RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Racing


Archive Home >> Racing(1 2 3 )


Opinions on Creatine(9 posts)

Opinions on CreatineMichelle
Apr 20, 2001 4:01 PM
What's the buzz on Creatine? I'm currently taking Endurox R4 for recovery but want the added strength and endurance benefits of creatine. Is creatine really meant more for bodybuilders? The product I'm looking at specifically is called "Creatine Xtreme"(see link). It has L-glutamine, chromium, and a few other goodies that are supposed to significantly enhance performance. Feedback?!
Doesn't work for cyclingKerry Irons
Apr 21, 2001 8:54 AM
Creatine has been widely reported to cause dehydration, possibly cramps (due to dehydration), and not improve endurance. Doesn't work for cycling. And then there's the question of why you would take things with no proven efficacy or safety studies when you can get all you need from a proper diet. IMO
I think I know the product......Newbie
Apr 21, 2001 8:21 PM
...Michelle is asking about (link not there). I saw an add in one of the cycling mags recently. This particular creatine product actually was being marketed for cyclists and runners I believe. Didn't really look at too closely though.
Creatine is NOT reccomended for Runners or Cyclistsrunstevierun
Apr 23, 2001 12:59 PM
The reports I've read indicate that creatine causes the
retention of additional intercellular water in the muscles.
Thus you can get the appearance of having bigger muscles without
having to work for the additional muscle mass.
In otherwords, it has no effect on power just appearance (and some weight gain). Bodybuilders that like the look, use it as do football players that like both the look and weight gain.
All the scientific evidence I've seen says there is
NO strength or endurance benefit from the stuff.
A quick search on the web comes up with scads of research studies like the following:

"William Cook, Ph.D., of Texas A&M University, College Station, gave 20 g creatine per day to 12 cyclists for five days. Supplementation resulted in a 1.58 percent decline in peak power (maximum pedaling force) in the creatine group. Considering the threat to fluid stores and research suggesting impaired performance, creatine is not recommended for endurance athletes."

Cooke WH, et al. Effect of oral creatine supplementation on power output and fatigue during bicycle ergometry. J Appl Physiol 1995;78:670-3.
Creatine is NOT reccomended for Runners or CyclistsMichelle
Apr 23, 2001 1:23 PM
That's interesting. I'm reading the book "Nutrition for Endurance" and Creatine was listed high on the list of supplements to take.
Creatine is NOT reccomended for Runners or CyclistsBenBikes
Apr 23, 2001 5:38 PM
It will make you gain 10 pounds easy. Why even have a light bike if you have to lugg around a gut?
10 lbs!?Michelle
Apr 23, 2001 6:06 PM
Forget that... :)
same here...JAYZ
Apr 24, 2001 5:43 AM
i put on about that when i was lifting 4x/wk and taking creatine...of course most of it was gone by the first month or so of the season...but still...dont expect to loose weight while on the stuff...

i have also heard of cramping and stuff if taking it while cylcling...i cant say, becuase i stopped once spring hit...

to me..not really worth it for cycling....

there is a new "liquid serum" type stuff that is supposed to be for runners and cyclists...not sure if it would have similar "side effects" or not...dont know enough about it.

hope that helps

-j
re: Opinions on CreatineLarry Davidson
Apr 23, 2001 6:47 PM
I enjoy bicycling and weight training. During the winter I use creatine, L-glutamine and protein supplements. Creatine floods muscle tissue with water, making muscles larger. It does help with power, strength and aids in muscle recovery. Creatine alone will not make you gain much weight. Body builders get bigger by eating alot of clean high protein foods along with killer work-outs in the gym. Any weight gained on creatine will be lost shortly after stopping the supplement. I haven't tried creatine during cycling. I think it would help some with muscle recovery, but I don't think it would do much for performance in cycling. You also have to drink at least a gallon & half of water a day to get any results from creatine. Some claim that it dehydrates them, but I've never had that problem. I always use L-glumaine for it helps in not losing lean muscle mass and aids the immune system. I really enjoy cycling, but a 450 pound squat is much easier then pedaling a 5'10 215 lbs body up a long hard grade hill. About 6 months out of the year I alternate, cycling one day and hitting the weights the next. Best of luck and keep peddlin'.