RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


BodyFat And Losing Muscle.....Both Gotta Go!(15 posts)

BodyFat And Losing Muscle.....Both Gotta Go!BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 23, 2002 10:38 AM
Hey everyone!!!
Ive been putting a heck of a lot of posts up here lately...I guess Im trying to make up for lost time!
hahaha
I was wondering if anyone had any quick ways to lose unwanted muscle mass....As I posted in my previous post I'm 6`4`` 240 pounds but the thing is that my bodyfat is already 10%....I can easily carry 10% BF all year round but getting it any lower and its nearly impossible..I have to constantly starve and ride double what im doing. My goal is to get to as close to 220 as possible....I know the whole deal about when and what to eat...I have a BS in nutrition...but someone always has a cool idea hidden up their sleeve...so if anyone has any...fill me in =)
If not..than Ill just starve like the supermodels do and just be miserable =)
hahaha
stay stoked!
re: BodyFat And Losing Muscle.....Both Gotta Go!speedisgood
Mar 24, 2002 8:17 AM
According to my calculations, your lean mass (LM) is then 216#. At that LM, your 5% BF weight would be around 227#, more than halfway there! At that point, losing 7# of muscle doesn't seem too hard, given that the season hasn't started (for most of us, anyway.)

I would say get extra vigilent with the diet and maybe add a cross training mode of exercise 1 or 2 times a week, until you lose the extra mass. I found that from taking up running about 4 months ago, I've lost about 10 easy # over the winter just from not drinking as much beer (!) and doing an exercise I'm really inefficient at.

I think the key is that inefficiency, I am (we are, as cyclists) so efficient at riding cuz we do it all the time, that we don't burn as many calories as when we first started. At 240#, I wouldn't start running but maybe try a Nordic Trac or something else totally different from the cycling motion and also low impact.

One other thing, I've also taken to drinking a lot (around 3-4 cups) of coffee on an empty stomach before going on long rides. Don't eat for the first 1-1.5 hours of the ride either. Go slow or you'll bonk. Just don't forget to bring some gels or food for later in the ride!

If that doesn't work, you can always try the thermogenic stacks (ephedrine + caffeine) but I don't think anyone really needs to be THAT wired (unless you're out clubbing, but that's another story.)

Hope this helps. Good luck!

Don
Good Point!BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 24, 2002 6:44 PM
I almost forgot the fact that my body is more effecient at cycling than other forms of aerobic exercise...Ill get to the track and start running too!
Good Idea
thanks don!
Don't forget the coffee!speedisgood
Mar 25, 2002 8:01 AM
Also, I've found it's a lot more enjoyable running with a marathon/5k group with lots of women. From a purely motivational standpoint, of course ;-)

Another aside on the inefficiency thing, FWIW, it goes both ways. A marathon runner buddy of mine started training for an ironman last summer and he noticed the same inefficiency & unexpected weight loss when he started logging big miles on the bike.

Just goes to show ya that variety is a GOOD thing . . .
thermogenic stacks are supposed to spare muscleColnagoFE
Mar 25, 2002 8:50 AM
actually the ECA stack is supposed to spare muscle and burn fat. Have been taking one for about a month now and am down 6 lbs...mostly fat around my gut. have increased my aerobic activity. riding the trainer for an hour before work. The ECA stack is pretty speedy feeling at first, but now it doesn't really give me any side effects. You body kinda gets used to that after a couple of weeks though everything I read says the thermogenic properties are still working even though you don't feel wired.
Also . . .speedisgood
Mar 25, 2002 10:05 AM
I remember reading in a muscle mag that the main action of the ECA stack is to decrease appetite. Have you noticed much of that? I guess a corollary to that is don't smoke pot. Not that anyone on THIS forum does that . . . this ain't MTB Review is it? Kidding . . .
appetiteColnagoFE
Mar 25, 2002 10:52 AM
wasn't hungry for 2 weeks and had to force myself to eat, but as i got used to it i got my normal hunger pangs back again. maybe it is decreased a bit, but not by much. suppose it's kinda like if you drink coffee all the time you start to get used to it. am going to cycle off it in another coupla weeks. i was just taking it to jumpstart fat burning and lose weight a bit quicker. definately not something you'd want to be on long term as you gotta keep drinking tons of water as it really dehydrates you since ceffeine is a diuretic. you also have to pee all the time so it can't be too good on your kidneys.
Try chemo. Worked for Lance. (nm)Bruno
Mar 25, 2002 8:31 AM
lots of aerobicsColnagoFE
Mar 25, 2002 8:42 AM
Cut out the heavy weights. You might try high reps lower weight. Increase aerobic activity. Bottom line though and you probably already know this is that you are pretty much stuck with the body type you have. Don't fight a losing battle. Be realistic. Look at lance. He is a pretty muscly guy. Used to be a tri dude and was much bigger. Now he is a much smaller on the upper body which is better for road cycling.
re: BodyFat And Losing Muscle.....Both Gotta Go!brider
Mar 25, 2002 10:19 AM
I agree with cutting out the weights. If you MUST go to the gym, just do the stuff for joint balance. As for ECA stack, be aware that the E in ECA is a bannd substance in the USCF and UCI. Also, there's a lot of CNS stimulation activity, and coming off that stuff is a cast-iron-bitch. Headaches, low-energy. Instead, I'd recommend something along the lines of a thyroid support formla (I've used Biotest's T-2 Pro, which doesn't have to be cycled off, and doesn't suppress natural thyroid function).
IMHO...Jon Billheimer
Mar 25, 2002 4:26 PM
I wouldn't be messing around with any substances or supplements that artificially stimulate your central nervous system or alter your normal hormonal balance. Those sorts of things should be left to physicians to treat genuine medical problems.

With respect to your body composition, ideally you want to be between 5 and 10% bodyfat, as long as whatever level you maintain isn't too stressful. If you have a degree in nutrition, you have to be aware that you're saddled with the genetic package and body type you were born with. That being said, the body adapts efficiently-given its pre-programmed limits--to the s timuli that you give it. So lay off the anabolic weight stuff, ride your bike, run, whatever, and you'll end up with the body weight, muscle composition and bodyfat that represents your own optimal adaptation.
5% bodyfat seems really low...ColnagoFE
Mar 26, 2002 8:43 AM
Unless you are some kind of genetic freak to get to 5% you are gonna really have to work at that through strict diet and LOTS of exercise. 10% is more easily doable by mere mortals in my opinion. Did lance even get much below 6-7% for the TDF? 5% just seems low to me for a maintanable weight--and that's for men...women would never want to be that low. Supplementation is your own decision...it works for some but not without risks. Even drinking coffee and alcohol has risks. What's really the difference between an ECA stack and a few cups of coffee or sodas with caffeine? Both will zap your CNS. Alcohol will depress it. If you want to stay away from CNS stimulation and depression then you should probably stay away from these as well.
Not really . . .speedisgood
Mar 26, 2002 10:56 AM
5% BF is the standard low for healthy men, while 13-15% or so for women (depending on who you ask.) I've worked in the medical field with male athletes (wrestlers, dancers, endurance athletes) who have maintained 5-7% BF w/o TOO much trouble. Yeah, it takes discipline but IMHO not any more than it takes to be on a strict training regimen.

That said, some people are inclined genetically to bottom out higher or lower than "standard." I've seen apparently healthy bodybuilders and dancers at 3-4% for guys and around 10-12% for women. And some big guys (like BLG?) might bottom out at 7-8%. It's an interesting topic and a complicated one at that. Don't even get started on the fat setpoint theory . . .

Don
re: BodyFat And Losing Muscle.....Both Gotta Go!James Curry
Mar 26, 2002 2:13 PM
I would have to agree with Brider. Pseudophedrine is O.K. at an early age, but as you get older it can kill you. It makes your heart skip. Young-uns can take that, old masters can't.
That and it's banned, so why train with it if you can't race with it and win? Losing weight is tough especially at your body fat level. It is increasingly difficult to lose fat the less and less you have. Definatly start swimming! Man, total body shrinkage right there! At that percentage, losing too much fat too soon could hurt you I think. Where's your most precious fuel source then? Maybe start focusing your training on expanding your base-pace. Do long endurance miles I mean like 4-5 hours Sundays, and 3-4 Saturdays. One 2 hour ride Wednesday too! Swim Tuesdays and Thursdays for one hour. Eat 2 lunches while riding. Do that for one month and I think you will lose all the weight you need.
Havent Touched a Weight!BigLeadOutGuy
Mar 25, 2002 6:12 PM
Thanks for all the input everyone! I appreciate it
I havent lifted a weight in years so laying off the weights isnt much of an option =(
I figure ill just double my ride times when the days get longer and warmer...that should help alot. But I think Im just kinda stuck with this bodytype =( Last winter at this time I was weighing closer to 270 pounds so im a lot better off =)
And on a lighter note...I wasnt dropped on any of the climbs this past weekend that would normally scoot me off the back of the pack....so thats pretty good =)

thanks again