RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Do you, have you raced?(17 posts)

Do you, have you raced?allervite
Dec 17, 2001 12:27 PM
I have entered running races, road races and mtb races. I am a better mtb racer than anything, but I love the tactics of road racing and I love to sprint.
re: Do you, have you raced?brider
Dec 17, 2001 12:47 PM
You should give the velodrome a try!! If you like to sprint, you'll get plenty of chances to do so, not just once at the end of a race or on a couple prime laps. Miss-n-out is my favorite (I don't have anything near a blazing sprint). Myself, I've also done running races, also triathlons, road, track, and MTB. I've also done a couple 'cross races, but I'm not really into it.
I knew you had.allervite
Dec 17, 2001 2:45 PM
I knew by reading your posts that you had done a fair amount of racing. I doubt many of the guys who post on this site have ever raced. Especially when one of them comments on how easy it is. "Just a group ride with a sprint at the end." I once read.

I would love to try the track, but the nearest velodrome is about 200 miles away. I am not the greatest sprinter, but I'm fair. I raced many seasons on the dirt without loosing a sprint (unless I crashed). In my first road race, a hilly Cat 4,5. I killed them in the bunch sprint for third place (first and second went to a couple of MTB Pros). So I thought I was Mario. I joined the local USCF club and learned that I was more like the "Lizard King" instead of the "Lion King." One guy in our club used to Sprint against Phinney. Another almost was on the Olympic team. another was once a high nationaly ranked Triathlete. Even one of the women did the Iron Man and another woman did the ecochallenge. We also get quite a few ex-europros who show up and a few current ones. Once on a group ride one of the juniors rode up to me and said "Do any famous guys show up for this ride?" I pointed to Nathan Dahlburgh from Motorola and said "That guy in the red helmet did the Tour de France a few times." I've learned to be humble. Give me a good short uphill sprint though, and I am pretty confident.
re: I do, I haveshirt
Dec 17, 2001 1:01 PM
Road race
Track and X-C in school
Ski (GS as a kid.)
Motorcycle (7 years roadracing)

Also: I'm the Undefeated World Champion of the 'Motathlon.' What, you've never heard of that? It's a motorcycle race followed by a bicycle race. I won the only one I'm aware of having been organized. Hell, I'd cross the country to do another; it's the only race type I can ever dream of winning (I won an easy chair shaped like an open hand, too. Wow!)
Easy Chairallervite
Dec 17, 2001 2:28 PM
Sounds like its going to take you a while to complete that set.
re: Do you, have you raced?Daniel H.
Dec 18, 2001 6:04 PM
Yes I do. I'm a 5. I entered in two criteriums last year. Got third in one and crashed out of the other w/ four laps to go and feeling good. Then the season was over and I was sent to Diego Garcia where there is a meager cycling culture. I now enter in every bike race that I can and I won the last one in a four strong sprint at the end. I know that it is a miniscule race but my first win is always going to be special. Back home I used to ride with a guy, Sam Baker that, prior to an injury, used to be Marty Nothstien's training partner and an olympic hopeful, as well. That guy can sprint!
Coolallervite
Dec 18, 2001 9:05 PM
Sounds like you have some talent Daniel. Cat 5 is harder than most nonracing cyclists think. Why did you crash? Where is Diego Garcia?
CoolDaniel H.
Dec 18, 2001 10:52 PM
Well first off I have been seriously training for a year and a half. I have been steadily improving in fitness and skills over that time.
I crashed in the race because a junior that was racing decided to cross my front wheel at speed. OUCH!
Diego Garcia is in the Chagos archepeligo about 1200 miles south of Sri Lanka. A tiny, tiny island that is sending lots of bombs to afghanistan. I am in the Navy, and will be stationed here for about eight more months, until the end of my enlistment. We just had a 50k road race that averaged 24.2 MPH, so there are some good legs here.
Coolallervite
Dec 18, 2001 11:26 PM
No doubt! That is a good pace. You are going to come back to the states and kick our Charmin wiped asses. Are there any good climbs there?

It is widely held that it takes four or five years of serious training to hit your stride. So you are doing well.

P.S. Don't drink the water man, and watch those overlapped wheels you never know who they belong to.
CoolDaniel H.
Dec 19, 2001 7:04 PM
Yea I hear you. THere aren't any climbs here at all. The island is a corral atol with a land mass of 25 square miles. the only real road is 17 miles long, so I know the scenery real well by now. the mean elevation is 4 feet and the high elevation is 16 feet, I have to simulate a lot of climbing. I just gear down to my 52-11 or 12 and churn it out at 55 rpm or so. Seems to be working well.
I don't drink the water, and I now know about overlapping wheels. In the race, it wasn't like that though. it was a kid in the other side of a double paceline that just suddenly decided, after a corner that he would jump in front of me into my line. He did it too fast to react to so I went down hard. Destroyed my helmet, and some Pearl izumi microsensor bibs but the bike was O.K.
I think that I very well may come back to california as the strongest 5 in the state. I think that I am on par for the 4's that I was racing against and mabey above par. So with eight more months of training under my belt I think that I should do well.
Do they give Mtn. Primes on that Island Mon?allervite
Dec 19, 2001 10:37 PM
That kind of big gear workout will give you a ton of power. You should really focus on the climbing when you get back though.

About the crash, as long as you can still ride and your bike is OK. Then alls well that ends well. Kinda scary though isn't it. I have never been scared as I was crashing, but pretty scared when I look around and see the carnage. I once had a guy ride into the back of me. His wheel went up over my back wheel and hit me in the butt, then he went down. Another time, we were all spread across the road in full sprint and there was some gravel on the road. Luckily I was one of the front guys. I heard some skidding and then some grunting and that horrible sound of metal on pavement. Then this guy comes sliding up beside me on his back on the pavement. We even made eye contact. It was just a split second thing, but it was wierd!

I am sure you will be one of the strongest, but will you be one of the smartest. I ride with a guy who can outclimb me and out time trial me (he can't outsprint me). He can't beat me in a crit. I usually ride the stupidest when I have the best form. I get this attitude of I can cover everything, and then I loose.
cat 5 climb isn't = to 4ft over 2 milesDaniel H.
Dec 20, 2001 3:17 AM
I have to say that I have never had someone ride over me. That sounds just Crazy!
That was one good thing about that crash,I was near the back. I hear you about the tactics of racing. In america though, It seems that until you hit the higher ranks of racers you mainly have crit's to race. This leaves you with the usual fast furious sprint finish. That is why I am focusing on power right now. I want to get back to the states and be able to chill with the pack and at the end, have a mean sprint.
Thanks for the insight.
Strategyallervite
Dec 20, 2001 11:50 AM
There are quite a few road races in Nor Cal. The Eagle Lake Omnium is a three event race where an overall is awarded in each class: Prologue, Crit, Hilly 70 mi. RR. It is one of the few chances you get to have a taste of stage racing. Check out the "NCNCA Feed Zone" on the web. It's around mid June. It is such a cool race. There's always a few pros there trying to snipe some prize money too. If you are back by then and want to make the journey you can stay with us. 5 or 6 of us camp at a lake near the race. dean_william@email.msn.com.

At the Cat 4/5 level it is usually your bad racing tactics that beat you, not someone elses good tactics. Although I have seen the Davis Bike Club really work the pack over.

If I was you I would think about going with some of those late race attacks or maybe even creating one. With your power there is a good chance you'll stay away. The Cat 4/5 can surge up to about 34 miles an hour, but rarely works together enough to maintain a good speed. If you can get out of sight, you have a pretty good chance.

Remember also, you are going to peak and then you will get slower. Take a rest and don't ride yourself into the ground. A Cat 5 with a good peak will beat a Cat 3 who has tried to ride past his peak.
StrategyDaniel H.
Dec 21, 2001 7:32 PM
That sounds like a really cool omnium. Unfortunatly I will probably only get back around the end of august, mabey at the begining of the month if I am lucky. Here I have a 40k time-trial tomarrow, so I am stoked for it, I hear you about the peaking cycle. I tried it for the first time for the 50k RR and it worked well. I know that it did because I was running +5-8bpm over my previous LT and was still feeling O.K. . on the sprint I Hit an all time high max heart rate of 199 acording to my polar. I am back in a base building phase right now. I want to come back to the states with a huge aerobic base that I can build off of going into the '03 racing season, I might even try some cross to see if I like it, in the winter months. Do you know anything about cross? What kind of format it is usually in? How long? etc. Are there any races that are late in the year like august of early september? I wouldn't mind traveling a bit. I will probably try to keep the travel within california.
CrossHell-o-matiK
Dec 24, 2001 1:47 PM
I was doing XC before starting RR, still doing some but just for the fun of it. You will outperformed most of the XC racers becuz a lot of them aren't doing RR, your massive areobic base built in RR will be REALLY usefull. Still it's a different sport becuz of the tactics on hills,flat, ground and handling.
-Guillaume
re: Do you, have you raced?mclements
Dec 21, 2001 12:00 PM
Raced 4 then 3 back in the mid to late 80s when I was in college.

Now I avoid "races" but do endurance events both MTB and road. This year I did a few century rides and completed La Ruta de los Conquistadores. If you want to know what La Ruta is like check out these links:
http://www.adventurerace.com/framesetRuta.html
http://mclements.net/Ruta/mrc-ruta.html

Next year it's Davis Double, Sojoul Century and more century rides.

Cheers,
re: Do you, have you raced?RayBan
Jan 8, 2002 9:12 AM
Yes, Ive done road, MTB, a bit of track too. I raced a lot more when I didn't have kids but now that I have 2 boys, I don't follow such a detailed training regimen to race anymore. I do ride still and love it, and will probably do a few races this coming year MTB, Time trial, heck maybe even a BMX race!! but nothing compared to my riding/racing from the mid to late 90s. The passion is still there and will never leave :)