never really planned to do a lick of work, was content to ride for third place, and the only reward I got other than a great VO2 max workout was raining on that team's parade. Bridging when we did totally botched their timing, and the free agent 3 took it.

So in the end, a pure sprinter did win, it just wasn't me. Sorry.

I really do have to work on things like bridging and power skills this year, because I'm with a team of stronger riders and I don't have the luxury of sitting on as a simple free agent. I'm going to be a domestique for my Cat 3 teammates at a couple of regional Cat 3/4 stage races, so this stuff is going to be pretty vital.
Maybe a sprinter won but. . .allervite
Apr 3, 2002 2:23 PM
A fresh pair beats a tired fast pair of gams any day.
re: How Did Everyone Do?eschelon
Apr 1, 2002 9:16 AM
First race of the year...1 mile circuit with rolling hills and massive winds like a bit*ch. Field of 54 riders...men and women mixed. Frankie Andreu was doing the B race with us all for a warm up for the A race...I'm sure.

I've been riding for hours all winter on the trainer and slowly phased in intensity the last few weeks...at the very least I figured I could stay with the pack and finish the race. What the hell was I thinking? After 2.5 laps, I was pretty much riding anaerobic the whole time...the wind only made things worse for me.

It makes me mad as hell to think that I had to drop out after 2.5 laps. It makes me feel like I suck and should pack it in and go do something else like drink beer and be a fat bastard. I should've raced in the C race but that's what I did last year. Winning C races has no value if I belong in the B race.

I can't quit though. It's time to seriously re-evaluate my training. This anger and disappointment inside me will fuel me to train that much harder, take rest days more seriously, lose 15 pounds sooner, go to bed earlier, punish and beat my legs and lungs on the hard days harder using my sorry a55 performance at the race as my fuel to keep on enduring the pain. Train on the bike with laser-focused intenisity from now on. I hate losing when I feel like I could've done better. I will kill my mediocrity or it will kill me.
I went skiing. :-)shirt
Apr 1, 2002 3:25 PM
75 and very, very sunny.
re: How Did Everyone Do?Troyboy
Apr 2, 2002 1:03 PM
Pack finish Saturday. Oh well. This was a non-targeted race for me. This Sunday's has been a target, hopefully a better result.
the doublerbrian
Apr 4, 2002 7:25 AM
Hey,

I did the doubler too- Sat. Grant's Tomb criterium at Columbia NYC and Sunday Princeton U. circuit race. Saturday was one of those days, wake up early as hell, not sure if its going to be cold all day or if its gonna warm up, drive 1.5 hours to the race, etc etc. The course had a couple quick 90 degree city block turns, followed by a quick downhill, and sweeping 180 turn to a long gentle uphill finish. The turns and downhill are all about me, but my 6'4" 190 lbs don't agree well with the words "race" and "uphill." Lap one and two were incredibly painful, right off the gun we turned in two 25 mph laps. I was hanging on the back for dear life as people were spit off the pack in the turns. On lap three I railed the inside line on the 180 turn and didn't touch the brakes at all, which catapulted me up to the first 5 guys in our pack. Seeing as it was a crit with unannounced sprint laps I decided to attempt a breakaway just to see what would happen. I sprinted for all I was worth (bad idea) up the hill and had 30 yards at the finish line, at which point they start ringing the bell. I of course was hoping for one more lap to recover a bit and try to consolidate my lead, but as soon as that bell rang the pack hit the gas. I got through the turns nice and quick with nobody around me and still had about 20 yards at teh base of the uphill. However, the effort was too much and I could feel my lead slipping within site of the finish. With about 20 yards to go 3 guys who had broken from the pack nicked me on the line but I still got the final sprint point. At that point the peleton caught me and I resumed my position of hanging on the back of the pack. The other sprint lap came and went, with me recovering on the back. Then, with 3 laps to go a funny thing happened:Our pack caught the pace motorcycle in a quick left/right turn combination and overtook him! I used the confusion of the stopped motorcycle to pick up 4 or 5 places and slipped in the draft. Going in to one lap to go I was about 2/3rds the way back in our group of 20 in the front. I pulled the same trick in the 180 turn and got up in the first 8 or so, where I picked my leadout man and took 4th in the sprint, and 4th overall in our field of 40. My best finish of the season yet, and on a day I felt like crap. Must be the cliff shots :)

Sunday at Princeton was less fun. My first weekend of double racing, and my legs hadn't recovered. Coupled with the fact that there was a longer and steeper climb every lap of 9 laps made things not look so good for me. I guess it didn't help that I was the sole Lehigh rider while the otehr teams seemed to have atleast 3 or 4 people per team. Anyways, this race everyone seemed to use the brakes way too much in the turns, creating the dreaded slow way down, sprint way fast trend in every turn. After 3 laps a 7 person breakway happened and I wasn't in it. Nobody was doing any work to close it, and I sure wasn't in any shape to try to bridge it so I tried to stay in the main group and take the bunch sprint. Around lap 6 I was feeling worse and worse to the point where I threw up in the middle of the climb! However, being not the smartest person I swallowed it back down and attempted to wash the stomach acid out of my mouth with whatever water i had left. Needless to say, the remaining 3 laps were very painful and I ended up middle of the packing the final sprint for 14th outr of 37 I think. Tonite is a training crit over at the velodrome, so we'll see how that goes!

-brian