RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


CAT5 races seem to be short so...(13 posts)

CAT5 races seem to be short so...aet
Feb 19, 2002 12:42 PM
should i chill on the long rides and start doing mostly intervals and whatnot? i looked at a website and none of the cat5 races around here seem to be over 25 miles.
i want to race my 1st one in may. since my training rides are longer than that, should i start to do intervals or something to get faster or should i stick with aerobic conditioning for another month or so? this year i have only been able to ride 4 or 5 times a week for one wek.

Thanks.
re: CAT5 races seem to be short so...Troyboy
Feb 19, 2002 1:23 PM
Most of the cat 5 or 4/5 races I've seen are 45 min + 5 laps or 55 minutes. If you've never raced before, in my opinion, you'll likely be surprised at the speeds. There is simply no let up. If you've been training for months at much longer distance, yes, it's time to change. Concentrate on your technical skills, cornering, short sprints, accelerating out of corners, speed work in general. Most racers that are annualized spend Nov and Dec with foundation building and start to move into interval and speed work in mid-Jan or so.
25 miles!allervite
Feb 19, 2002 1:44 PM
Wow that is short. Whether you should start doing speed work depends more on when your race is rather than how long it is. You want to become as efficient as possible below LT to benfit as much as possible from work done above LT.

I would suggest about 12 weeks from your first race you start working on speed and power. You could start as much as 20 weeks out or as little as 4. It all depends on how serious you want to be.

Keep at least one long endurance ride in the schedule each week though.
re: CAT5 races seem to be short so...Eric16
Feb 19, 2002 2:28 PM
You have plenty of time before you start racing so I'd say just stick to your training until you get a good base and then maybe sprinkle in some intervals. Yes, the Cat V races are short, but riding them smartly will help you more than anything else. Make sure you race towards the front of the group the entire race and you'll do fine! good luck.
How long you planning on being cat V?brider
Feb 19, 2002 2:39 PM
As I remember it, you upgrade to cat 4 ASAP, so the race distances increase. Keep doing the longer rides (50+ miles on the long days), and start putting in some more quality sessions -- intervals, hill climb intervals, sprints, etc. I'd recommend two long rides, two more intense days, and two just spin days with one day completely off.
some people need...merckx56
Feb 20, 2002 8:05 AM
to stay in the fives until they can prove that they can do more than get in the way. the rules say you must do ten cat.5 races before an upgrade. granted, some upgrade way before that and quickly find out that they need to work on their skills and fitness. you will quickly find that there is a huge disparity of talent, or lack thereof, in the fours and threes. there are guys in both that should either be in a lower (numerically) cat (sandbaggers) or shouldn't be in that cat at all (OVER THEIR HEAD). if you've never raced before, stay in the fives for at least a half a dozen races, just to get your feet good and wet.
Good advice! (nm)allervite
Feb 20, 2002 10:56 AM
Sand Baggers......CARBON110
Feb 20, 2002 2:05 PM
Sand Baggers SUCK! I loath people who race the 4 or 5 races that can compete in cat 2 races. I havent seen many in cat 3 races though.Cat3s races are far better then 4s and 5s. Or when mtn bike pros decide they want a workout and hit a local road race that you traveled 4 hours too and spent alot $ to get to or from and then they pull in minutes ahead of everyone else. Yeah those people rock. They ought to be fined for that. I know a few of these guys and never let them live it down. I keep telling them they belong in junior races instead
you're just a hater b/c you cant winstr8dum1
Feb 21, 2002 7:28 AM
and if you win alot, doesnt that make you a sandbagger? hypocrit
you're just a hater b/c you cant winmerckx56
Feb 21, 2002 7:58 AM
no, if you win alot, you should be a 2. go ahead and cat up so you can taste the pain. stop justifying the fact that you can beat a bunch of newbies and fat guys in the 5's and step up. pro 1,2 races are immeasurably harder than a 4 race, and usually a 3 race. trust me, i know whereof i speak!
Is a "hypocrit" a sandbagger in a criterium?shirt
Feb 21, 2002 2:03 PM
I'm not sure what a sandbagger is. I was a 2 WAY BACK in the 80s and now I do Masters 4/5 races. I've never won one, but I'm always in the top ten. Am I a sandbagger?

Regarding Pro mtb'ers crossing over, aren't they supposedly "forced" to race at 3 as a minumum? I thought they were...
Is a "hypocrit" a sandbagger in a criterium?merckx56
Feb 21, 2002 3:05 PM
pro mtb guys have the choice to race threes or jump into the pro 1,2 field. most race with the bog dogs. trust me when i tell you, a good number of pro mtb guys are very competitive in a pro race. a sandbagger is a hypocrit, to me, when they kill everyone on the group ride and pat themselves on the back for winning the local cat 5 race.
as for masters, those freakin' races are at least as fast as any three race! i jumped into a few masters 30+ fields last year for a warm-up prior to my race and was shocked by how fast it was! you have to consider that most of the 30-40 y.o. guys that race in this field are ones and twos, but don't want the punishment of a 90 minute crit. i've sandbagged a few times, but it was at the request of the juniors i coach. i sheparded them until five to go in a three race, and let them battle for the win. i didn't chase the breaks, i let them do it, but i did tell them when it was time to chase.
Doing the right thingsBobo
Feb 22, 2002 12:19 PM
Kudos to you for giving back to the sport and developing young/new talent. Hopefully these guys know how lucky they are to have someone help them tactically.