RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


creatine(17 posts)

creatinedaveo
Oct 23, 2001 8:27 PM
what are your thoughts/beliefs about creatine? How benificial is it? What is the most effective way to use it?
re: creatinebrider
Oct 24, 2001 5:13 AM
For the most part, creatine will be of little use to a cyclist, unless all you do is match sprints. The idea behind creatine is that it aids the ATP regeneration cycle by lending a phosphate. What it tends to do as well is to volumize the muscle tissue with extra water, increasing muscle size, and can increase contractile strength somewhat. This effect is only available as long as you take creatine -- once you stop taking it, this benefit disapears. Along with that, many people have extreme stomach cramping and diarhea. So it's not going to be of great use to the cyclist. But if you decide to take it anyway, the most common dosing pattern is to go with 20mg per day for 5 days, then 5mg per day thereafter.
re: creatineCyclorocket
Oct 24, 2001 5:21 PM
You take the can of creatine and put it into the garbage...
Training is the way to perform.
Pills and drugs are the way to die fast AND be a faggot.

(I eat chips and eat 1lbs meat AT LEAST each day and I only weight in 135-140lbs for 5'10
I can do 200lbs 3 times on the bench(...the third is VERY long)
I'm 17yo)

...I never did a 10km TT at 40kph though...
but I just bough my trainer (1month and 849km) so watch my ass next season !
-Guillaume
.nice post.filtersweep
Oct 27, 2001 8:22 AM
nothing like contributing to the discussion by providing nothing more than your know-it-all opinion with nothing else to back it up. I do appreciate the fact that you posted your age.

Creatine is neither a drug nor a pill-
.nice post.Creatine is neither a drug nor
Oct 28, 2001 6:32 PM
You shoulda'v watch your mouth !

Here's your final test question :

We 'v got 1 guy asking how much mg of creatine should he take, what are the concequences bla-bla-bla.

Question : Is creatine a drug or pill or neither of the two ?¿

Indeed : you phuckT-up in your last post

-Guillaume

and I hope you are not one of those assh0le taking bullshits witch ruines the sport AND competiton.
.nice post.filtersweep
Nov 1, 2001 6:19 PM
Guillaume:

Your own body produces creatine-

I'll refrain from responding to your adolecent ramblings....

Quote: http://www.absolute-creatine.com/
"[From: Kilo Sports: Typical Analysis

Creatine Monohydrate has the formula C4H9N3O2-H20. Creatine is the guanidine- derived, phosphorylated compound which maintains cellular ATP homeostasis in the higher animals.

Pharmacology

Creatine occurs in highest concentrations in skeletal muscle, followed by cardiac and smooth muscle, brain, kidney and spermatozoa. Strenuous exercise rapidly uses up cellular reserves of creatine phosphate to replace ATP, the only chemical that powers muscle contraction and relaxation. Creatine Monohydrate is a very bioavailable source of creatine, which can readily combine with normally abundant phosphorus stores to replace creatine phosphate.
You have failed your testCyclorocket
Nov 2, 2001 5:29 AM
read this in order to understand your errors:
daveo 11/1/01 6:19pm

brider 10/24/01 6:13am

-Guillaume
enough said
errors?filtersweep
Nov 2, 2001 4:41 PM
To all: Sorry I replied to the knee-jerk bigoted flame-bait of a juvenile reprobate (but sometimes I cannot help myself)-

To Guillaume (aka potty mouth): my follow-up post has nothing to do with whether or not it is USEFUL to a cyclist, but rather with whether it is a DRUG or not... the very issue you seem stuck on. Obviously from your well-chosen words regarding "faggots" I should have seen this coming. Creatine is found in food we already eat. I'm passing no judgement on its use, just stating a fact. It is not the sort of thing that can kill you, as your initial post implies, nor will its use inflict a black eye on the sport in a way akin to anabolic steroids, growth hormones, blood doping, etc...

I assume your browser can access other websites other than this forum. You might benefit from some critical thinking and branch out to other websites rather than relying on the semi-anonymous postings of others...
did you pass your 7th grade ?Cyclorocket
Nov 3, 2001 11:15 AM
"knee-jerk bigoted flame-bait of a juvenile reprobate" Fortunaltly I'm not good in english so I don't understand this long expression

Going back to creatine now ! Remember your 6o7th grade ? You leaned how to understand the real point of a text; exemple :
Creatine Story
-brider:
"This effect is only available as long as you take creatine -- once you stop taking it, this benefit disapears. Along with that, many people have extreme stomach cramping and diarhea[...]But if you decide to take it anyway, the most common dosing pattern is to go with 20mg per day for 5 days, then 5mg per day thereafter"
-cyclorocket
"You take the can of creatine and put it into the garbage"
-filtersweep
"Creatine is neither a drug nor a pill"
-...

Question 1 : Who does not understand the situation in this dialogue?

Hints : marrijuana (spelling!) gives a big dosage of TCP(in french), the brain already produces TCP; taking 25mg of creatine, the muscles (I suspect) already produces creatine.

...I think WE just got mess-up: "my follow-up post has nothing to do with whether or not it is USEFUL to a cyclist, but rather with whether it is a DRUG or not..." :
I though you were fitghing on the side of brider.

-Guillaume
concur with brider; Cyclorocket, chill out.dsc
Oct 24, 2001 8:06 PM
As a cyclist who's been involved with strength training for a long time, I agree completely with brider. Although some recent studies have suggested an increase in sprint performance (done on 100m runners, I believe), creatine is mainly used by competitive bodybuilders to increase muscle size by increasing the amount of water retained in the muscle. And yes, the effect does go away after you stop using it.
And Cyclorocket, at your age you may be able to eat the way you do and still stay skinny & somewhat strong, but if you continue, you will become a prime candidate for coronary thrombosis (two words: Jim Fixx). daveo asked for some legitimate information, and your reply was sophomoric at best, hate-laced at worst.

Good luck,
-Debi
concur with brider; Cyclorocket, chill out.Cyclorocket
Oct 25, 2001 4:34 AM
It's time the stop racing bud.
If the 100m runners cut their fingers to run faster, will you do the same?

-Guillaume
enough said
concur with brider; Cyclorocket, chill out.dsc
Oct 25, 2001 2:37 PM
1.) I don't race
2.) If you bothered to actually read my post, I never said that I take creatine; in fact, I agreed completely with the first poster, who said that creatine would NOT help the endurance cyclist.
3.) did you look at my name? I am not a Bud, bud

-Debi
lolCyclorocket
Oct 25, 2001 3:39 PM
re: creatinenon-sprinter
Oct 25, 2001 12:04 PM
I have taken creatine, before. I noticed weight gain, and an increased ability in anaerobic events. It's good for sprinters and other total power based events. But for long distance, I don't think the extra weight and power that only comes during explosive effort helps.
re: creatineJustin
Oct 30, 2001 10:32 AM
In college when I was participating in strength/sprinting sports I gave creatine a try. I found some initial strength and mass gains. But with them came increased susceptibility to cramping. Staying hydrated was a real problem when actually competing. That coupled with the unknown health risks of supersaturating your system (Kidneys? Liver?) caused me to quickly go off it. For football you can probably use it and benefit. In semi-aerobic sports such as Basketball and Tennis it was no good. For cycling I'd assume it's even more detrimental as I couldn't run more than 1 mile on the stuff without cramping in my calves or hammies. Although I never used it concurrent with my cycling, I think it would likely hinder cycling ability and the gains in sprinting would be moot b/c cramping would get you dropped from the pack. Plus I'm leery of the health risks. I still hit the weights and a lot of the other guys at the gym take this, and other stuff, which is a bad idea in my opinion. If it's a matter of putting food on the table (Pro Athlete) and it gives an edge to keep you in the game you may deem it worth the risk. For everyone else athletics are just recreation. I think the unknowns effects of usage aren't worth the risk even if it were performance enhancing in your cycling. I think creatine would hurt your cycling and maybe more so it's a no brainer as to whether to use it in cycling.
re: creatineSleazyD
Nov 10, 2001 7:51 AM
Creatine taken over an extended period of time creates a high risk of kidney disease. I took creatine for a short while and noticed weight gain (mainly from increased water retention in the muscles) but not much strength gain. So I looked up some scientific info to find out why i wasn't gaining much in the strength department. What I found out is that a study done showed that creatine only added 5-10% strength in the test group. But they did gain weight. However, I would think that this added weight would not benefit any type of cyclist. It seems to me that cyclists need strength without weight. To really gain weight from strength training, to some degree you have to be genetically predispositioned to weight gain of that type. Most people are not like this. With normal weight training, most people will notice significant gains in strength without much gain in weight. Maybe even no weight gain if you're cardio trainging at the same time.
re: creatineOzzie
Nov 30, 2001 5:14 PM
Shame that the discussion lost its way......

BUT

Here are a few points about creatine. Creatine can be beneficial to the cyclist (track, sprint or endurance). The way the Creatine is used is what is important. Simply following the guidelines of 4x5g for 5 days and then maintenance is for PURE STRENGTH programs and is not what the cyclist needs. Research a little more, read more and find a reliable reference point. The side of the bottle isn't where it is at.

Creatine DOES cause you to retain water and therefore gain a little weight however the BIGGEST BENEFIT of it is the SLOW LOAD which if taken with your POST RIDE recovery drink of protein, amino and carbohydrates PLUS 2-5gms of creatine will increase your GLYCOGEN storage to higher levels than before.

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN for your cycling? It means you slowly gain strength, your body adapts to the increase of creatine levels slowly without the cramps and your glycogen levels replenish quicker, you can ride further or slightly faster, you can ride a few more days per month and you are training more. Your getting better, faster and able to ride a little further.

Read OPTIMIM SPORTS NUTRITION by Colgan IBSN 0-9624840-5-9 for a lot of great information you can really use.

Also consult http://www.jbst.com/factsheets.html for peer reviewed studies from someone who knows what they are talking about.

In the end hard work and a little intelligence will yield the results.

Oh and I ride the 40K TT in 57 minutes if that is worth anything to anyone other than me.

Happy riding.