RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Bikes with crit geometry(12 posts)

Bikes with crit geometryMeMyselfandI
Sep 16, 2001 9:12 AM
I've decided to ditch my Cannondale over winter because I feel as if the bike is more of a road bike, than a criterium bike. Seems to be slow out of corners and such.
I've got until March to replace it, so, what brands should I look at that have the kind of geometry I'm looking for?
I'm also curious.k
Sep 17, 2001 7:01 AM
about the differences in geomotry and some suggesed models. I don't think I'm at a level where it would make much of a difference but was curious on that also.

thanks
I'm also curious.Dougal
Sep 17, 2001 7:16 AM
Unless its got an engine the thing that's making it slow out of corners (and such) would be you. C-dales are renowned for being stiff bikes, in fact some people don't like them because of this very thing. However...

The parts of bike goemetry that matter for acceleration are wheelbase (as short as possible), chain stay length (ditto) and to an extent the seat tube angle (if you ever sit down whilst accelerating). However, weight is probably far more important than all these things combined.

Just remember, pros never win or lose races because of the bikes they're riding. Its even more the case as you drop down through the ranks...
Bottom bracket heightJS
Sep 17, 2001 12:05 PM
is probably the first thing that gets changed when a bike is made for crit racing. By raising the BB there is less chance of catching a pedal when pedaling through corners, which is the sign of a seasoned crit warrior. A short wheelbase stiff bike is also desireable.
Bad wordingMeMyselfandI
Sep 17, 2001 1:56 PM
Not out of corners, through corners. Comparison with an older bike I have say it is the Cannondale and not the motor. On re-evaluation, the question I should've asked is, "what brand of bike has cornering geometry?"
consider GiantDuane Gran
Sep 17, 2001 11:35 AM
I have a Giant TCR (team edition) that corners like it reads my mind. Unfortunately my mind isn't that gutsy, but it is a great crit bike in my opinion. As we all know, the rider makes more of a difference, but if you are set on making a change, this bike is worth a test ride. As another person mentioned, a shorter wheelbase is ideal for crits. The Giant has a bladed fork (no rake) and short chain stays. It is worth a look.
Will I fit?MeMyselfandI
Sep 17, 2001 1:53 PM
The cannondale I am replacing is a 60cm. The large is listed on the website as 55.5cm.
Will I fit?SpinGiant
Sep 21, 2001 12:45 PM
The 55.5 (large) should work. It is a compact frame. For reference, I'm 6'1" and generally fit a standard-geometry 58. The Giant TCR 2 fits me perfectly with stock seat, seat post, stem and bars. Great bike, by the way. I can see it doing well in crits, but I would think the 105 group would have to be upgraded.
the best crit bike...jaybird
Sep 18, 2001 5:57 AM
or one of the best anyway, is the Litespeed Ultimate.

mostly depends on you though.
re: Bikes with crit geometryDougal
Sep 18, 2001 7:38 AM
Ah OK, gotcha.

Firstly the Giant is a compact frame witha sloping top tube, so the large will fit once you've got the right size of stem and seat post in there. I've got a medium OCR and I swear by it.

As for the feeling that you're looking for, its pretty much personal. Like I say, a good few people like Cannondales because they're stiff and good for cornering and acceleration. But you don't, which is completely in your rights!

What to do is, work out your price range, see what bikes are avalible and then ride as many as you can. The feel of the bike is a very personal thing that depends quite a lot on your build and weight.

I basically would look at it as an excuse for spending a lot of time looking at bikes!

Good luck...
re: Bikes with crit geometryWoof the dog
Sep 18, 2001 10:02 PM
just go with a custom Al frame if some company makes 'em. Its funny how everyone here says its the rider and not the bike. Maybe post same thing on cyclingforum and some of them will probably tell what to change if you tell them the current measurements. Sorry, don't have too much to add.

Sincerely

Woof the dog.
re: Bikes with crit geometrycyclequip
Sep 19, 2001 3:53 AM
It might interest you to know that in western Europe where criterium racing (kermesse) is popular, most riders use standard geometry frames with alternate wheelsets. True crit bikes have high BB's and steep seat/head tubes with a more forward sitting position. Good handling is more a function of your position on the bike - how close you can get to a 40-45%/60-55% front/rear weight distribution when cornering in the drops, as it is good wheels and tyres.