RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Time Trial Bike-Suggestions?(16 posts)

Time Trial Bike-Suggestions?phopkins
Jun 5, 2001 10:48 AM
I've recently done my first ITT and loved it! Well, loved might not be the actual word; I wouldn't want anyone to think I'm a masochist.
Anyway, I'm looking for a dedicated Time Trial bike to replace my converted Trek 2300; it's a fine bike, but not a comfortable ride and certainly not state of the art as far as aerodynamics go.
I'd appreciate the benefits of anyone's experience and research.
Thanks.
CerveloCima Coppi
Jun 5, 2001 11:11 AM
I do not have first hand experience, but I have heard a lot of people rave about Cervelo frames. Excel has the Cervelo P2K and P3 TT frame right now, and they look sweet and fast. You may want to consider a rear disk wheel for that little extra speed. Just watch out for the cross winds.

Good luck!!
Hold on a minute now... not so fast.JBergland
Jun 5, 2001 11:49 AM
You just did your FIRST ITT? That is great!! Good for you. Many cyclists (you know who you are:) shy away from TT for one main reason... the clock doesn't lie. It's all you, and you alone!!

I'm not so sure getting rid of your 2300 right away is the best thing to do. I would also question getting a state-of-the-art full blow aero ride. Maybe start with getting a second bike... maybe a little better than your 2300, maybe not. Take this 'extra' bike and start setting it up for TTing. The nice thing about having two bikes is you can keep one set up for RR and TT all the time. Then, if you find you really enjoy/are good at TT, consider getting a real aero ride. Most people can get pretty aero on a 'regular' bike with just TT bars and wheels.

Good Luck!!
Hold on a minute now... not so fast.Phopkins
Jun 7, 2001 5:05 PM
Thanks. I forgot to mention that I also have a road bike that I want to use only for road races and training. I'll keep the 2300 as a trainer bike and back up in case God forbid, something should happen to the other bike. With that in mind, any further suggestions?
phopkins@cfl.rr.com
incremental approachDuane Gran
Jun 5, 2001 12:36 PM
I'm in a similar position I believe. I have done very limited time trialing and I like it. It is hard to explain, but yeah, it is really exhilirating to push yourself. I'm drawn to it by the sheer honesty of it. Although I enjoy the tactics of road racing, it can be frustrating if you are in the wrong place during a pack split. Time trialing has some elements of luck, but for the most part you just bear it all out. Yah... gutsy.

Anyhow, I'll share my approach to getting into TT equipment. As much as I would like to just run out and buy a Cervelo P3, Zipp disc and aero bars, that isn't really practical. Also, I don't want to be the goon who does a mediocre TT on elite equipment. Here is how I am handling this incrementally:


  1. I've decided that I won't purchase the frame until I can do a 40k TT under 1 hour. This goal gives me something to shoot for and forces me to work on my fitness foremost.
  2. I have already purchased wheels for my roadbike which can double nicely as TT wheels. I purchased used Zipp 440 wheels. I'll most likely get a disc for the rear and use the front wheel.
  3. I'm watching for a good deal on used aero bars in the meantime. ;)
  4. After I have the bike mostly setup, I plan again to set time goals in order to purchase various accessories, like an aero helmet. Rudy Project has a cool TT helmet.


Anyhow, best of luck with it. As others mention, Cervelo makes really good stuff if you plan to get serious about TT stuff. If push comes to shove, you can always convert a road bike into a TT bike and still achieve good performance.
incremental approachPhopkins
Jun 7, 2001 5:08 PM
Thanks. Sounds like a good approach. I am going to take my time with the purchase, maybe looking to use the new bike for the State TT next year.
Are the TT helmets USCF legal? They look cool, but do they protect the squash?
Rudy Project helmetDuane Gran
Jun 8, 2001 10:19 AM
I'm not sure about the safety or legality of the helmet. Here is a link:

http://www.rudyproject.com/helmets/krono/krono.html

It looks pretty funky though.
re: Time Trial Bike-Suggestions?speedchump
Jun 5, 2001 3:04 PM
Want to buy a Shogun Kaze?

6-speed 13-18 freewheel / DT shifters
Araya Disk / tubulars
24" front wheel w/ bladed stainless spokes
Assorted old Shimano bits
Profile cowhorn (but no aero bars installed)

Definitely not state of the art, but dedicated and cool in a funky sort of way.

I bought it from a guy at work who had no idea what it was for dirt cheap. It doesn't really fit right, so I would sell it dirt cheap too.

If your interested in talking size, seeing a picture, $$, etc. drop me a line at:
zachary.broussard@intralox.com
re: Time Trial Bike-Suggestions?Phopkins
Jun 7, 2001 5:10 PM
Sounds like it may be a bit small for me. I'm 6'1" and currently ride a 58.5 cm frame.
Yep. Too small. (NM)speedchump
Jun 8, 2001 6:29 AM
The race of truth?Kerry Irons
Jun 5, 2001 6:01 PM
If time trials are "the race of truth," then why does everyone want to cheat the wind every way they can think of? How about you focus on your training, your pacing, your pedaling, your turn, etc. and see how much you can improve with a "standard" bike. Eddy did it, how about you?
The race of truth?Jon Billheimer
Jun 5, 2001 8:35 PM
Human nature, Kerry. Everyone (or almost everyone) deep down would like to buy a faster ride. So most of us will take our "truth" a little diluted. Besides which, unless all TT bikes were spec'd exactly the same, even the time trial is not pure muscle against machine.
a handicap system maybeWilliam
Jun 5, 2001 10:13 PM
It works for sailing, rate the boat and all its geat and you are able to race a fully tricked out Melges 36 and a 60 year old wooden hulled POS. Usually the salty dog in the POS can do the job better than the gear junkie.

Until you are satisfied with your results, we will lean towards buying cool stuff. @ least that's what it seems like I am doing.

Will
The race of truth?Duane Gran
Jun 6, 2001 5:57 AM
Good observation. I have wavered back and forth on this. On one hand I think we should just "grab the drops" and go, but on the other I find the aerodynamic challenge interesting. It advances the sport in a nice way.

I suppose if we really wanted a pure race of truth we would just set up on trainers with power meters and see who could generate the highest average wattage over the same time. Hm.. that doesn't sound much fun, even if it is truthful.
Good callDaniel H.
Jun 6, 2001 9:36 AM
I agree with your observation. I believe that time trialing is as close to truth as it gets while staying a race. The challenge is also part, finding the best, most aero equipment. As well as who has the best economy. Of course the pro teams are the ones that have the financial capacity, and backing to pick and chose.
The race of truth?Phopkins
Jun 7, 2001 5:16 PM
I see your point. I guess it's a question of how far you want to take this logic. Taken to its logical extreme, we would all be on exactly the same machine and ride under the exact same conditions. That seems somehow un-American. I think I'll let USCF or UCI or whoever establish what are fair ground rules and get the best stuff I can afford.