RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Buying pro uniforms(11 posts)

Buying pro uniformsGreyhound
Sep 8, 2001 7:39 PM
I want to take a poll of you if I may, just out of curiousity. Buying and wearing pro team clothes from WCP or euroduds: team wanaby or fan support? good or bad? On a related note: buying tdf yellow, green or poka dot jerseys and wearing them, good or bad. Discuss amongkst yourselves.
re: Buying pro uniformsAvanti Guy
Sep 9, 2001 11:13 PM
Team jerseys are ok, I still cringe though when I see people fully kitted out on a Trek 5500 and full USPS gear including socks :)...

Still its what they want to wear and I dont mind what they look like.
With that said though yellow jerseys, rainbow world champion colours ect are to be earned. So if you won a World Championship feel free to wear your colours, if not I suggest you dont.
re: Buying pro uniformsPack Meat
Sep 10, 2001 11:05 AM
I think I may have to change my opinion on the subject. Personally I think it's bad to wear team duds unless it's retro and the team doesn't exist anymore, team Zed is a good example. Wearing pro team duds in a Cat 4 race should result in an immediate disqualification. I can see how wearing team duds shows support for a team but it should only be a jersey not the whole kit. I frequently see this guy going down the paved trail that I commute on wearing full Mercatone Uno kit with Pantani bandana and beard and mustache, that's wannabe loser in my opinion. He looks like Marco with 8 extra kilos.

Champion jersey should only be worn if earned but I must confess that I wear an old Tour green jersey that I was given as a gift years ago, it's retro, kind of.
The Mapei guy...mr_spin
Sep 10, 2001 11:32 AM
I see a guy every so often fully decked out in a Mapei kit, with matching C40! Every minor detail is Mapei, gloves, socks, headband. It looks ridiculous, and is made worse by the fact that he isn't even a good rider. After passing him one day, a friend commented "he probably has the Mapei logo stamped on his $#!@*!" It should be a rule that if you are going to dress up like a clown, you must have the skills to back it up! And I'm not talking about juggling.
re: Buying pro uniformsWannabe
Sep 10, 2001 11:06 AM
Yeah, don't mind the kits, I like 'em. But until I get a bit stronger, I won't be wearing them at my next club ride! I'm with the previous poster though regarding the yellow jerseys et al. Don't think that quite works. Now the national jerseys, those are kinda cool. Expecially if you have some sort of connection to the country you are wearing.

Bottom line, you wanna wear it, fine. No problem with it hear. Just my thoughts on ME wearing such items. I wonder what the national champions jersey of NORWAY looks like? :)

Andy - Wannabe
86 the tour jerseys.k
Sep 12, 2001 9:09 AM
the team jerseys are like wearing pro basketball, baseball jerseys, etc. No harm supporting a favorite rider or team. But to me wearing tour jerseys is like wearing a championship ring. I wouldn't mind having an autographed copy of one in a frame for display though. Maybe a green one by Zabel?
re: Buying pro uniformsI Love Shimano
Sep 12, 2001 10:02 PM
I agree with you guys. Wearing the full team kit makes you a poser. The most I'd go is wear a mismatched set of shorts and jersey (ex. usps shorts, festina jersey). I does not look nice, I know.
re: Buying pro uniformsflybyvine
Sep 13, 2001 11:52 PM
Given I ride in traffic quite I wear them mainly based on visibility ! On that basis I do wear a Polti (very vibrant), as well as a TdF Yellow (minus team logo). Also various bargain bin specials of teams I have never heard of.

Think what you want about me but at least I'm alive to argue about it..

(Mind you I don't have any matching outfits)
re: Buying pro uniformschristopheclark
Sep 15, 2001 5:16 AM
I like the team clothing - makes me feel good and look good. What's the big deal? The alternatives are usually dull and bland. The stuff made by Nalini is very good quality especially the shorts.
I do feel slightly more comfortable in the retro stuff though - a liitle less of a poser.

For racing and TT's though its a no-no. Casual and training - great!

Simon
re: Buying pro uniformsbryan
Sep 26, 2001 4:01 PM
I could not agree more. I love team jerseys. For the people who disagree-that's fine, just don't wear anything else other than plain solid colors unless you are a hypocrite!
re: Buying pro uniformsallez01
Sep 27, 2001 6:30 PM
so i am now wondering. if i ride a specialized bike, its fine to wear a specialized jersey, right? as long as it does not have the sponsors??