RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Training for the HILL(12 posts)

Training for the HILLcritter
Jan 31, 2002 3:07 PM
1. There is a race I am doing that ahs a three-mile climb that is the deciding factor in the race. Repeated and vicious attacks are certain on this hill. I am asking for ideas on how to best train for that part of the race. I have a good 1500 miles of base work this season and have done a fair amount of solid climbing at or below threshold in preparation for this bugger. What I don’t have is a plan for the anaerobic part of my training for my preparation. I have got two and half months to go and want to make the best of it. I need some specifics. Allervite I expect insightful and ground breaking stuff out of you!
re: Training for the HILLCARBON110
Jan 31, 2002 6:03 PM
Is this race in Mass.? In late April? If it is, I know the one. My plan is to continue with threshold training with intervals of high tension and low cadence. I live in a place that has miles and miles of gradual or steep hills. This time of year i stay in the gradual. I am also continuing my strength training. I have 2 group rides a week that started last week that are great testing ground. In the first 2 weeks of march I will start my local crit and use that as a " c " race for interval training. Then I will up the intesity during my rides until early april. Then I will increase the intesity on steep steep hills like Beach MTN but with less volume in training so I can peak late April for this race and 4 others. I save the anaerobic for the last 3-4 weeks.
Although I just got a coach, so he may tell me I am wrong, but thats what I was going to do before acquiring a coach.

best,
Allervite your opinion please :)
Which Race in Mass ?PatM
Feb 1, 2002 4:55 AM
I was thinking about going to watch the Adelphia GP - just to see what the pace was like. Pretty sure that is a flat crit. What race are you talking about ? Palmer, Monson ?

Thanks
Which Race in Mass ?CARBON110
Feb 1, 2002 6:53 AM
Yeah, I want a win at the Monson race this year. Its only 32 miles instead of the usual 40, but its right after Palmers 60mile road race. That last hill is when I am going to hammer. Its long enough so only the really good climbers will keep up. It was the first race I ever went to. After the Monson race, there are all the classic Mass races too. Hillburn, Housatonic, cloud splitter stage race, and the sterling road race. Great time to peak for me. How about you? You sound familiar with Mass. Whats your plan?

cheers
Which Race in Mass ?PatM
Feb 1, 2002 7:19 AM
Live in eastern mass, after a long lay off(7 yrs), off the bike I started riding seriously again last year. Never really raced, always trained for centuries. But this year I want to give it a try. So this year my only plan was to do the tue or wed crits at wompatuk and see how I do, maybe try something june or late in the season or wait for adelphia a year from now - depends. Have to drop some lbs before anything !
But if I have time I might go out and be a spectator
re: Training for the HILLbrider
Feb 1, 2002 8:43 AM
Are you on a team? If not, get on one NOW. Do their training rides, especially the hard ones where there are a lot of attacks, sprints, etc. If you're a climber type, then get used to repeated hard efforts on a climb, and being able to settle into a rhythm after an attack without blowing up. There's a lot of knowing your body that's a big part of these types of climbs. Also, learn the hill INTIMATELY, and know where YOU'D like to make a deciding move.
re: Training for the HILLCARBON110
Feb 1, 2002 9:31 AM
I would suggest trying out any race. Its the only way you know. Time Trials are great, Road Races are just plain fun and crits are alot of anaerobic and sprinting, but alot of fun. Dont worry to much about even finishing a race. Have faith in your training too. If you think you preparedd enough for it, then you most likely did. I found " teams " in cat. 4 or 5 doesnt mean much. Its a good idea none the less and group rides especially hard ones make enourmous benefits for racing. Everyone is a little nervous at a race unless its a race they are doing just for kicks or to see how their fitness is. Joe Friel calls those races "c" races. Meaning you train hard before and after the race but your not aiming to win. "b" and "a" races mean a little more. I recommend anyone read Friels Training Bible. Its a wealth of info. By the way dont start doing anaerobic to soon. Good luck, I hope I see you there at some of the Races....just behind me ( LoL )

best,
re: Training for the HILLZipper
Feb 1, 2002 9:56 AM
Thanks for all your input. I think (based on what I've read) I need to train for this by doing sustained climbing efforts at or just below LT interspersed with some attack simluation then return to LT. BTW: the race is on the left coast.
weight?Dog
Feb 5, 2002 10:54 AM
Did anyone mention losing weight (if you can)? Hills are about power to weight ratio. Get that body fat down, and you'll go faster.

Doug
Do I detect a hint of sarcasm? Nagghhhh!allervite
Feb 5, 2002 3:01 PM
It's all good. So Zipper and Critter are the same person. Hmmm, I wonder how many other split personalities we have around here.

Sorry, I don't have anything ground breaking. Pretty much just regurgitation from a lot of other sources. I think anyone who has read a lot of Burke recognizes the plagarism. However, you can't get it all in a book. I wasted the better part of my racing years overtraining.

As for your question. It is a tricky one. All the above posts give great advice: Work on strength, train in the hills, know the course, loose weight. As for the anaerobic prep, be careful. Too improve your anaerobic performance is to raise your threshold. There are more than a few ways to do this, but I will simplify: Work on your base so that you become more efficient and can produce more power before reaching threshold. Work on strength so you can produce more power before reaching threshold (my beloved strength intervals).

I believe you have already done the above two things. So you are ready to start working beyond threshold. This is where Brider's advice comes in. To get better at AT, go there and visit the pain. The tricky part is that if you go there too often too soon, you will peak too soon and show up to your race flat. Once you have peaked you have two to four weeks of good legs (unless your Zabel). So as long as you come close, you'll be ok. I can bring a peak on in about four weeks. However, the longer you build toward your peak the higher the peak (a la Lance's Tour prep). Everyone is different though.

As for my ground breaking insight, gradually phase in the anaerobic efforts (I would do them on a hill), listen to your body and be sure you are well rested between each effort. Do not do more than two hard anaerobic workouts a week. The length of each effort depends on your fitness, but you should be wasted after each workout and need a few days off to recover.

When I talk about doing these anaerobic efforts, I am not talking about those short sessions we see in a normal interval session or group ride. I am talking lung searing sustained race efforts. If you can blow yourself up on one of the efforts, then you did well.
Do I detect a hint of sarcasm? Nagghhhh!Zipper
Feb 6, 2002 7:37 AM
Sorry to disappoint Allervite but no multiple personalty here. At least the voice in head says so. No, I was at friends house and he was going to post the question but could not type very well I posted but forgot to change the name. No sarcasm either. While I do not always agree with your comments I respect your opinions.
Thanks Zip.allervite
Feb 6, 2002 12:37 PM
So you and critter are friends. Good luck with your race. Which one was it by the way?